We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights
Jackson, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Friendly Service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful, we got a second floor room but I needed a first floor "handicap" room and could not get one, and you do not have any elevators only stairs, it was very hard for me as a handicap person to get to my room, so I either had to stay out of the room or always in the room. The hotel was very clean, there was a musty smell in the hall way, our room was clean as far as we could see. The pool was very small. The neighborhood was not what we expected, seemed like a bad neighborhood but we didn't have any problems. Breakfast, you could put out some boiled eggs, pancake batter or waffle batter and more fruit. Otherwise we had a pleasant experience.
Gabrielle and James T.

Room Tip: If you are handicap this hotel is not for you. only if you can get on the first floor it will work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
To our Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Red Roof Inn & Suites with other travelers. I am glad that the staff was very friendly and helpful during your stay, and that they did the best they could to accommodate your needs since the room type you would have liked was not available. I would like to thank you again for your feedback regarding your recent stay, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites~Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    22
    20
    43
See reviews for
65
27
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My mother and I reserved for a 3 day stay, which unfortunately happened to be during the Coast Guard Festival in Grand Haven. Our stay had constant highs and lows. We arrived and quickly and easily checked in. Our room on the first floor, room 130 to be exact, was beautifully remodeled with PLUSH queen size beds, a mix of a hardwood and carpeted floor, and crisp, clean linens. We unwound, relaxed... but only for what seemed a moment. We soon realized that there was a leak in our ceiling above one of the beds. Adam, one of the managers I think, was very nice and even though the hotel was completely booked, relocated us to an upstairs room. It was similar except the beds were not plush, they were too firm... it was not completely renovated (it was fully carpeted).... and annoyingly, the toilet didn't stop running unless you reached in the tank to close the flapper. For $79/night, having the mini fridge and microwave were nice. Our ironing board was rusted and would not stay standing so had to have my mom hold it while we ironed a shirt. The continental breakfast is basic, no waffles, just bagels, cereal, danishes, fruit, juice and coffee. The pool, omg is a cesspool! You can see the scum and grime from the hot tub around the edge and apparently maintenance's answer to this was to add more water... The pool is only 3 ft deep and the pool limit is 30 people. It's tiny, muggy, and just icky feeling in the pool room. Service was great! I felt bad for the housekeeping staff because the hotel was probably the most busy it ever is. Our room key reset itself @ noon every day, so be sure if you stay for more than one day and come back after noon, stop by the front desk to have your key re-programmed.

Room Tip: Check your room entirely before unpacking! Check the ceiling and bathroom! Avoid rooms along the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with other travelers.
I am sorry that you experienced highs and lows during your stay with us, however I am glad to hear that you were very satisfied with our recently renovated room and that the front desk staff was able to help resolve any issues. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites~Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muskegon Heights hotels

Dearborn Heights, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family of three was unexpectedly in need of a hotel room late Tuesday night due to travel delays. As we drove all over Grand Haven looking for hotels with a vacancy, I saw this Red Roof Inn had vacancies available online at the corporate website. We made the drive to Muskegon Heights and tried to check in. The woman at the desk told me they were all sold out. When I pushed the issue about the website showing vacancies, she changed her story and said they had a lot of dirty rooms that would only be cleaned if people with reservations showed up. Or, she offered a suite for twice the price. So apparently if I booked a room online from my car in the parking lot, they would have cleaned a room. We drove a block away to another hotel and they immediately had a room for us for $20 less..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kachastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am sorry that you were misinformed about the status of our rooms when you arrived on Tuesday night, and that you decided to stay at a different location. I would like to discuss this matter with you further so I may prevent such issues in the future. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly to discuss further.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites~Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

we spent four nights at this hotel and the staff was very friendly and eager to help with anything they could. We arrived Thursday night and the cable and TV did not have the best reception. They sent someone to try to fix it, but he was unable to, so we just watched the best channel that we could. The next morning the front desk informed us that it could not be fixed and that they would send some one to help us move rooms. We moved ourselves and where told we where being given a discount on the room for our trouble. This hotel is very clean and well kept. I do believe it is an older building but is being updated and redone...very pleased and we will definitely stay there again on any future trips to Muskegon....be sure to check it out. Very reasonable rates as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
To our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. I am glad to hear that our staff was very nice and that you were pleased with our recent renovation. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites~Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avilla, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This recently renovated property provides a reasonably priced overnight option in the Muskegon area. Front desk employees were very nice, the bed was comfortable, & breakfast was more than adequate. Unfortunately, the filthy hallway carpeting is a serious distraction.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avilladawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers regarding your recent stay at Red Roof Inn & Suites of Muskegon. I am very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the front desk staff, our recent renovation, and that the quality met your standards for an economy hotel. We have recently been in contact with an outside carpet cleaning company to work on the common area carpets for us, as we are aware this is an issue of concern. I would like to thank you again for your feedback, and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites~Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

stayed one night while on our way to a wedding. Rooms are ok. Pool is small. There is a very musty, strange smell all over the halls, rooms in and out. The hotel seemed clean, but could not get past the strange smell. Decent price, but would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsE02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. I hope that you had a wonderful time at the wedding you were attending. I am unsure of the strange smell you mention in your comment, as all of the hallways and guest common areas are cleaned on a daily basis. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly if you would like to discuss this further. I would like to thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites~Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The only reason I stayed here was the discount I get through Corporate Lodging when I travel to work. I room was $29.99 discounted, which was a great deal until I saw the room. Floors not vacuumed and cigarette wrappers on the floor. I always pull the sheets back to check the cleanliness. OMG - there it was a dark red stain. I almost puked. I went to the front desk and requested a new room, that was 20 minutes for an unknown reason. 2nd room dirty, another disappointment. 3rd time time was ok but this hotel recently had a renovation. The deal is this - it's an old hotel that they repaired and carpeted. It did no good. The rooms are dirty at best, I did without a bath, because no way was going in the bathtub. Some one got shot in the neighborhood the first night . 2 nights was all I could stomach. It felt like a hooker motel. Run don't walk from here. It is the worst hole I ever encountered. Even the staff said they would not sleep there. Horrifying and filthy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legacychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you had such a bad experience during your stay with us. The hotel has in fact been recently renovated, and many other travelers have been very pleased with the level of Quality and Service they receive here. I would like the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further, so please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites~Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muskegon Heights
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
290 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
49 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#9 of 12 in Muskegon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
353 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights
Address: 150 S Seaway Dr, Muskegon Heights, MI 49444-3843 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Muskegon Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Causeway Bay Hotels are pleased to offer you added comfort and spaciousness. Our rooms provide an extra measure of comfort during business trips, a leisurely vacation or an extended stay. Whether it's business or a fun weekend away Causeway Bay can accommodate your needs. Our friendly, courteous staff will help make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights Hotel Muskegon Heights
Red Roof Inn And Suites Muskegon Heights
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights Muskegon County, MI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing