We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One week was not enough!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Longere du Bois Gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Longere du Bois Gite
Dining area Cuisine and dining area, for those wonderful oysters from Cancale.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Longere du Bois Gite
Dining area
Cuisine and dining area, for those wonderful oysters from Cancale.
Lounge area
Downstairs double room
Wetroom ensuite downstairs
Upstairs king bedroom
King bedroom ensuite
Twin room
Twin room ensuite
Playfield
Playfield and swings
Our woods. Beech tree
Fern lined path in our woods
Italian Cypress in our woods
Sun on winding path in our woods
Cancale port and Aqua Sea
Mont Saint Michel
Roofs on the Mont
And to finish sunset in our woods
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Avranches, Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
NIND27
KENT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One week was not enough!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We travelled to France with our children aged 11 and 8. After a 5 hour journey from Calais we were welcomed by Cheryl, the most thoughtful and kind host, to her perfect gite. We immediately felt at home and relaxed straight away in the brilliantly equipped, clean, comfortable home from home. The downstairs is perfect for wheelchair users including the wet room and all the bedrooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable.

Our children couldn't wait to check out the woods beyond the large gardens and loved spending time in them playing hide and seek, walking and taking in the sights and basically being kids running around the very safe large woods -even in the rain when my husband and son built a camp whilst us girls baked and had an art day.

Cheryl and David are the perfect hosts always there if you need them and their gorgeous dog Ffion has to have an extra special welcome for being so lovely and keeping our son smiling when he saw her!

There is a Carrefour shop at St James not far from the gite and we found it had everything weneeded to top up the food n drink we had brought with us.

We visited Le Mont St Michel - well worth a visit and Carolles beach...excellent for sandcastle building, rock pooling, wave jumping and sunbathing with a nice cafe and ice cream shop next to a large car park.

We really enjoyed our time at the gite and as soon as we can we are hoping to book again for next year...hopefully staying for longer!

Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlebea...
Suffolk,England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic gite, wonderful stay”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had the most wonderful stay at this beautiful gite. From the moment we arrived, we felt at home. Cheryl is a fantastic host and has set the gite up perfectly for families. With two small children to keep busy (ages 4 and nearly 2), they loved exploring the 7 acres of woodland, all safely enclosed but with freedom to roam. The garden by near the house was a fabulous play area, and also great for picnic lunches, BBQs and an evening drink as the sun went down. The house itself is brilliantly equipped with everything you could possibly need and was absolutely spotless when we arrived. Cheryl had plenty of local places to recommend for day trips - there's lots to see and do in the area. With beautiful beaches, gorgeous local towns and wonderful views of Mont St Michel, it is a great place to spend some holiday time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The woodland
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dr Susan...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We travelled with an 11 year old and a 9 years old and couldn't have had a better weeks holiday. The accommodation was great, the huge garden and woods were magical and Cheryl was the perfect host; friendly, welcoming and superb at suggesting things to suit our two very different children. There is loads to do in the area and we really didn't travel much over 30 mins to find something to keep everyone happy. We would go back in a minute and stay longer next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and gardens
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickichic...
hove
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“brilliant”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is such a fantastic holiday house. We are a family of five with ages ranging from 7 to 47. Cheryl takes great pride in her gite and maintains it to a high standard. It's wonderful that all rooms have their own (enormous) ensuites.
All the little necessities are taken care of, from dish washer tablets to a compass for exploring the woods. Such a warm friendly welcome and on hand if you need maps, advice or any extras.
The children loved the woods for exploring and charging about. Its all completely fenced in and they enjoyed setting off on their own armed with walkie-talkies and aforementioned compasses
It is ideally situated for exploring Normandy/Brittany, lots of lovely beaches and medieval towns all within 1 hours drive.
A great place to have a family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cheryl and her hospitality
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keentosee...
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FABULOUS HOLIDAY”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Brilliant holiday in a great location. A fantastic house and so well suited to families; everything you could think of was provided by Cheryl the owner, stair gates, bath mats, drawer locks and socket guards. The house and the play field are perfect. It's also a great part of the world for a family holiday with loads to do. Our children are 6,4 and 10 months and it was perfect. Thanks to Cheryl for providing such a wonderful place for a holiday. We'll be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughn L
Anderson, California
1 review
“Look no further! This is it!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our 6th trip to France and Italy and although we have used different agencies and stayed at some nice places, we have never been treated as well or stayed at a home so nicely equipped as this one. The remodel has put everything in place, 3 bedroom with new comfortable beds with three bathrooms was very luxurious, but the attention to detail such as an ultra quiet dishwasher, the largest refrigerator we've ever had, a new model stove/Oven; it was truly a home away from home. The downstairs has been set up very nicley for handicap/elderly people, the caregivers could have privacy upstairs as well.

The nicest part of the stay was our hostess. She recommended wonderful restaurants for special occasions and helped us get to and enjoy the Normandy and Brittany sites and events. We truyly have never enjoyed anyone as much and will count Cheryl as a friend and will return often!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Hostess, Cheryl Pinchin!
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLighti...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great find!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Fancied May half-term in France, so limited time dictated a location close to the Channel ports with plenty to do in the surrounding area if the weather was dodgy. The Longere du Bois was spot on within easy striking distance of Mont St-Michel (touristy but great in the evening), St-Malo (ramparts), Cancale (oysters and coastal path), and Dinan (castle and riverboats) just for starters.
Travelled en famille (kids aged 11 & 13) via Caen, so including a supermarket sweep of the Carrefour at Ouistreham, we arrived safely on the doorstep less than 2 hrs later (directions impeccable). The lovely owner, Cherry, was on hand to usher us into the spotlessly clean and comfy gite with it's 2 double and 1 twin ensuite rooms, fully-equipped kitchen (more of that later) and there was just time to take a quick wander in the pint-sized "forest" with its beautifully mown paths before dashing off to Pontorson to find supper - can''t recommend La Grillon highly enough for cheap and cheerful steak and chips or traditional Breton galettes (conveniently made of buckwheat perfect for our coeliac daughter). During our stay the weather was relatively "dodgy", so we didn't make as much use of the outside space as we'd hoped, but drinks in the sunshine with Cherry one evening and several games of spectacularly inept badminton. We were joined by a friend from Paris with her two kids for a couple of nights and discovered the previously unused sofa bed to accommodate "overflow". The next day with a house full and an unappetising light drizzle forecast all day, we took the kids off to run around the fabulous topiary garden at La Ballue, just SW of Antrain. It's a great little place, stuck out in the middle of nowhere, but fantastic-for-kids hide-and-seek pathways,sculpted hedges and maze, plus delicious coffee and homemade cakes for refuelling purposes!
Suffice to say, we had a great six days at the Longere and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this terrific little gite to any one looking to stay in this part of the world. Cherry has put so much thought and attention to detail into decorating and equipping her gite that it really is a "home from home" from the stack of games (we tried to teach ourselves Cluedo, not entirely successfully), to the CD player, the kitchen extras like dishwasher tabs and bin bags, the nice smelly soap and crisp cotton duvet covers, and of course if you forget the olive oil for your ratatouille or need a pair of scales to make your birthday cake, Cherry will gallop to the rescue like the best kind of nextdoor neighbour.
So what are you waiting for? Book now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No washing machine
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing