We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely the best hosts in a wonderful rustic...”
other travelers have booked this property
Exclusive use of owners pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exclusive use of owners pool
Our holiday retreat surrounded by vineyards
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Exclusive use of owners pool
Our holiday retreat surrounded by vineyards
Far from the madding crowd - relaxing terrace with BBQ and outside eating areas
Welcoming front enterance and sunny outside terrace
Large well equipped farmhouse kitchen
Comfortable sitting room with TV and Wi-Fi
Romantic chambre d'or with Louis XV1 bed, with mattress topper and luxury bed linen.
Large family room with en-suite facilities. Plus additional sofa bed
Elegant french style shower room with his and her sinks
Romantic bedroom with Louis XV1 bed and mattress toppers and luxury bed linen
En-suite Family bathroom - with bath, shower and WC
Wine tours and tastings through out the Famous Bordeaux wine regions
Water sports and swimming @ Meschers-sur-Gironde
Cafe a la Port - Bourg
The beautiful village of St Emilion - world famous wine producers
Il-de-Re - UNESCO site, wild life and beauty location, the jewel of the Atlantic coastline
Fishing on the Gironde Estuary
Blaye Citadel, world famous UNESCO site on the gironde estuary
Bourg-sur-Gironde ancient and pretty village
Lacs-de-moulin-blanc and newly opened resturant
Pony riding and many other activities for children at nearby lac de Moulin blanc
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blaye, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rainyday2...
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best hosts in a wonderful rustic vineyard home. Totally updated comfort with country French charm.”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed for a week and appreciated the hospitality,great location, spacious home and grounds. The helpfulness in recommendations for activities and restaurants made our stay in the area memorable. Living in a vineyard at harvest time was fabulous.
The private vineyard tour and wine tasting was enjoyed by all. Our hosts were always available if we needed any directions. Truly a relaxing and fun accommodation. Highly recommended
.we have already recommended 6 friends to share the experience

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2017
Hi All, thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review - we really appreciate your comments.
I think you were the most adventurous of all all guests, travelling out and about to visit all the top Chateaux within this area. We're so pleased you enjoyed visits to Saint Emillion and the Médoc - Mouton Rothschilds and Chateau Pape-Clément. Hopefully the bottle of wine you created to suit your own individual tastes made it all the way back to Canada!
It's been lovely helping you make the most of the time you spent in our area - thanks for the recommendations. We wish you many more exciting adventures
Gill and Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve_twi...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We all enjoy our hard earned holidays and adventures, however sometimes we come across people and places that make an impact creating lasting memories. Gill and Ben from French Vineyard Vacation are those people and their lovingly restore Chateau La Grande Etouble is that place.
Set amongst their own vineyards, the location is truly amazing. The tastefully restore Chateau is very spacious and has all the comforts of home. Ben kindly gave us a tour (and tasting) of their vineyard, giving us an understanding of the process and passion that goes into wine making (which by the way is delicious).
I can't recommend this place highly enough. I wish them well for their future harvests and look forward to visiting again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2017
Hi Both
Yes, we can't agree more, how long and hard everyone works towards their adventures and holidays these days - and we do aim to fulfil expectations. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay here and our latest optional addition to our holidays - your own bespoke wine tour.
It was brilliant to meet you both and to be able to welcome your very well behaved dog Spiro too. We're so pleased we could meet your request for you to be able to bring him. Thanks so much for this very kind review and the time you have taken to submit it - we really appreciate it. We wish you both a very fulfilling and rewarding future - wherever life may lead you both. It was lovely for our paths to cross and for you to enjoy all this area offers. All the best Gill and Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Summer Break!”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at the French Vineyards Vacation for a week to visit friends and family living in the area.
The house has been beautifully refurbished and it is decorated with taste.
All our relatives were very impressed by the property and the outdoor space. The pool area is amazing with a lovely pergola that provides shade on very hot days.
My husband did a tour of the vineyards and it was very interesting. We have purchased a few bottles from the property to drink and enjoy with everyone. It was really good!
The children really enjoyed the house and played a lot in the pool.
Gill and Ben have been in touch before we arrived and we thought that was very nice.
They have been helpful throughout our stay. This was a top customer service.
We will definitely go back as we visit the area often and this property offers everything that we need. It really felt like a holiday this time round!
And we definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
Hi Cathy and Family
It was a real pleasure to welcome you, your gorgeous family and your friends as well. It's lovely to hear you felt like you had had a proper holiday as well as creating treasured memories of family visits.
It's great to receive all those compliments, thank you so much for the time and effort you've put into your review. We truly hope we do get to welcome you here again. Wishing you a happy and successful rest of 2017. Kind regards
Gill and Ben x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
polly596
Shropshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The hosts with the most!”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at Ben and Gill’s vineyard gite for a week in late July 2017 as a party of five with three older teenage girls. We have holidayed in a fair few gites in France over the years and we would say without hesitation that Ben and Gill’s wins over all of the others both in terms of the facilities offered and how comfortable we were made to feel.
The house itself has a real country farmhouse feel and the renovations have been thoughtfully completed so that the place feels warm, clean, nicely lit and is tastefully decorated and furnished. The result is a property that feels very spacious (even if you are a bit untidy, as we are) and offers many different places to relax. With five occupants, it’s possible to find your own space in the living room (whose doors open for a cool breeze onto the garden), the large kitchen, shady garden, sunny lawn and pool area. Equally, there is enough room in each of these spaces for everyone comfortably to eat, drink, play catch or swim. I think there is quite a lot of bats-and-ball stuff that we didn’t use, as we were happy with our tennis ball. Gill and Ben gave us four bikes and offered to rustle up a fifth if we all wanted to take a trip out together.
Specifically, the pool is pristine and offers a shaded area as well as lots of recliners around the pool. The ping-pong table was a hit as was the lawn for improving our ball skills. The plums from the garden made a lovely pie. The barbeque is spotless and Ben took the trouble to coach our girls in the use of the gas burner.
We do a lot of cooking and one usually expects to have to improvise when you go away, as most places have a few things missing that you would have at home, but here there is just about anything you would find at home and in abundance.
Gill and Ben are the most natural of hosts. Everything feels personal. Gill knew that we would be going to the supermarket en route, so decided to complement our shopping with some fresh bread and cheese and some of the Garagiste wine from their own vineyard – the perfect choice. (Ben also later gave us a freshly bottled rosé – quite delicious.) Wherever you look in the house there are signs of thoughtfulness: there is a whole rack of spices and ingredients to make dressings with; there is shampoo, shower gel and loo roll in every bathroom in case you forget to buy any or take something with you; there are dishwasher tablets and washing powder by the machine; and milk and tea till you can get to the shops; loads of books, videos and box sets of all different kinds (and I’m really picky about books) if it rains. Gill even offered our girls robes to keep warm round the pool one time when they’d left their towels in the house!
We asked Ben to show us round the vineyard, which was a real pleasure. We asked lots of daft questions and got lots of sensible answers, as you might expect. We recommend you do the same.
Although you need a car to make the most of the area, we like walking and very much enjoyed wandering the lanes nearby, popping into Berson for odd provisions (though do check the opening times) and chatting to the neighbours. We had planned to do quite a lot in the surrounding area, but mostly we just relaxed around the house and garden, as it was a nice place to be. One evening we joined Ben and Gill in the Bar du Sport in Blaye for a very pleasant hour, during which Ben and some friends play songs and we soaked up the atmosphere and that was in fact the only evening we went out at all!
Before booking our holiday, like most people, we read the reviews and couldn’t find a single negative comment among them – having now stayed, that does not surprise us, as I cannot think of a single thing Ben and Gill might have done differently and improved our experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Wow, what a fabulous review Polly, we are so thrilled you enjoyed your holiday here. Your review is so very helpful and detailed for other potential guests, we really appreciate the time and effort you have put into it. It's true we do think about each and every group of guests individually, everyone seems to have different requirements.It's our hope that all of our guests to get the best of what they want from this area. Some guests like to discover things themselves - others like to chat and hear about what's available. We just hope everyone goes away with the best memories possible from their holiday with us. Lots of guests arrive "as guests" and more often than not, like yourselves, we part as friends. We really enjoyed our talks around the pool in the mornings. I'm smiling now, as I remember the surprise of discovering a mutual friend. Who would have thought that! We are so very pleased you mention coming back to visit us again, we'd loved to welcome you all here again. We're hoping to create a quarterly news letter about our wine adventure and so we can keep in touch a few times a year in the meantime. We wish you and your lovely family a wonderful second half of 2017.
Salut Polly, jusqu'a la prochaine fois xx.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann C
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Living as God in France @ La Grande Etouble with Gill & Ben!”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This wonderful place Gill & Ben created is the most fantastic place in the 4 years we've rent a house for our family holiday where we all felt like coming at home as from the very first moment. Every thing you could wish or need is there. Great rooms, adorable kitchen, the pool with his environment, the Vineyard just next to you where Ben's splendid wine is coming from, space enough for everyone, . And last but not least the perfect hosts! This if for sure not a 1 time stay although we are not used to this, and can only advise to make a booking here.
We all loved it!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you for your very kind review and in English too! We really appreciate you taking the time and effort to submit a report. We too, have wonderful memories of you and your thoughtful, happy and interesting family. We really enjoyed our "evening of aperitifs and chatting". We're so pleased to hear we will get an opportunity to welcome you here again and look forward to seeing you all again at sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kw6202
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The gite is situated on a beautiful vineyard, run by Gill and Ben, who are the most wonderful hosts. There is a pretty village within easy walking/ cycling distance , where we bought delicious bread and croissants every morning. The gite was finished to the highest spec, with every attention to detail, and we wanted for nothing. The pool is glorious, and there are plentiful sunloungers,and a lovely shady area . We borrowed bikes, played tabletennis and boules and relaxed by the pool - recharging our batteries.
Our holiday could not have been better, and we will always be grateful to Gill and Ben for sharing their beautiful home with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Hello Penny and Family
Thank you so very much for taking some time out of your busy day to review your holiday. We really appreciate your kind and positive comments. Likewise , we really enjoyed meeting you and your family and helping to you to get the most out of your holiday and time spent here. Hopefully one day you will come and re-visit us.
Kindest Regards
Gill and Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolaist...
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic place - we enjoyed this so much”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed 10 days in August 2016; 2 adults and 4 youngsters around 20 years of age. We had a fantastic time. The place is in the middle of the wine yeards with a very nice swimingpool and a good opportunity to cook you own food if you like (both inside and outside). And there are also good possibility to explore the surrounding - many things to do. And not to forget Gill and Ben, who rent out the house: They was so helpful and kind that it was clearly far above expectations. And they helped to make our stay unforgettable. Thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
Hello Stov-Brit and Nicolai
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us, it was a real pleasure to meet your family. We have some wonderful memories of your stay - especially the delicious meal you kindly cooked for us. It was a real treat!
We enjoyed our chats on those warm evenings and we hope our paths will cross again in the future. We have now closed French Vineyard Vacations in readiness for this year's grape harvest.
It's a very exciting time for us, the wine chai is all ready and been approved by the Bordeaux wine making organisation. All we need now a perfectly ripened and balanced grapes :-)
We wish you and your children good health, much success and happiness. Kindest Regards
Gill and Ben xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing