We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb setting, excellent food, warm reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manoir d'Hautegente
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coly
Certificate of Excellence
Euro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb setting, excellent food, warm reception”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have eaten at the Manoir d'Hautegente many times and have never ever been disappointed with the truly excellent cuisine, the warmth of the reception and the overall luxury and ambience of the surroundings.

Truly well worth the visit when it is time to spoil yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    55
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
60
197
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you like 2 star rooms, 4 star grounds and astonishingly expensive food then this is for you. With 4 star prices I expect some attempt at the furnishings. Felt like a cheap holiday gite - v old velour chair, dusty flowery sofas and bed spreads, and wobbly old wooden tables. And only half the electricity sockets work. Grounds and pool are superb - really gorgeous. Staff and owner extremely friendly and welcoming. The oddest place I've ever stayed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyfromwestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersel, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Rooms in the old building are oldish. Worst of all is the woman managing the hotel - she is rude and basically left us with a very bad feeling. We booked a 2 night stay incl breakfast yet were forced to take dinner as well despite we had written comfirmation of night + breakfast. Dinner was 5/10. We were asked to pay the evening before departure (!). As frequent traveller I never experienced sth like this. My wife is also pregnant and was not well treated. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family ( including children 10 & 11) have just stayed at Manoir D'Hautegente. We entered the driveway to four unified 'wow' comments. The Manoir and surrounds is stunning. Walking from the car we were greeted pleasantly by one of the young male staff. We checked in to our beautiful room- delightful and very spacious ( a huge plus when travelling with children). On both nights we ate at the restaurant with sensational food- an outstanding chef. The staff were delightful and attentive. On the second night, we had the pleasure of a light and musical evening. This was a magical night. The owner is absolutely delightful with a strong vision of quality in all aspects of your stay. This is a must stop.

Room Tip: Family rooms have cater well for family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ren3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This restaurant is so let down by poor attitude, which i believe comes from the top down. The food is inventive and flavoursome and the setting is serenely beautiful. Such being the case, the poor service we received left us with "a what could have been feeling." We visited for lunch in early July. The design of the permanent awning is poor as diners lose shade half way through lunch. This must happen every sunny day but management seemed to be clueless in responding to the complaints of guests. The Manager tried to install an umbrella to protect the first complainant. The umbrella blew into the adjacent stream and float away upside down. We waited an inordinate time for table water, having asked three times. The waiter answered my second request with a quip. The Manageress was overtly rude when i asked her to explain the French menu. Her idea of an explanation of a detailed menu of mains was to say, "duck, chicken, veal etc." Being a 60 year old with half a brain, i actually did know the French for duck, chicken and veal, however, it would have been nice to receive a more fulsome description. The waiters were ill trained and had to be called upon for water, bread and general attention. We were one of the last groups remaining at the end of the lunch sitting. Once our meal was completed no more attention was given. The waiters had disappeared and the rude Manageress was sitting talking to friends. We had to search out our bill. I saw the umbrella floating down the stream as a metaphor for lunch on that day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed one night (wish it could have been more!) on our cycle trip in the Dordogne & Vezere Valleys. Although we arrived hot and dishevelled quite late in the day we were given priority treatment and warmly welcomed. Our room was very spacious and like an apartment, with a separate upstairs mezzanine area for sleeping. Décor was attractive and it was spotlessly clean.
The manor is historic and set in the most romantic setting imaginable. We sat outside on the terrace overlooking the beautiful riverside garden in the setting sun for aperitifs and moved inside for dinner which was superb. There was ample choice for each course all of which were very creative and beautifully cooked and presented.
The waiting service was immaculate.
Breakfast also had plenty of variety and was of excellent quality.
We were having a little trouble working out our cycle tour for the day, so our hostess discussed options on a map she provided and kindly suggested a route and personally recommended a restaurant in a neighbouring village for lunch. We cycled happily away, but realised when we arrived at our first destination, St. Amand de Coly, that we had left our GPS charger in our room. We telephoned the hotel and our very obliging hostess drove to the abbey in St. Amand and personally delivered the charger to us! She cheerfully refused any payment.
We would love to return to this hotel and stay longer. It's an ideal place for either relaxing there or as a base for exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in a nearby gite and used the hotel restaurant for an evening meal. The welcome was genuine and warm, aperitifs were taken on the terrace overlooking the river whilst we perused the menu. We moved indoors for the meal and were treated to a truly special series of courses and very attentive (although not intrusive) service from the young but enthusiastic staff. Marie was always on hand to ensure that everything was as it should be. Having eaten in many restaurants in many parts of the world, I have continued to order veal whenever it appears on a menu in the diminishing hope that one day, someone would be able to serve something tender, properly cooked and as tasty as veal can be. This hope was fulfilled with every other part of the experience being just as good. Whilst not inexpensive, the combination of the welcome, care, surroundings, service, food and attention to detail combined to make this very much excellent value for money and an experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: We cannot comment on the rooms although if they are as good as the food, they will be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coly
2.1 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
18.8 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
14.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Le Moulin de Mitou
Le Moulin de Mitou
#1 of 1 in Auriac-du-Perigord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Hostellerie La Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Montignac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Le Lascaux
Hotel Le Lascaux
#1 of 5 in Montignac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir d'Hautegente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir d'Hautegente

Property: Manoir d'Hautegente
Address: Proximite De La Departementale 62, 24120 Coly, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Coly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manoir d'Hautegente 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Manoir d'Hautegente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir d`Hautegente Hotel Coly
Manoir d Hautegente Coly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing