We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience of our European vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Hortensias du Lac
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Hossegor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in the middle of our 2 week vacation. We loved this hotel, the location was amazing. My husband surfed while I layed out at the beach. The hotel is just a few minutes drive to the beach. The staff went out of our way to make us feel welcome. There is a nice trail along the lake that is right next to the hotel that i ran on everyday. We realized while at the airport gong to Paris that we forgot a bag at the hotel. It had irreplaceable items in it like jewelry and we called the hotel and they shipped it home for us. It cost a few hundred dollars to ship but the hotel staff, even with the language barrier, made it happen. We could not have been happier with our experience. The pool was great and so was the location. Our room had a view of the lake and we enjoyed lounging on the patio. I wish it wasn't so far from home or we would be there once a year! Highly recommend this hotel and the city, We loved France!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank culturelove80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortensiasHossegor, Directeur général at Les Hortensias du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for this nice comment. It's an honor for us to hear that you really appreciated the hotel and that you have kept good memories of your stay.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you for an other stay in France.
Kind regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

This small family run hotel is located directly on the lake in Hossegor.
The jogging path around the lake (6, 8 or 10 km) runs directly in front of the property. Lake views from the rooms are lovely.
The front desk staff and managers are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The quality of the service here is a very high standard which, unfortunately is harder and harder to find in France today. Here you get the feeling that the customer is truly appreciated and your business is highly valued. How often in other establishments, have we been made to feel like we are inconveniencing the staff! Never was this the case at the Hortensia du Lac.
The location is a bit far from the center and restaurants (although there are a few that you could walk to 15 or 20 minutes away around the flat lake path). There are bike paths and they rent California Cruisers at the reception, very fun for exploring the whole area.
The property is very quiet and even in high summer season we had no noise from parties or bars etc.
This is also the only hotel I've ever been to where the mini-bar is FREE you can take all the drinks you want, our kids loved that.
Hotel organized Billabong surf camp with a bus that came to reception to pick up the kids each morning and drop them back at lunch. Perfect.
Rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD readers and you can borrow from DVDs from the front reception. Great idea.

The negative points are:
- Cost of breakfast (expensive); yes it is a nice buffet for French standards, but nothing spectacular. As usually in France you pay a lot for the morning meal; Also agree with others that the breakfast room is cramped, and the breakfast service lady is a bit stressed. There is a lot of tension over who can sit at the window-front tables etc. Would be nice if they found a solution for a more relaxed breakfast; (perhaps having a nice breakfast package in the rooms? letting people take breakfast upstairs in the reception salon?)
- Cost of snacks around the pool (do I recall over 20 euros for a croque monsieur?)
- Pool sun loungers: pretty white abstract looking things, lovely on the website photos, but totally impractical and also quite dangerous. Impossible to move around or recline. Heavy, and unstable on their bases. Unfortunately these pool loungers do not make you want to sit near the pool for more than a few hours at a time (perhaps that's the idea?)
- No spa
- Wifi unreliable

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Oliwill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortensiasHossegor, Directeur général at Les Hortensias du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear guests,
We thank you for taking time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments. Our staff appreciated.
We took note of your remarks for breakfast price. Breakfast is served until 12.00 and can be considered as a brunch with a big choice of products to satisfy our french and international clients. Morever it includes Champagne.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The location of the hotel is outstanding. Hossegor is beautiful and a magnificent place to visit if you're going to Southwest France. The hotel is a short distance from a breathtaking coastline with wonderful sea and waves.

The hotel is managed very well, the welcome we received was very pleasant. Staff are always very polite and try to make your stay comfortable.

The car park is close to your room, which provides great convenience with regard to loading and unloading luggage. Its proximity to rooms has never caused us a problem at all.

The swimming pool is outstanding. It is always very warm and provides a superb place to unwind at any time of day.

The rooms are of a four-star quality but could be improved. Cleanliness is a small issue which needs to be addressed. Rooms are cleaned daily and generally to a good standard however I do believe that this could be done more thoroughly.

Breakfast is expensive at € 21 but appears to be a popular option for many.

The hotel is expensive but is set in a magnificent location with a good standard of accommodation. The surroundings are elegant and provide a perfect base to visit the magnificent coastline of Southwest France.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SirGordonChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed one week in this beautiful hotel in peaceful surroundings. The hotel is well managed, the ladies serving breakfast are a hoot - welcoming, warm, clever and very "French". The duplex rooms are perfect when you have a child or two with you. The area - Hossegor and surroundings - is perfect for a family holiday. You need a car to get around though. BTW we recommend the restaurant "Dégustations du Lac" which is on the other side of the lake.

PS (don't take this as criticism, the hotel is wonderful - it's just suggestions!!) The hotel may want to think about buying more Tv channels - mainly French Tv channels when the wheather is "cosy" (ie bad) and you would like to spend some time just in bed watching Tv is.. Suggest they get some German language channels. Another suggestion, in the breakfast area the tables are placed a bit narrow - reduce one table or two, to give guests a little more space.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank MileyCyrus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortensiasHossegor, Directeur général at Les Hortensias du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear guests,
We thank you for message. We really appreciated. We are pleased to know that your enjoyed your holidays and that you had good time with your family. You are right, our duplex really suitable for families. We took note of your comments and are desappointed to read that you didn't find German channels as we do.
We look forward to welcoming you for a next stay.
The DIrection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I booked the hotel for my Boyfriend's birthday. The location is absolutely amazing. Quiet, beautiful view and 10 minutes walk from the town centre and beach. We had a run around the lake, early in the morning to start the day. Which is just in front of us.This hotel is like a boutique hotel, you feel at home in a very luxurious environment. The view is a delight, the smell of the pines is intoxicating. Back at home I thought I was dreaming so unreal it was. The staff is amazing, they are really here to help you with anything you need. Secretly I asked them to buy a specific cake and candles to surprise my boyfriend with a birthday' cake. They did everything to make this happened. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Ingr9d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortensiasHossegor, Directeur général at Les Hortensias du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Ingrid,
It's very kind of you to write this nice comment following to your stay at the hotel. We are pleased to know that you spent a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed our services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel.
Kind regards,
The Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable beds, excellent selection for breakfast and attentive professional staff. Last night ruined by English couple (toffs) arguing on the balcony at 1 am - very rude and inconsiderate. It's not a party hotel but somewhere to enjoy the peace, tranquility of the lake and surroundings and relax. Hotel would benefit from providing tea/coffee in the room. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank poplapi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HortensiasHossegor, Directeur général at Les Hortensias du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear Customers,

We would like to thank for your positive comments and we are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We will certainly share your kind compliments with our staff members.
We have read with much attention your feedback about your last night. Please accept our sinceres apologies for the inconvenient. You are right to explain that usually, peace and tranquility are the 2 keys words of the hotel.
We hope to welcome you again with your familiy.
Kind regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

friendly staff, clean hotel and nice location on lake and easy walk to beach. bedroom good size but we were glad we did not have lake view, so we benefited from little sunshine in high temperatures as no air-conditioning. Sweet balcony ... Tiny bathroom and no space to put toiletries.
Had to ask for minbar to be replenished and toiletries were not replenished either! Breakfast was very very poor and not worth Euro 21 a head .... Minimal choice and not much food out ... but we were the only couple there! We were told town center was a 15 min walk along lake front ... It was a good 30 min walk along sandy shore! they could offer complimentary bicycles to guests but charge E12 each and an extra E5 for a basket! This is too petty ..... Shame .... It's probably a good 3 star but low 4 star!

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking lake if going in hot season as no air-conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank piggy1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hossegor
1.2 mi away
Hotel 202
Hotel 202
#1 of 17 in Hossegor
380 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Pavillon Bleu
Le Pavillon Bleu
#8 of 17 in Hossegor
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Villa Seren
Hotel & Spa Villa Seren
#3 of 17 in Hossegor
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Logis Lacotel
Logis Lacotel
#6 of 17 in Hossegor
130 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baya Hotel & Spa
Baya Hotel & Spa
#1 of 11 in Capbreton
758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Relais du Lac
Le Relais du Lac
#14 of 17 in Hossegor
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Hortensias du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Hortensias du Lac

Address: 1578 avenue du Tour du Lac, 40150 Hossegor, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Hossegor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Hossegor
Price Range: $198 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Hortensias du Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Les Hortensias du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hortensias Du Lac Hotel Hossegor
Les Hortensias Du Lac Hossegor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing