We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and friendly Normandy b & b”

La Motte Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avranches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Motte Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Avranches B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic and friendly Normandy b & b”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We can't wait to go back... We have stayed in a few B & B in Normandy but this b&b you can't compare to the other places we stayed at. This is our fourth visit and each time we are made to feel so welcome its like home from home. The house is set in lovely well kept grounds, you are guaranteed to have a few laughs with carol and bill, the rooms are well decorated and clean. Book the dinner, carol is a great cook. All in all this place is great and we can't wait to book our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare110577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our stay at La Motte was a brilliant experience. Bill and Carol were very welcoming and generous with their time and knowledge. The facilities in the 'games room' were superb and you can't say there was nothing to do. The trip advise was really helpful and we visited sights which we may have missed.The evening meals were very generous (I definitely need to go on a diet now!) The accommodation was first class and good value. (Pity the 'complaint' had not understood the room rates!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a place to stay! Bill and Carol are the best hosts you could ask for. Very warm and welcoming, always a laugh, good humour & banter. The place is perfect for great days out on bikes, D999's a treat! and for chilling out in the evenings! Carols cuisine & Bills bar and personality make the perfect recipe. Try them out, i will defiantly go again!!

Room Tip: There is a good selection of rooms to accommodate everyones needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights a La Motte on a short break to Normandy,What can I say Bill and Carol worked so hard to make sure everything was right and was always greeted with a smile or in bills case a joke, or story. The house is amazing theres a garage for your bike and a bar to sit around and talk to the early hours. Bill helped out with places to see plus routes and we even found some of them:-) Great place to go and explore Normandy and spend the evening chatting with like minded people will definitely be returning next year hopefully.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midhurst
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

La Motte is comfortable and easy going, and Bill and Carol are kind and welcoming. In fact Bill is a riot and provides plenty of entertainment, Southend-style. There is a seperate barn with TV, pool and a bar to hang out in during your stay. The local town has good places to eat and is walkable. only downside for us was road noise at the front of the house if the window was open, otherwise fine. We definitely recommend La Motte to bikers, who make up 99% of Bill's clients, and hope to visit again one day. Bill is unforgettable, so it is likely to happen!

Room Tip: Take a room at the back of the house where its quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

On May 20, 2013 I received email from La Motte confirming a room for 3 for 68 euros for the night of August 18th. No deposit was requested. Their email confirmed the reservation. On the night of Aug 17th, the night before we were to arrive at La Motte, I received an email stating a correction, that the room would be 88 euros, not 68.
I immediately sent an email, attaching their email of May 20th, and requested an explanation.
I received no response from them and therefore sent an email canceling the reservation. This was quite disturbing. The owner of the lovely B & B where we were stating on May 17, to whom I showed both emails, agreed that what La Motte had done was highly irregular and extremely unprofessional.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Betty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned home from a weeks stay at La Motte. Bill & Carol were excellent hosts, made us all feel very much at home. Fantastic location, accommodation very comfortable, good homecooked food and very good value for money. Perfect B+B for bikers and non bikers, something for everyone. Bill is the font of all knowledge when it comes to the best places to visit and the best biking roads. It will cost you '25 euros' (only joking). Will definitely stay there again. Would recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing biking holiday it really is the place to go. Thanks guys for everything

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious, and decorated to a very standard. The Gite attached to the main house, self...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avranches
0.7 mi away
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
#1 of 5 in Avranches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
#2 of 5 in Avranches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#3 of 5 in Avranches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont Saint-Michel
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont...
#2 of 2 in Le Val-Saint-Pere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Motte Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Motte Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Motte Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8-10 Route Nationale | Virey, 50600 Avranches, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Avranches
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avranches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19th Century Country home set in 5.5 acres of beautiful gardens & farmland. The main house with 5 double bedrooms, 2 guest lounges and 2 self catering gites. The house is situated 2kms from the popular market town of St-Hilaire-Du-Harcouet with its restaurants, bars, shops, parks, lakes and fishing. It is in a central position to Mont St-Michel, Avranches and the WW11 Normandy Beaches and museums. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing