We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best French holiday cottage”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Les Chauses

A delightful cottage in an enchanting setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A delightful cottage in an enchanting setting
The pool is 10mx5m and up to 2m deep Attractive patio with a sun canopy for shade when it's hot.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
A delightful cottage in an enchanting setting
The pool is 10mx5m and up to 2m deep
Attractive patio with a sun canopy for shade when it's hot.
The front of the house and barn
The living room
The living room has stone walls and oak beams
Kitchen/Dining room
The kitchen/dining room
The master bedroom
The master bedroom
The en suite bathroom for the master bedroom
Family room - 1 double and 1 single
Family room - 1 double and 1 single
Bathroom with P-shaped bath-shower
Twin bedroom
The kitchen patio
There are umbrellas for shade when it's hot
View from the bottom of the pool
The pool at night
The lower garden extends into woods
A 'secret path' leads to a picnic area in the woods
Private picnic area in the woods
The lower garden extends into woods
A pair of deer seen from the kitchen window
Looking back from the lower garden
The cottage is on the upper left.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bourdeilles, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gregor1y
gregor1y
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best French holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

5 of us including our teenage daughter and our 2 dogs stated here recently for 2 weeks. We have stayed at many French holiday homes over the last 15 years and Les Chauses was one of the best!
A great pool, lovely peaceful surroundings, comfortable beds and furniture, a big TV and the bathrooms had what my wife described as the best showers!
The dogs loved the space and some great dog walks around.

We will return!

Thanks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2016
Thank for your kind comments, Greg.
Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimoneBA2...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great farmhouse, garden and pool - we loved it”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelled with husband, 2 children and two adult friends.
A great farmhouse, with lovely pool and garden. Very spacious and well equipped. In a peaceful and beautiful location.
One of the best rentals we have ever had and would return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thank you for your comments. We're very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arcaccoun...
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Most Wonderful Place”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have returned back to Wales after we spent the most wonderful 2 weeks staying in Les Chauses.......Peaceful, Relaxing and Beautiful accommodation, extremely well equipment and comfortable. We felt at home as soon as we arrived and couldn't believe how beautiful it was....really didn't want to leave. Sat out every morning for breakfast after a short journey for bread from Bourdeilles village, went daily to the village for our 1 year old lab to have a swim in the river (she loved it!!) she loved waking every morning being able to wonder around the extensive gardens and play with sticks. The pool was bliss, especially in the heat during our second week, Ron came twice a week to clean the pool and was at the end of the phone if we needed anything, which to be fair we didn't. Both Ron & Sonia are lovely people and are there is you need them and wouldn't dream of imposing themselves on you. Good place to stay as you are close to everything, Brantome, Periguex and many others, Restaurants all welcome dogs. Kayaking on the Dronne 'Allo Caneos' spoke english well, really good fun for all the family. Seriously would recommend a stay to anyone. Hoping to go back again...just wish we hadn't had to leave.
PS Wifi is excellent and worked with all our mobiles and tablets including iPhones.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel6916
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic rural retreat”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Ours was a return visit to this beautiful place. The farmhouse is rustic, spacious and comfortable, well equipped and hidden away at the end of a tiny ancient hamlet. WiFi and the smart new bathroom and en-suite shower room were a bonus. The lovely large garden and woodland are private and peaceful. We enjoyed lingering lunches in the shade of the apple tree and evening barbecues beside the pool. Mostly you hear only the sounds of birds and insects. One bird has learned to imitate the sound of the pool alarm resetting itself. The night sky is amazing because of the lack of light pollution. We were fortunate with the weather, mainly warm and sunny, and swam most days. Cycling through the lovely countryside is a delight. The roads, lanes and tracks are so quiet. We can recommend cycling to La Tour Blanche for a good-value set lunch. Very good food lunchtimes and evenings at Le Moulin du Pont near Montagrier. Beautiful Brantome is a must to visit as is nearby Bourdeilles;a tiny town with a large chateau. Thank you to the owners and the kind couple who keep the house, garden and pool so well for a wonderful stay. Can't wait until the next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming and spacious property in private setting”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a most enjoyable week in this charming property in a very private setting. There was plenty of space both outside and in with all the essentials for a great family holiday. The pool was a very good size with plenty of patio area and not overlooked by anyone. The location was ideal for visiting the delightful small towns of Bourdielles(10mins) and Brantome (20mins) with plenty of lovely restaurants. The property would sleep 7 comfortably and was well equiped. Our only minor comment would be that the large spacious bathroom and adjoining double bedroom needs a little TLC.
Would definitely stay again in the future without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and privacy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Thank you for your comments. Since then we have done a major remodelling of the bathroom to turn it into an en suite bathroom for the master bedroom, and a separate family bathroom. The conversion has been done to a high standard, with high quality fittings, and provides spacious showers in both bathrooms. See the new pictures in our gallery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing