We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay in the heart of the Dordogne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Relais du Touron
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carsac-Aillac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wandering around the Dordogne for a couple of days on the way back from Beziers we stumbled on this hotel mid afternoon just outside the lazy town of Le Touron. The rooms were good, the pool attractive; in April too cold to be inviting, but I can see itr would be great after a summer walk in the Dordogne to return to the pool for a cooling swin and a pool side drink. The evening meal was excellent although the choice wes limited - might be more in high season.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed mid-July and had a wonderful time. The staff are very warm and genuine to all of us and were helpful when we had a question, needed directions, or just wanted to talk. We are from Canada-my wife is close to fluent in French but I struggle a lot. The staff were patient and encouraging while I butchered their fine language.
We had dinner on a couple of the nights we were there and really enjoyed our meals. Our eldest helped reduce the canard population and the youngest enjoyed the kids meals. The pool was wonderfully clean and was a welcome event at the end of a day of sightseeing. Rooms were also clean and tidy despite how much clutter we left behind each day.
I read a couple of reviews below about the traffic. We had a very easy time getting out on the road. You can't hear it from the pool, your place, or the restaurant area.
This was easily one of our top two places in our time in France.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out towards the lawn. That's where we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have recently returned in July from our fourth stay at this hotel, this time for 9 nights. I am pleased to say that everything is as good as in previous times. Excellent 5 course Demi-pension dinner, superb swimming pool, comfortable room and peaceful garden/grounds. Most importantly the kindness and friendliness of Philipe and the whole Viala family who helped to make our stay so comfortable.
We very much hope to return for our fifth visit and would like to record our thanks to the Viala family for looking after us so well.
Robert & Patricia, Chelmsford, England

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatEurotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We've been travelling in France for a great number of years now, and this is one of the best value hotels we've stopped at.The restaurant is quite excellent, authentic, great french cooking but unpretentious. We'd love to keep it a secret and to ourselves , but it really is very good value.There is an excellent quiet cycle track adjacent ,which takes you to Sarlat , the River Dordogne or Souillac if your'e energetic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

nice little friendly place with good value food, pleasant restaurant and nice grounds. the rooms were clean and spacious, but the beds very very small. the situation is nice and peaceful and a good walking path just behind. there is a pleasant little village close by with a couple of bars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howtonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stumbled on this hotel's restaurant purely by chance. We had already eaten but decided to return the next day for lunch especially as it was cold outside (yes, in May) and the restaurant was so cosy and warm and overlooked the garden. We were not disappointed. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Also English was no problem. The meal we had was typically French which was something we had been looking for during our few days in Sarlat. It was plentiful, well cooked and presented and was very reaonably priced. Our only regret was that we could not return for lunch the next day as this was our last day. Next time in the Dordogne we shall try the hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We followed recommendations on here and we were not disappointed.Excellent value for money for a 3 star hotel set in lovely surroundings.Clean ,comfortable rooms .This hotel is family run and the two couples were always pleasant and helpful. Very patient with children also I noticed ! . Our room gave on to the garden which has a swimming pool which is charmingly lit at night.Unfortunately the weather did not allow us to take advantage of the pool but the garden has plenty of areas to sit and relax. We opted for half board which was good value for money ( watch for 'promotions 'also.).Breakfast was very good and the evening meal was excellent. A typical 5 course menu : soup, + terrine or foie gras or jambon de pays then main course : roast beef, / gigot d'agneau /confit de canard + vegetables followed by a cheese board and dessert. Delicious home cooking , excellent quality..We walked into Sarlat one day along the walking/cycling path just behind the hotel.Easy walking but allow a good hour and be aware that you still have some way to go before reaching the medieval centre of Sarlat once you reach the end of the path. The village of Carsac is very pleasant too with some shops,and a tea room and pretty park. .We were very pleased with our choice of hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which gave onto the garden.We were not bothered by noise at all .Some peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwendlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carsac-Aillac
4.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
591 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
7.6 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
316 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
366 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Villa Romaine
Hotel La Villa Romaine
#1 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Touron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Touron

Address: 1 Lieu Dit le Touron, 24200 Carsac-Aillac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Carsac-Aillac
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carsac-Aillac
Price Range: $83 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Touron 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Relais du Touron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Touron France/Carsac-Aillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing