We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Helpful Hosts”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gite La Fargeotte

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living/Dining Room Entrance to Gite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Living/Dining Room
Entrance to Gite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mauzens-et-Miremont, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
John W
Charmhaven, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpful Hosts”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

La Fargeotte was a well positioned gite within strking distance of much of the Dordogne countryside. It is a roomy & comfortable, well equipped & with wonderful helpful hosts who live on site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owners who bent over backwards to help us with our car problem.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 12, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Some of the interior is a little tired
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
trevor88
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“great relaxing friendly place and perfect for a rest ,will be back!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2011 for a stay in August 2010

we were made very welcome and the gite is well resourced and the splash pool and the table football and table tennis were a great hit with the kids in the evening.A great base for exploring the area and the advice given by Paul was invaluable re what and where to do things.This is just a great relaxing place , no pressure. C'est Manifique. Regards Trevor Eaton and family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunceyuk
uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accomodation and Lovely Hosts.”
Reviewed June 22, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We love this place. The gite is large, very clean and nicely furnished. It has everything you could want. An added bonus is the games room and the pool is great to cool off during those long hot French days. The garden is a quiet place to sit and relax to the sound of the little river splashing gently over a weir. If you do get a wet day and stay in there are plenty of DVDs, Videos and games to keep everyone entertained.

We have been back there 3 times now, and all the tourist sites are only a short drive from the gite. If you are lost for somewhere to visit just ask Jill & Paul, they are helpful and very friendly. We had a problem with our car while we were there, and Jill & Paul came with us to a garage (about 25 miles) to help with the translation.

Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M88ULV
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great place, worth every penny”
Reviewed June 6, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

I decided to go to La Fargeotte after reading the great reviews that the gite had received and I had also been told about it by friends who had been previously.

On arrival I was greeted by the friendly owners who were very helpful. The gite was everything that it was described as and the inclusion of the games area for children was a good idea.

There is lots to do in the local area within a short drive. Le Bugue is a nice town which is not very far away and Limeuil, where the two rivers meet is a beautiful place to spend some time.

I would recommend La Fargeotte to anybody.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Button291
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Gite in the heart of the Perigord Noir”
Reviewed May 20, 2011 for a stay in June 2010

This is a lovely gite, in a superb rural location. The owners were incredibly helpful and have a wide knowledge of the area and were very willing to suggest places of interest and local restaurants. The property provides ample accommodation for large family / group and children (and adults) are well catered for with the games room, splash pool, videos and books. We had an amazing week here and would recommend it for anyone looking for a break in the beautiful Dordogne area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachelD19...
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts, beautiful countryside, shame about the weather!”
Reviewed May 19, 2011 for a stay in August 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at La Fargeotte for ten days last summer and although we arrived extremlely late, Paul & Jill had waited up for our arrival. They were lovely hosts and it was great to have them living so close, as they were extremely friendly and helpful and gave us lots of advice (but not over attentive either). The accommodation was comfortable, with plenty of room - even for our family of six (2 adults & 4 kids - 15,14,13 & 11) and the 'games room' was fab and the whole family made use of it daily, in fact it was hard to get our three sons out of the splash pool (even when the sun wasn't shining). They also had a great collection of video's (few oldish films which the kids had not seen before but ended up loving!) The only down side to the accommodation is that it is situated quite close to a busy-ish road, so you could hear the traffic passing by, that said it didn't keep us awake at night and the property is set back slightly so people with younger children wouldn't need to be overly worried about safety issues) The area was beautiful and although we had researched things to do in the area to keep the kids entertained, things were slightly further afield than we had anticipated and we did put a few miles on the car. We were slightly unlucky with the weather, which meant we may have travelled further than if we had glorious sunshine everyday. Two particularly memorable days out were at the local water park, which was fab and canoeing, which will never be erased from my memory! We saw tonnes of wildlife while we were there including a family of wild boar amongst a host of other things. Would I go again? Yes but based on the area alone, I think it would be better suited to a family with slightly younger children or a couple. So we will be back after the kids have moved out!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$94
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing