We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Really nice stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Like so many others the main purpose of the trip was a day at Mt St Michel the following morning, so this was a perfect place to stop over for one night.
The family room was not the biggest we ever had but it was comfy and clean, the service was friendly and friendly. We liked the sound of the restaurant but it was fully booked that night, not surprising as the smells coming from the kitchen were rather nice indeed!
They recommended their other restaurant: Le Bistrot de Pierre. Fantastic, really good and only a few hundred metres down the road. Having left the car safely park in the hotel private parking, we could relax and discover a little more of this lovely provincial town.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, simple but effective rooms keenly priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    97
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
122
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We rather liked the Croix d'Or. It a traditional town centre hotel, with a large modern(ish) extension to the rear housing all the bedrooms. There's a large secure car park.

The hotel is about 30 minutes drive from mont st michel, which is handy enough but without being too close to suffer the pricing effects of one of France's most popular visitor attractions.

The public areas are rather gloomy, but the service is friendly, warm and attentive. The rooms are recently decorated in a pleasant and modern style. There are no family rooms so we had two rooms, each one nicely done. One bedroom did have a loo that was about the size of a shoebox, heavily into the eaves which is uncomfortable for anyone over 5 foot 6 inches.

There was a good mix of nationalities here. Always a good sign.

The bedrooms are accessed via the delightful garden ( there's no central or internal corridor) which may make feel a bit "motel-ly" for some, but it would be a mistake to dismiss this lovely place for that.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CharlieD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel and fine restaurant at decent prices for rooms and appartments. I Loved it, truly exceptional!

When staying at this hotel I recommend dining here too, not to eat anywhere else because Avranches doesn't have much more on offer that beats this place. And stay for brandy in the nice cosy lobby

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wfvanmaanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here in late June 2012, for three night. We had a garden room, it was so spacious but what a disappointment the bathroom/toilet were. Separate toilet, no wash basin, long thin bathroom, taps as far away as possible, (and a little rust around them) and a huge wash hand basin - needs a bit of tweaking as there is lots of room to play with. The decor is a little dated and but to be honest the hotel itself has a lovely, comforting feel. The staff are very helpful and the fixed price menu at 26 Euro is an absolute bargain - gorgeous food beautifully presented, and the wine is very reasonably priced too. we didn't eat anywhere else. Lots of parking and lovely gardens, we just didn't have the weather to make the most of them!!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in that area, perfect for some of the WWII sights, Mont St Michel etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puddle-Atkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. It was in a good location in the town, the room was comfortable and clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, but the best part was the garden which was great to sit in and relax.

Also went to the restaurant, which was very high quality, we had the lowest set men which at 26pp was outstanding value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden access room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExistenceOfChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I always try to visit this hotel when in France. It's service is excellent - discreet but attentive. The food is superb and good value. Wine list is extensive. The ambience is perfect - quiet, understated, old fashioned. Lovely fire in winter and well kept small gardens in summer. If you're an Englsh speaker and coincide with the ex-butler, that's a treat but all the service is really good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogberry1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petach Tikva, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night on the way to Mont. St. Michel. Request a room overlooking the garden- we had the windows open all night and not a bit of noise. The garden is lovely and a great place for a cup of coffee or a drink - one of the nicest corners I've seen in a hotel. The building is over 200 years old and upon entering you're greated by lots of old, dark furniture, overhanging beams - lots of charactere. We had a room for 4 which was nice sized and more than adequate for 2 adults and 2 teenaged children. Lots of hot water and good water pressure. Matresses a bit soft for my taste. We didn't eat any meals there(dietary reasons); they do offer lunch and dinner in addition to breakfast.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden. The stairs to the first floor are a bit steep - I would ask for a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alizapedsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avranches
1.2 mi away
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
#1 of 5 in Avranches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#3 of 5 in Avranches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Moulin de Ducey
3.1 mi away
Le Gue du Holme
Le Gue du Holme
#1 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
15.4 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Croix d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Croix d'Or

Property: Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Address: 83 rue de la Constitution, 50300 Avranches, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Avranches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Croix d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Croix d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing