We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Occasion Experience”
Review of Chateau de Sanse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Sanse
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Special Occasion Experience”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

This has been our third visit to Chateau de Sanse for lunch. It is not an easy place to find - not that close to town or village - but is well worth the extra effort.
We took our French neighbours as a thank you for looking after our property and they too were enthralled with the choice and quality of the food, it's courteous and friendly service and the ambience inside the dining conservatory overlooking the valley. They did not know the price but I was pleased with that and hope Chateau de Sanse keeps to this sensible pricing strategy.
I just hope that more people search out this hidden gem (betwixt Ste Foy La Grande and Castillon La Bataiile) - I would not like to lose it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    31
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
17
68
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We dined here on a Sunday lunch and were so impressed with the food we went back again later in the holiday for dinner. The food was exceptional - beautifully presented, plentiful and very fresh. The staff were efficient and chatty. Highly recommend, especially for a warm sunny afternoon when lunch can be eaten on the terrace overlooking the vineyard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This Resteraunt was recommended by two Irish friends and all we can say to them is thanks. The welcome was where our great evening started. We had G and Ts with lovely Nibbles before we sat down to dinner. I had the Scallop and Nougat with Spinach and lime. It truly melted in the mouth and the flavors were Devine. To follow for main I had Monk fish wrapped in Parma ham again all the ingredients on the plate played there part in the taste of the dish.The three hour meal finished off with a really nice Cup of Tea left me feeling very satisfied but not Stuffed as a meal should. The biggest part of the meal for me was how all of the different flavors worked and left there mark on my tongue. Maybe this is standard for a French palate but to my Irish palate it rates amongst the best I have had.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandCeltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Having stayed here before when it was under the management of the Tyler family I decided to try it again. Big mistake! I arrived to be ignored by the receptionist for quite a while so went into the bar for a drink. In the bar was a huge beer machine like something one would find in a tacky seaside butlins resort, tables were dirty as were the glasses the drinks were served in. Staff were not attentive nor friendly. The environment was quite shabby and the pool and gardens had been neglected. I didn't stay and left very disappointed. It did not match up to its former glory and I would not return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed with a group of twenty cyclist touring the Dordogne region this past summer and stayed in this beautiful place up the hill. The view, especially in the morning, overlooking the valley below is breathtaking. The food is fabulous and the service is friendly, efficient and welcoming. We would definitively go back if we happen to find ourselves in this neck of the woods!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zetour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent location for a stopover, a short "away from it all" break or a centre for exploring the area. Staff very friendly and helpful and accomodating when it came to making changes to the original itinerary.

Room Tip: Recommend a character room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narizazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

5 mins away from Gensac village is this hotel that has a restaurant open to non residents.
A pre meal dink to enjoy the view is well worth it while the sun goes down.

The staff are attentive and efficient and the dining area is nicely spaced apart.
Meal was presented well and delicious although the cheese selection was a little on the hard/smokey side and would like to have seen some more soft cheeses. We had the house white at 19Euros.

Will return some day

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Radegonde
6.2 mi away
Hotel l'Epicurial
Hotel l'Epicurial
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pey-de-Castets
62 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
777 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
Ibis Bordeaux Saint Emilion
#5 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
246 reviews
12.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Roques
Chateau Fleur de Roques
#1 of 1 in Puisseguin
185 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Claude Darroze
Hotel Claude Darroze
#1 of 3 in Langon
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Sanse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Sanse

Property: Chateau de Sanse
Address: 33350 Sainte-Radegonde, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Sainte-Radegonde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Radegonde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Sanse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Sanse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Sanse Hotel Ste Radegonde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing