We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best b and b”

La Motte Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avranches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Motte Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Avranches B&B and Inns
Newhaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best b and b”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My son and i visited at the start of october and cant say enough good things about our visit.Food,bar,the room,but most of all the welcome and the laughs.We will be back to give the gezza a chance to win at pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVEGEZZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

On arrival Carol made us feel most welcome, coffee as soon as we got off the bike. Bike washed and unpacked, awesome period room and bike parking perfect for your pride and joy. Bill was a perfect Gezza host with his bar and entertainment facilities. Had a fabulous evening meal and a superb breakfast. We will definitely be paying them another visit. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Very quiet location and the "red room" was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalahari66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. The owners, Carole & Bill are lovely people and do all they can to make you feel part of the family. For bikers this is a dream come true, although non-bikers like us were made very welcome.

Lovely room, separate bathroom was within 5 metres although I believe most have ensuite.

Pool table, darts, games, table-tennis all there. Like the 'hang-out' areas where guests all get together for a night cap - great friendly and open atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank climb8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Over the last four years I have stayed at La Motte maybe five or six times. Each stay has been thoroughly enjoyable. The welcome is always warm and the atmosphere friendly. Ideally located for touring a very interesting part of France. Bill and Carol seem more than willing to go that little bit further to make your stay enjoyable be it Bill lending a hand with fixing a puncture or an impromtu sandwich from Carol. The evenings in the dining room and bar are great fun. If I am visiting the Normandy area my first priority is to book in at La Motte. I could not imagine staying somewhere else. See you next year

P.S. They are not my uncle and auntie. It just feels that way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here in June 2012.
We read reviews on this place and knew it was going to be fun. Upon arrival we were all welcomed by Bill and Carol, what hosts they are. Bikes parked up in a secure garage, we were shown to our rooms which were great, spacious comfy and clean. We wandered outside and the grounds here are beautiful and well maintained. Couple of beers in the bar which was well equiped (pool table, table tennis, dart board, table football, comfy seating) and we were called for dinner, a lovely meal was presented and devoured.
A great place to stay if your travelling around Normandy.
Bill/Carol, thanks a mill for the entertainment, it was priceless.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Bill and carol offered a great welcome, service, rooms, location and price were all excellent would recommend to anyone not just bikers. Great !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nottoboring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

If you are visiting Normandie or Brittany, or just stopping over, you really do have to stay here. Bill and Carol made us feel extremely welcome from the outset. This is advertised as a bike friendly B & B and there were two other couples who were motorcyclists staying at the same time as we did, but I am sure that everyone gets 5 star treatment. Food was excellent, Carol is a fantastic cook Wine and banter flowed for the two nights that we were there. Fantastic experience, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avranches
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
#2 of 5 in Avranches
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#3 of 5 in Avranches
200 reviews
2.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont Saint-Michel
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont...
#2 of 2 in Le Val-Saint-Pere
103 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Motte Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Motte Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Motte Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8-10 Route Nationale | Virey, 50600 Avranches, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Avranches
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Avranches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19th Century Country home set in 5.5 acres of beautiful gardens & farmland. The main house with 5 double bedrooms, 2 guest lounges and 2 self catering gites. The house is situated 2kms from the popular market town of St-Hilaire-Du-Harcouet with its restaurants, bars, shops, parks, lakes and fishing. It is in a central position to Mont St-Michel, Avranches and the WW11 Normandy Beaches and museums. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing