We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful bolthole off the beaten track”
Review of Chateau De La Cote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau De La Cote
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful bolthole off the beaten track”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a night at this beautiful chateau on our way north. We came across it by accident and it was like finding hidden treasure! We had a lovely, comfortable room with a very good bathroom and the staff were very friendly and helpful - sadly their own restaurant wasn't open that evening and so they directed us to the nearby village of Bourdeilles where there was a choice of cafes and restaurants to choose from. We would certainly stay there again - it was extremely good value.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor on the front of the building - it was quiet with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    124
    38
    25
    25
See reviews for
76
260
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from touring the area. The Chateau was a good choice for our 4 night stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, evening drinks on the lawn after a days touring was restful and the pool area was well kept. The drive up to the Chateau was rather narrow but opened out to a lovely first view of the Chateau. We only had one evening meal which was eaten on the terrace at a leisurely pace and provided excellent value, (though we had no bad meals during our visit to France). Our room though perhaps dated reflected the feel of the chateau and we appreciated the lack of chrome and overmodernisation.
We would certainly return if we tour this area again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

A wonderful location...quiet rural but close to Brantome and Bourdelles. Our room (23) on the second floor was slightly twee with pink beams. There was no information in the room. The bathroom in the turret was unusual but worked well (unfortunately the shower was very poor) . A spiral staircase lead to the turret roof where we enjoyed our drink before dinner with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. Dinner on the terrace was relaxed with good value fixed price menus. The food was lovely. We paid supplements for some dishes but it was well worth it.
Breakfast by contrast was disappointing..expensive for relatively simple croissant and fruit.
The overall impression was of a previously superb hotel that as had little money spent on it over the last few years to keep it upgraded.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JABOZ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

In the middle of nowhere we found this chateau. We were looking for a nice and calm place with good and enjoyable food. We were not disappointed. Can really recomend a stay. Nice surroundings.
would suggest no additional charge for Internet-access

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Shabby chic, peaceful location with lots of character... Stayed for four nights, food and service good.

Room Tip: We had a large bedroom in the main chateau, with excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gowercoast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Ok, seen the rave reviews for this place & can understand that if absolutely nothing goes at all the slightest bit wrong how you would think this to be the greatest Chateau on earth!!
Excellent location, rural, and isolated with almost no traffic passing by the hotel.
Peace and tranquility (depending on other house guests!)
Free parking immediately outside the chateau
Traditionally furnished, which does mean old furniture and faded , obscure printed paintings on walls.
Located very close to Bourdeilles, a lovely old village less than 5 mins drive away, where there are a few restaurants (the best of which is Les Minestrals, Remy & Corrine are your hosts and they will go out of their way to make you feel welcome & Corrine's English is excellent, Remy will play his guitar and sing with dulcit tones, the music is inoffensve and very relaxing!)
Brantome is a little further, perhaps 10/15 mins from the Chateau, and a lovely old town. On Sunday the shops all open late in to the afternoon, lots to wander and see.
On the Friday night we arrived to find most of the restaurants were closed, but this is rural France!
Breakfast was very poor value for money Euro 14 per person for tiny square French toasts, few days old croissants, French bread and cheap jams in sachets, there was some fruit , and some luncheon meat type ham/meat, and cheese slices - terrible for that price. Stayed in lower budget hotels that have provided quality continental breakfasts.
Drive 5 mins to Bourdeilles where you can grab fresh croissants, jam and fresh coffee latte's or Cauppaccino, and enjoy it for a fraction of the cost of the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank English-Rose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fusion17
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I went there for the weekend with my wife and we had a great experience.
A friend of mine from New York recommended us to stop at this hotel to enjoy the setting and the food and I'm glad we followed his advice. The castle is gorgeous, the park and the swimming pool very relaxing - the local specialities served at the restaurant unforgettable !!!
The Chateau de la côte is the place to visit when going in south west of France...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fusion17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourdeilles
7.7 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
367 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
444 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
5.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
9.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Perigueux Centre Historique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De La Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De La Cote

Property: Chateau De La Cote
Address: 24310 Bourdeilles, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bourdeilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau De La Cote 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of green Périgord , situated between Périgueux and Brantome, " discover the charm of the past, in one of the most beautiful castles of the Dordogne hotels , whose origins date back to the fifteenth century."17 rooms and suites, spacious and bright , with antique furnishings combined with modern comforts. Each has its own character and offers stunning views over the rolling countryside and the old park . Romantic " les Moulineaux " suite with canopy bed has a private access to the terrace of the dungeon. Absolute calm. Pets allowed .The castle restaurant : generous traditional and gourmet cuisine based on fresh, seasonal and local produce prepared by our chef Marie Verdier . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau De La Cote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Cote Hotel Brantome
Chateau De La Cote Brantome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing