We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern, clean apartment in Blaye!”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full kitchen everything you would expect at home.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Full kitchen everything you would expect at home.
Barbecue in the private courtyard
View looking up the stairwell.
Ground floor of the stairwell.
View from the stairwell, looking through the lounge into the courtyard.
Stairs leading down to the wine cellar.
The old well that used to provide water to the property. The pumping mechanism is still in place.
The courtyard area.
The ferry to cross the Gironde Estuary  into the Medoc wine region.
Fort Medoc, on of the first attractions when crossing over the Gironde Estuary.
Driving the D2 road through the Medoc! Amazing wine country.
Driving the D2 road through the Medoc! Amazing wine country.
Aerial view of the Citadel a UNESCO world heritage site, just 200 meters from our property.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Blaye, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Louise M
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern, clean apartment in Blaye!”
Reviewed October 21, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the little neighborhood, the easy access to the surrounding area and especially the clean and efficient apartment we stayed in (#3). Our only complaint and, it did make a huge impact on our stay, was the size of the bed (small and hard) and the pillows. Both were inadequate and not comfortable. The pillows are not the typical kind you sleep with and the bed was tough for 2 people to sleep in.

Date of stay: October 2014
Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellie5758
northern ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked apartment 3 because of its situation in the heart of the winelands and the Tripadvisor reviews. The apartment was probably the best equipped self catering we have used either in France or Italy and everything was very clean, however a few small but important issues let it down. Firstly it states that the apartment has air conditioning, yes it does.....in the living room but the bedroom only has a floor standing fan and with temperatures @ 30 degrees it was barely enough. Secondly, to get to apartments 3 & 4, 38 stairs have to be climbed so a large suitcase is difficult to manage. Thirdly,we stayed in September when world events were changing on a daily basis & the television did not have one English language channel ( nor a sports channel to the disappointment of my hubby) . Car parking was not as easy as we had hoped either. On a positive note we enjoyed being able to walk to the market( we did use the barbecue ) and the excellent local restaurants.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Position in town.
Liked least: Not full air conditioning
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hargraves...
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Apartment that has it all”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a spacious, beautiful apartment with everything that you need! The kitchen has all the utensils you need to cook a meal. We stayed there with our two young children and it was extremely comfortable. The owner has a good selection of DVD's for both children and adults and we enjoyed making use of the braai in the lovely courtyard, where you are allowed to pick fresh herbs.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior was beautiful and spacious
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2016
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel_Ga...
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for six nights with our one-year-old, the apartment was clean, comfortable, spacious and nicely decorated, obviously recently renovated and very well maintained. The kitchen and the whole apartment are very well equipped, everything we could have needed was there. Blaye is lovely, the Citadelle is amazing and is well worth visiting, even more than once. It is helpful to have a car there, there are lots of nice places within easy reach, for example local wineries which gave us a very warm welcome. Parking is very easy. If you are in Blaye on a Wednesday or Saturday morning, go to the market and pick up some great fresh food to cook in your kitchen or on the barbecue at Chez Simon.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and comfort of the apartment, and the location which was very convenient.
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike about this place
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaybee57
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely homely guest apartment”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Tricky to find and get to but a well appointed apartment with everything needed for our few days here. Perfect for walking to markets on Market day and a stroll across to discover the Citadel and all it's offerings. We used to outdoor area to take our lunch out to one day but there's also a cosy little lounge with a fireplace that would be well used in winter months I imagine.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susie721
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Very good value”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The apartment was easy to find, spacious, clean and well equipped. Restaurants and Saturday Market are within walking distance.Very good value.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill-Juli...
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Chez Simon is THE perfect place to stay in the Bordeaux Region.
The one bedroom apartment was tastefully decorated, as was the whole building.
The furnishings and appliances were of the highest standards which made for our perfect week sojourn.
Booking was easy, Frank (the owner) was extremely helpful and the building is exactly as portrayed on the web.
Blaye itself was a good village with markets on Wednesday & Saturday, good Leclerc supermarket and close & easy access to the ferry and well positioned to tour the many vineyards.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing