We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brittany Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brittany Trip”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our overnight stop after our drive from Calais. It is a lovely old coaching inn with a delightful garden outside our room which we enjoyed by chilling out with a drink. Our room was nicely appointed and very clean. The dinner in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient. It is in a good location to explore the town or the local area and there is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    99
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
125
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Traveling through Normandy and we stayed here. It is an old coach house and has a lovely ambiance. We had a twin room and it is a short walk into the town. Court yard garden is very well kept.
The highlight was the dinner.
Food was perfect. We had the €27.50 menu and it was bang on for me. Menus go to €50 for fillet of beef etc but I was happy to go with house house terrine to start and rabbit for main course. Cheese board was terrific and the dessert was divine.
They had no problem with wheat intolerance for my daughter.
Now beware G&T is €10 so drinks & wine are not cheap.
Its been the best meal I had in ages.
If I'm back in Normandy again I sure will check this place out again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here on Sunday night and only booked it in the morning of that day as we were over in France for the bank holiday. Wish we could have stayed longer.... Easy to find, plenty of parking and the room was excellent... This is an old coaching house and our room was in what was probably the old stables in the courtyard. Modern bathroom and toilet and extremely large and comfortable bed!
Our stay improved even more when we ate in the dining room. Food was amazing, presented beautifully and tasted divine....
Service was friendly and professional and in the morning the ladies at breakfast were eager to help get more bread and were so friendly.
The garden courtyard was beautiful to sit out in...
The worst part was leaving.... So we really recommend this hotel..... A total gem and not too far to le Mont St Michel if you are brave enough to face the crowds!:)
Thanks to all at the hotel... We will be back:)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jounieh, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

comfortable and clean room, professional stuff, very beautiful garden with great view from rooms.
just what we need for one night on our way to Mont St. Michel from Paris. dont miss the delicious croissant home made on breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaniaAbdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Charming hotel, beautiful courtyard gardens (also viewed from rooms). Wonderful ambience in dining room - heavy beams and copper artefacts. All spotlessly clean, and the madame who ran the restaurant was in charge - and we were delighted by her. Nothing was a trouble. Breakfast and dinner on both occasions superb. Bedroom overlooking courtyard had a large desk at the window which was ideal given we need to work while on holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

lovely old coaching inn with extensive parking area/garden to rear.top class restaurant.if you need somewhere to stay in avranches,make this it.make a night of it in the restaurant,as avranches is fairly quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beejay493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Quaint and welcoming property. Beautiful garden and great location on our way from Mont St. Michele to Paris. Enjoyed a delicious three hour dining experience and good breakfast. We gave this a four star compared to other places we stayed in France. We stumbled upon this hotel and found it and the staff totally charming. If we are ever in Avranche again, we will return...will tell our friends in Oregon about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avranches
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#3 of 5 in Avranches
211 reviews
15.4 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
470 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Gue du Holme
Le Gue du Holme
#1 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
211 reviews
1.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont Saint-Michel
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont...
#2 of 2 in Le Val-Saint-Pere
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Croix d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Croix d'Or

Property: Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Address: 83 rue de la Constitution, 50300 Avranches, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Avranches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Croix d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Croix d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing