We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming, cosy gem”
Review of Hotel le Foret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Foret
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lalinde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Charming very french decor with comfortable room and bed. I was bike touring, so the bath was also well used. Proprietors were real gentlemen, helpfully booking my accomodation for the rest of the week of my tour for me thus relieving a lot of stress. Breakfast was substantial enough and the room is also a bar / cafe with an outdoor terrace available. I had no problem with noise although I did have a back room away from the street. Outside shutters also helped. Personally, I like being in the centre of town with an easy walk anywhere. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huddo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 101 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2010

This place isn't expensive, so you don't want to expect too much, but I thought it was very good value for money. The proprietors were very helpful _ I had a problem with lost luggage, and they were very helpful in getting it sorted out, and with restaurnat suggestions at a quite time of year. It's really interesting decor, and well located (if a bit noisy). For France, the breakfast was really good (don't expect a full American breakfast). We were in a group, and managed to see quite a few rooms, and the double rooms upstairs (especially the corner rooms are much nicer).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is a pleasant hotel with many positive features, but its location next to the main road through town makes it very noisy. To minimise this, I suggest you ask for an air conditioned room as far from the 'road side' as possible.
The hosts would also do well to brush up on their charm skills and try smiling occasionally.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurugilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is a bijou little hotel. Many of the rooms are small but beautifully decorated with provencal quilts and paint washes. It's done on a shoestring, but cleverly so. The photos on the website are an accurate representation. We asked for the large three bed room on the top floor which comes with airconditioning, The bathrooms are a bit of a letdown as they look as if they haven't been refurbished since the owners bought the place. There is a teashop where breakfast (good and substantial) is served, but no restaurant. The owners do not speak English.

My only negative thought is that the prices are a bit steep for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

A little gem found at the end of a long days travelling.

The proprietor will let you try your hand at French before responding in perfect English.

Lovely, clean room, very well presented but too much furniture.

Also some road noise as we had to sleep with the window open.

Breakfast, excellent and varied.

The proprietor has taken time and trouble in putting this place together - lovely decor and furniture - a sense of caring about the building.

Would we stay there again - yes!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank nathchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank francoiselongefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lalinde
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Perigord
Hotel Le Perigord
#2 of 2 in Lalinde
52 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Barrage
Hotel Restaurant Le Barrage
#1 of 1 in Mauzac-et-Grand-Castang
46 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
177 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
423 reviews
5.3 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Foret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Foret

Address: 2 Place Victor Hugo, 24150 Lalinde, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Lalinde
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lalinde
Price Range: $64 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Foret 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel le Foret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing