We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Front Desk Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights
Avilla, Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Friendly Front Desk Staff”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This recently renovated property provides a reasonably priced overnight option in the Muskegon area. Front desk employees were very nice, the bed was comfortable, & breakfast was more than adequate. Unfortunately, the filthy hallway carpeting is a serious distraction.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avilladawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers regarding your recent stay at Red Roof Inn & Suites of Muskegon. I am very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the front desk staff, our recent renovation, and that the quality met your standards for an economy hotel. We have recently been in contact with an outside carpet cleaning company to work on the common area carpets for us, as we are aware this is an issue of concern. I would like to thank you again for your feedback, and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites~Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    22
    20
    36
See reviews for
63
26
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

stayed one night while on our way to a wedding. Rooms are ok. Pool is small. There is a very musty, strange smell all over the halls, rooms in and out. The hotel seemed clean, but could not get past the strange smell. Decent price, but would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsE02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. I hope that you had a wonderful time at the wedding you were attending. I am unsure of the strange smell you mention in your comment, as all of the hallways and guest common areas are cleaned on a daily basis. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly if you would like to discuss this further. I would like to thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites~Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muskegon Heights hotels

Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The only reason I stayed here was the discount I get through Corporate Lodging when I travel to work. I room was $29.99 discounted, which was a great deal until I saw the room. Floors not vacuumed and cigarette wrappers on the floor. I always pull the sheets back to check the cleanliness. OMG - there it was a dark red stain. I almost puked. I went to the front desk and requested a new room, that was 20 minutes for an unknown reason. 2nd room dirty, another disappointment. 3rd time time was ok but this hotel recently had a renovation. The deal is this - it's an old hotel that they repaired and carpeted. It did no good. The rooms are dirty at best, I did without a bath, because no way was going in the bathtub. Some one got shot in the neighborhood the first night . 2 nights was all I could stomach. It felt like a hooker motel. Run don't walk from here. It is the worst hole I ever encountered. Even the staff said they would not sleep there. Horrifying and filthy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legacychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you had such a bad experience during your stay with us. The hotel has in fact been recently renovated, and many other travelers have been very pleased with the level of Quality and Service they receive here. I would like the opportunity to discuss this matter with you further, so please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites~Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed just one night at this location and found that it met our needs. We were traveling with our small dog and they allow pets with no additional charge. The hotel is well-located for some local attractions (it was only 10 minutes to Hoffmaster State Park on Lake Michigan).

I think I would give it 3.5 stars if I could--1 for the area and exterior and 4 for the room and staff.

The hotel is located in a very desolate area, though it doesn't seem unsafe (I walked the dog a few blocks in each direction in the evening and morning and didn't encounter anything that made me uncomfortable).

Almost every building you can see from the hotel is vacant and run down. The exterior of the hotel is littered with cigarette butts, trash and weeds so the overall impression when we pulled up is "What did I get us into?!?!?"

Our impression began to change when we met the friendly front desk clerk who was very welcoming and efficient.

We went to our room and found that it was a 2-room suite. It was easy to see these suites had once been two separate hotel rooms and that recent renovations had included creating a large, spacious suite by combining them. The suite contained a sitting area, small refrigerator, a microwave, and a small table. The bedroom included a king-sized bed and large jacuzzi tub.

Everything was clean and the mattress was very new looking (as a frequent traveller I always check for bedbugs and found nothing but a very clean mattress).

The free wifi signal was very weak in the bedroom, but better in the sitting room.

Before going to bed we decided to use the jacuzzi and the water handle fell off in my husband's hand when he went to turn it on. There was no one on the property to fix it (though the front desk man came down very quickly to see whether he could do it). They offered to let us move to another suite, but we were tired and didn't want to pack up and move so we accepted their 10% discount. The next morning we noted that the discount was on our bill which is nice. So often that doesn't happen.

The room was quiet even though the hotel was pretty full. Breakfast was adequate--standard budget continental breakfast fare. Checkout was quick, friendly, and efficient too.

We did not use the pool since we'd been at Lake Michigan all day so I can't comment on its condition.

My one tip would be to call the hotel directly to see if you can get a better rate than what is listed online. The rate on the hotel's sign was $30 cheaper than what we paid with our AAA discount.

I don't think I've ever stayed anywhere that had such a disjoint between the exterior and interior of the hotel. They have obviously put a lot of money into renovations, but I'm guessing they won't thrive until they give the same attention to detail to the outside of their property as well.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to see if you can get a better rate than what's listed online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2snorkel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Red Roof Inn & Suites of Muskegon with other travelers. I am glad to hear that you felt welcomed upon arrival, that the front desk GSR was efficient during your check in process, and that you were satisfied with your recently renovated Jacuzzi Suite. I would like to thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites~Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for the Grand Haven Soccer in the Sand Tournament. I read the reviews and was a bit worried, to be honest. I recommended this hotel to another family as well, and had faith in the Red Roof name. The outside of the inn needs a bit of TLC...landscaping would add to the grounds. We stayed in room 171. When I opened the door, I was pleasantly surprised that the room was extremely clean, had obviously been updated, and was very happy. The floors were nice, beds great, and the breakfast bar was sufficient with the basics found at hotels who provide this service. I will say the staff was very nice, engaging, and made sure we were happy. I would stay again, without hesitation! The other family was happy with their room too. Additionally, other reviews on this site could have been written before updating was done to the rooms they stayed in. I find nothing wrong with a security guard on the grounds, and the area, a bit remote, was not bad, but looked like the economy had taken a toll on the few buildings around. I was comfortable, safe, and had no worries here. Is it the Ritz? No, it is a Red Roof in that provides reasonable rates, with clean rooms, breakfast, and I recommend this one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our recent renovation, and that your room was clean and inviting. I would like you to know that we are currently reviewing different options for the exterior of our property. I would like to thank you again for your positive feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites of Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was told by my kids when i booked it that it was a bad place to stay. The owners have redone the rooms very nice. Pool was nice, Breakfast was nice and clean. Got a avg. rate of $58 per night on a 3 night stay. We enjoyed our stay here and would come back and stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed away from the pool area and had a deluxe room very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
To our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn & Suites of Muskegon. I am glad that you were satisfied with our reasonable rates, and that you were able to enjoy the pool during your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites of Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

For the price, I can't complain. Room was clean and adequate. The staff was great, very friendly. The breakfast was as expected nothing special, but do you want for the price. My only beef was the poor wifi reception in our room. The signal wasn't strong enough to hold a connection. Still, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0712, General Manager at Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. I am pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, and that all of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Thank you again for your feedback, and we here at the Red Roof Inn & Suites of Muskegon look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Darrick Stopczynski
General Manager
Red Roof Inn & Suites of Muskegon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muskegon Heights
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#8 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights
Address: 150 S Seaway Dr, Muskegon Heights, MI 49444-3843 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Muskegon Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Causeway Bay Hotels are pleased to offer you added comfort and spaciousness. Our rooms provide an extra measure of comfort during business trips, a leisurely vacation or an extended stay. Whether it's business or a fun weekend away Causeway Bay can accommodate your needs. Our friendly, courteous staff will help make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights Hotel Muskegon Heights
Red Roof Inn And Suites Muskegon Heights
Red Roof Inn & Suites Muskegon Heights Muskegon County, MI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing