We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location with flair, excellent service & very fair price”
Review of Chateau Julie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Julie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virsac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Many things have been said before about Chateau Julie: Its charming looks, its convenient location close to Bordeaux and the wine region surrounding it.
What we (my wife, my two daugthers and me) found most remarkable about Chateau Julie when we spent one night here, was the delightful, warmhearted and attentive service of the Dutch couple running the place, Annette and Vincent. This was so authentic, you felt most welcome from minute one on.
Starting with a welcome beer resp. water when we arrived (not on the bill) on a day with record temperatures close to 40 degrees, the flexibility to serve us dinner although we hadn't booked and arrived just one hour before it was served and a free tasting of a special wine.
The three courses of our dinner (prepared by Vincent) were absolutely delicious, and having it in front of the house with a view of the nice surroundings and the alley leading to it was also very nice.
Our room was a four bed room on the second floor, spacious, clean and nice.
Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hummingbird64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 128 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Set in a very peaceful location amongst the vineyards this chateau was perfect for a very relaxing holiday. The hostesses were very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable on places to visit. Nothing was too much trouble, we could even select our time for breakfast which was excellent, with a choice of eggs cooked to order. Also we could help ourselves to the a drink from the coffee machine free of charge anytime of day. There was not any restaurants in the vicinity but it was always possible to have a delicious three course evening meal of our choice in the chateau, together with reasonably priced wine from the vineyard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackbuffey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Beautiful room, quiet picturesque location set amongst the vines. Rene & Rinse were wonderful hosts and the optional evening dinner is well worth having. A unique experience in an old restored chateau.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The hostess of Chateau Julie was lovely and we were able to puchase a bottle of the wine from the vineyard which was great. Room was spacious with a lovely sitting room. Breakfast was fastiastic and we were lucky enough to be there when the bottling was being done in the morning. Lovely to sit at the window of the room overlooking the vineyard. Only negative thing I could say was that the rooms are on the second floor (I assume the family occupies the first floor). This is a slight hassle when you forget something from the car and have to go up and down the stairs again....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We arrived in the afternoon as we were on our way back to our home in Spain. We had a beautiful room in the castle.It looks like an apartment with a huge bathroom with a bath and a shower. The weather was nice so we had our welcome drink in the garden as well as our dinner.
The wifi was working excellent. The Dutch owners are very helpful with everything.

Room Tip: We liked our room very much, the Sopanish room number
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margreet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Arrived late after a long drive (seems to be a theme for reviewers here) to be treated by the very friendly and helpful hosts. Great room, lovely building and nice breakfast. Pity we were not early enough to try dinner. Great place to stop.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Markmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We got there after several kms, driving from the middle of spain to get there. when we got to the driveway the sensation was wonderful. Beautiful house and gardens. Then we met the owner, also very nice, then the rooms, wonderfull and at the end of the afternoon we had dinner with other guests right in the garden. What a friendly experience. Unfortunately we just stayed there one night but it's definitely a great spot to stay some days.

Room Tip: the two we've stayed were great, on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNSLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virsac
9.2 mi away
Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir - Bordeaux
Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir -...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Sulpice-et-Cameyrac
131 reviews
7.1 mi away
No photo provided
3B Hotel de Bordeaux
#1 of 1 in Ambares-et-Lagrave
34 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Libourne Saint-Emilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Chateau Grattequina
Chateau Grattequina
#1 of 2 in Blanquefort
210 reviews
14.6 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
953 reviews
8.9 mi away
La Villa d'O
La Villa d'O
#1 of 2 in Saint-Loubes
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Julie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Julie

Address: Naudonnet, 33240 Virsac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Virsac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virsac
Price Range: $82 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Chateau Julie Virsac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing