We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stay at this property and forget the number of rating stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moelan sur Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just stay at this property and forget the number of rating stars”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This Chateau was a dream come true. We've traveled to Europe many, many times and at this point in our lives, we look for the best that we can afford. The Hotel Manoir de Kertalg went above and beyond our expectations. You walk in and you are overwhelmed by the beauty of the lobby. When we were taken to our room, we looked at each other and said "WOW", can we stay forever. Sleeping in a bed that was so comfortable that we had to leave a wake up call so that we could have breakfast brought to our room. The quiet and peaceful setting was delightful. Since we had never been to Brittany before, we would ask the front desk what towns were worth visiting. What they suggested was always spot on. The restaurant suggestions were marvelous. We will go back without hesitation and suggest those going to Brittany don't even think of going any other place.

Room Tip: I'm sure every room is lovely but we stayed in #4 and found it peaceful, cool, and quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    8
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,061 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 845 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The most of the problems with Manoir de Kertal cited by previous reviewers seem to have been resolved. They now have a charming, friendly, exceptionally helpful lady who handles breakfast and front desk duties in the morning and through the day. We arrived late in the day and were treated cordially and helpfully by the man at the desk. Yes, the decorations are still kitchig and the flowers still plastic. The Internet still works only in the lobby, but we were told this on our arrival. The pictures of the house, shown in the advertisements, are in fact the residence – which is a private house. The hotel is actually the old stable, now converted into a rather nice hotel. We stayed three days in the new tower, added to increase the number of guest rooms, and had no complaints. The restaurant and travel recommendations made by the lady at the front desk were extremely good and helpful. She, more than the building, made this one of our favorite stops.

Room Tip: There is a chance of WiFi in the rooms of the main building. The tower is newer, but there is no WiF...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
220 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel is located in in tranquil surroundings approached through a long and twisting private road. The ambiance was excellent with very well maintained grounds allowing a very restful stay. The duplex accommodation was modern, clean and well maintained and the beds were comfy.
All staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even providing fresh herbs from the garden. Breakfast was very nice, again served in a very friendly way. We saw no evidence whatsoever concerning previous trip advisor complaints. Should we return to Brittany we would certainly stay here again, it also being very well located to see many of the attractions in Brittany. The price was also very reasonable. We unreservably recommend this Hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CecilGgibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here last June with our 18 month old son
Our first impression was a bit of a wow factor, lovely grounds - my wife thought it would be a great place for a small wedding.
When we arrived the man at reception could not have been nicer to us, we were well impressed with him. There was a slight mix up with the booking but this was sorted straight away. We found out later that this was the owner of the place. Manoir de Kertalg has a family hands on approach which we appreciate and look for when booking.
We stayed here for one night, as a stop over before getting the ferry from Roscoff. We would have liked another night or two here.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room facing the gardens and the owners private residence - lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JMurphyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The property here is beautiful, no doubt about it, and there are lots of wonderful things to do nearby.

The renovation inside is a little naff. Fake trees and a bowl of plastic fruit in the lobby? Come on...

Brann, the much discussed artist/manager is a lot to deal with when you're on holiday. We had quite a conversation with him about why the wifi wasn't working in our room:

Us: "We are having trouble with the wifi receiver you gave us."
Him: "The wifi receiver is German, of course it works."
Us: "No, it's not working."
Him: "Well it must be your computer."
Us: "No, and we used a wifi receiver like this just the other day at another chateau and it worked fine."
Him: "Well what can I say. It's German, of course it works properly. You must have a virus on your computer or something."

And then there was the debate over how many glasses of complimentary champagne we were due...it turned out that we were right - it was four - but only after he inelegantly argued the issue with us for twenty minutes before checking his records and confirming what we knew from the start. At that point we didn't even want the champagne.

We also loved that he made a reservation at a nearby restaurant identifying us only as "The Americans." That really made us feel welcome.

His colleague, a woman whose name we can't remember either, was very kind and sweet and we appreciated her graciousness.

We are rating this AVERAGE as opposed to POOR because despite the management, we still had a nice time in the area, and the grounds were quite beautiful.

But beware the wifi that never worked for us in the room and the prickly manager!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jonathantweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Hard to believe the reviewer, AnneL29, stayed at the same Manoir de Kertalg we visited this past August, 2011. Our experience there was superb. The Manoir is beautiful, tastefully decorated, impeccably clean, and the host/owner Brann, alongwith his charming assistant (I can't remember her name), couldn't have been more gracious. We stayed 5 nights and would be happy to return anytime.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybee848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

We arrived at the Manoir de Kertalg with our friends only to be greeted with hostility by the manager/man on Reception. As he couldn't find our reservation, he told us that we hadn't booked and that it was our problem. We then provided proof of our reservation (which was for the correct date) and he then told us that we had made a mistake as we booked through the wrong internet booking site! The reservation for the Manoir was made for the following night. This was not our error but his. This so called manager then said he could find a room for us (meanwhile our friends were shown a lovely room that was booked correctly) which was the tiniest room at the top of the tower without a shower and very tiny windows. We then asked for a room with a shower, at which point he said he could upgrade us to a room with a shower on the provision that we pay for an upgrade!! He assured us that the room below which was the one we were booked in the following night, was exactly the same as the room we were in. But it was not. The room below (which I sighted) was larger, with a shower and had large windows. He was lying! He is an unfortunate man - and I can't believe he is the manager. This would rate as my worst hotel experience - no apology, not making amends - just an arrogant attitude. Beware!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AnneL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moelan sur Mer
1.7 mi away
Manoir Dalmore
Manoir Dalmore
#2 of 4 in Nevez
192 reviews
3.4 mi away
Les Moulins du Duc
Les Moulins du Duc
#2 of 2 in Moelan sur Mer
259 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ar Men Du
Ar Men Du
#1 of 4 in Nevez
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
504 reviews
11.5 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
3.4 mi away
La Chaumiere Roz Aven
La Chaumiere Roz Aven
#3 of 5 in Pont-Aven
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg

Property: Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg
Address: 53 route de Riec sur Belon, 29350 Moelan sur Mer, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Moelan sur Mer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moelan sur Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir de kertalg Hotel is a charming hotel, well situated in a large park close to the belon river and the Kerfany beach.You will spend a relaxing stay in the 8 elgant renovated rooms and Suites.Very quiet place .you can have a cup of tea on the terrasse facing the chateau, or a glass of champagne in the kiosque in the beautifull garden. Open from april to november. 2 restaurant a less than 2 kms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau-Hotel Manoir De Kertalg Moelan Sur Mer, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing