We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS cuisine & Value with BYO wine for local chambre d'hote clientele!”
Review of Le Gavroche

Le Gavroche
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Blaye
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NZ
Level Contributor
730 reviews
459 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS cuisine & Value with BYO wine for local chambre d'hote clientele!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Small but perfectly formed restaurant offers great quality for your$ in Blaye off a side street across from Citadel. Enjoy your OWN BYO wine from day's degustation in the region as a client from local chambre d'hote such as Villa St Simon. (offers wonderful wine tours!). Menu is small but every dish is great and carefully prepared fresh from best local produce. Book ahead to avoid disappointment as it is a tiny place opening for a limted # of hours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    84
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
595 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Great value, great cooking”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

La Gavroche is well worth a visit if you enjoy good, honest cooking and a cheery welcome. The menu that we ate was incredible value at EUR 23/head. I don't think that I have eaten so well for such value in a long time. Better again, if you stay at some of the local hotels (such as the Villa St Simon), the restaurant allows you to bring in your chosen wine and drink it without a corkage charge. Absolutely recommended!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 12Knocksinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, low key dining”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were recommended Le Gavroche by our B&B hosts. We were not disappointed.

The restaurant is tucked away in a side street, and not open every day - check before setting out - and also has limited covers (I counted only 24). It provides a relaxed dining atmosphere in a small restaurant.

We ordered from the set menu. Starters were duck salad, and salmon with asparagus mousse. Both were well balanced plates of food, if a little on the large side for starters (that is a compliment, not a complaint). For mains we had duck and sea bass. The sea bass was very nice, and a good sized portion. The duck was also a good sized portion if a little overcooked, and a little more salty than I would have liked, but still very nice. Desserts were apple tart tatin, which was excellent, and profiteroles, which were very good. All washed down with a jug of red wine.

The total bill was a little over €50. Taking not account what we ate and drank, and the quality of it, this was good value. I would eat there again without hesitation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best meal in Blaye”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Where do I begin? - at the personal welcome of the chef (we were the first clients that evening) who pronounced our English name correctly (not something that happens often in France), and the smile of our server for the evening. The restaurant is small (probably a maximum of 28 covers) and the atmosphere calm and relaxing. I was glad that we had booked a table as at least 10+ potential clients were turned away, politely and regretfully, during the course of our meal.
The food was sensational. I chose the "menu du soir" which at 23 euros was a bargain! Starter of asparagus mousse, main course of sea bass and dessert was banana ice cream with grilled bananas. My companion chose from the a la carte menu and raved about the carpaccio of beef, lamb with pesto sauce and a large plate of local cheeses. The bottle of local wine was good and reasonably priced.
To think that we have lived here for 8 years and only just discovered this restaurant - what a shame! Still, we shall be returning!

Our tip: Always have a pre-dinner drink - then you get to taste the appetisers provided by the chef - an absolute delight to eat, and so inventive. Parmesan cheese lollies!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ReginaldFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelspruit
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“How to treat your tastebuds!!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our best meal in France so far Off the beaten track Recommend by our host at St Simon for a goodnight out The starters of duck and aubergine where great. Our main meals of entrecôte , duck and pork where presented fantastic and tasted as well. The deserts where of the highest quality A restaurant we would recommend

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ATTIEVANWYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gavroche also viewed

 

Been to Le Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing