We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a romantic night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Last year we were searching Chowhound for a place for dinner after we spent the day at Mont-St-Michel. The restaurant was so fantastic and reasonably priced that instead of driving to our already booked hotel, we canceled and stayed the night there as well! This year, we returned and had another great experience. We had a small problem with our room and the owner took care of it promptly. Great service, historical spot, and great waitress, Christiane.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated wing.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de la Croix d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 229 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed for one night at this lovely, well presented hotel. We were given he last room available and can see why, as the hotel is set in immaculate gardens that are clearly lovingly tendered on a regular if not daily basis. The front of the hotel looks like any other property on the street but go through to the rear and you see the gardens and chalet type buildings that make up the majority of the rooms. All are immaculately painted and decorated to a high standard. Our room, room 9 was very spacious and the adjoining bathroom was also a room in itself with a massive corner shower.
Free and secure on site parking is available which is a bonus in France. The main town of Avranches is a short five minute walk from the hotel.
All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly use it again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LenDudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Have stayed twice in la Croix d'Or and the second time we headed to Avranches specifically to spend a couple of nights there again en route back to Cherbourg. The rooms are lovely and the garden outside the accommodation is pretty and tranquil as is the whole place. Great parking and a perfect location in the town for easy strolls around the shops and to the park from where the views are spectacular over to the Mont St Michel. The restaurant is exceptional and great to be able to walk the few steps back to the room or take coffee in the garden afterwards. Hope to be back there again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is wonderful the main reception is full of antiques and is beautifully furnished . The Room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the gorgeous garden, The room was lovely well furnished and really comfortable
We ate in the restaraunt and I can only say go on treat yourself and do the same if you can the food was the best we had on our week of excellent meals in Brittany/Normandy. It was served lovingly and with pleasure and was PERFECT and the wine was superb. The locals were enjoying their meals too and the atmosphere was very congenial
Only down side breakfast is paid for seperately and may seem a little expensive so check before you indulge!! It was a nice brecky though

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very pleased to find this place. It was cold and wet when I arrived but soon I was warm and happy with my room which was pleasant bearing in mind this is a quite quaint rural hotel but I loved it!
Very fine restaurant with good wine list.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Like so many others the main purpose of the trip was a day at Mt St Michel the following morning, so this was a perfect place to stop over for one night.
The family room was not the biggest we ever had but it was comfy and clean, the service was friendly and friendly. We liked the sound of the restaurant but it was fully booked that night, not surprising as the smells coming from the kitchen were rather nice indeed!
They recommended their other restaurant: Le Bistrot de Pierre. Fantastic, really good and only a few hundred metres down the road. Having left the car safely park in the hotel private parking, we could relax and discover a little more of this lovely provincial town.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, simple but effective rooms keenly priced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We rather liked the Croix d'Or. It a traditional town centre hotel, with a large modern(ish) extension to the rear housing all the bedrooms. There's a large secure car park.

The hotel is about 30 minutes drive from mont st michel, which is handy enough but without being too close to suffer the pricing effects of one of France's most popular visitor attractions.

The public areas are rather gloomy, but the service is friendly, warm and attentive. The rooms are recently decorated in a pleasant and modern style. There are no family rooms so we had two rooms, each one nicely done. One bedroom did have a loo that was about the size of a shoebox, heavily into the eaves which is uncomfortable for anyone over 5 foot 6 inches.

There was a good mix of nationalities here. Always a good sign.

The bedrooms are accessed via the delightful garden ( there's no central or internal corridor) which may make feel a bit "motel-ly" for some, but it would be a mistake to dismiss this lovely place for that.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank CharlieD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avranches
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#2 of 5 in Avranches
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
476 reviews
15.4 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
3.0 mi away
Le Gue du Holme
Le Gue du Holme
#1 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Croix d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Croix d'Or

Address: 83 rue de la Constitution, 50300 Avranches, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Avranches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Price Range: $112 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Croix d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Croix d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing