We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home - everything you need for a...”
other traveler has booked this property
Full kitchen everything you would expect at home.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full kitchen everything you would expect at home.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Full kitchen everything you would expect at home.
Barbecue in the private courtyard
Aerial view of the Citadel a UNESCO world heritage site, just 200 meters from our property.
View looking up the stairwell.
Ground floor of the stairwell.
View from the stairwell, looking through the lounge into the courtyard.
Stairs leading down to the wine cellar.
The old well that used to provide water to the property. The pumping mechanism is still in place.
The courtyard area.
The ferry to cross the Gironde Estuary  into the Medoc wine region.
Fort Medoc, on of the first attractions when crossing over the Gironde Estuary.
Driving the D2 road through the Medoc! Amazing wine country.
Driving the D2 road through the Medoc! Amazing wine country.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Blaye, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Wonder-Em
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home from home - everything you need for a wonderful holiday in Bordeaux”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Chez Simon for 3 nights in July 2013; we wanted to be close to Bordeaux, the wine region and the Cote D'Argent but weren't keen on staying in Bordeaux city. From the minute we saw the website, through to leaving the property, we were thoroughly impressed with everything it had to offer. It is extremely reasonably priced, and the communication from the owner was always immediate following emails. The directions and entry instructions were clear and easy to follow.

We stayed in the studio apartment 4 and were impressed with how spacious it was. It was also immaculate, clean and very modern. There is a large lounge area with an adjacent bedroom and very comfy double bed. The kitchen is exceptional; everything you need to make almost any meal is included, and it is all new and of high quality.

The location is great; in the middle of Blaye town (although this won't occupy you for more than a day at most), and close to road links to take you to Bordeaux and the ferry to take you over the Gironde. There are ample bars and restaurants nearby, although as the kitchen was so well equipped we opted to make most of our meals, and the nearby LeClerc supermarket is amazing! There is also plenty of street parking outside and round the corner so we didn't need the private garage. You would (I think) definitely need a car to explore the region.

My one suggestion would be that there is no air-conditioning; there is a ceiling fan over the lounge, but this does not over much relief at night as it is quite far away from the bed. There are 2 large windows, but as the room overlooks the courtyard there is no breeze through the room; as the temperature got up to 34 degrees when we were there, we really would have appreciated AC! Also, having the windows open at night (which was unavoidable due to the heat) lets plenty of mosquitos in.

This is my only quibble about what is otherwise a fantastic place to stay in the Bordeaux region. We would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen facilities are excellent and apartment is clean and modern.
Liked least: AC would make this property perfect.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
surrey B.C. Canada
Reviewed July 4, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
toujourse...
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Really a comfortable set up. Modern and clean in an Ikea sort of manner. Fairly priced. Good base for exploring the vineyards, the seaside, and the countryside. Had to ask for microwave. Good washer and dryer. Good Wifi.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable, being in a French neighborhood
Liked least: Cost of ferry ride across the Gironde
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moggo60
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Look no further - if you want to stay in the heart of the Bordeaux wine region, this is the place to stay! The apartment is wonderful. It is equipped with everything you will need, spacious, light and central. Everything is clean and new. It is in a very typical French side street but, except for a little laughter and chatting in the mornings, it is also very quiet.
There is also a hidden gem - a really lovely courtyard to sit and relax or even have a BBQ as well as a communal sitting area with a wood burning stove in case you are there in the winter.
Blaye is a pretty town with an impressive citadel and with a car ferry which takes you straight into the Medoc area. Bordeaux is only 40 minutes away.
I can't recommend this apartment enough, it really is a brilliant place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: I liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewed October 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing