We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best meal in Blaye”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Gavroche

Le Gavroche
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Blaye
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best meal in Blaye”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Where do I begin? - at the personal welcome of the chef (we were the first clients that evening) who pronounced our English name correctly (not something that happens often in France), and the smile of our server for the evening. The restaurant is small (probably a maximum of 28 covers) and the atmosphere calm and relaxing. I was glad that we had booked a table as at least 10+ potential clients were turned away, politely and regretfully, during the course of our meal.
The food was sensational. I chose the "menu du soir" which at 23 euros was a bargain! Starter of asparagus mousse, main course of sea bass and dessert was banana ice cream with grilled bananas. My companion chose from the a la carte menu and raved about the carpaccio of beef, lamb with pesto sauce and a large plate of local cheeses. The bottle of local wine was good and reasonably priced.
To think that we have lived here for 8 years and only just discovered this restaurant - what a shame! Still, we shall be returning!

Our tip: Always have a pre-dinner drink - then you get to taste the appetisers provided by the chef - an absolute delight to eat, and so inventive. Parmesan cheese lollies!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ReginaldFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    84
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nelspruit
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“How to treat your tastebuds!!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our best meal in France so far Off the beaten track Recommend by our host at St Simon for a goodnight out The starters of duck and aubergine where great. Our main meals of entrecôte , duck and pork where presented fantastic and tasted as well. The deserts where of the highest quality A restaurant we would recommend

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ATTIEVANWYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good food, but service less impressive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This restaurant in the centre of Blaye was recommended to us, but in the end, it disappointed. The food was mostly good - my pork fillet was tender and moist for example - but sometimes not well thought through. A foie gras starter for one would have comfortably served four or perhaps all six of us! The service was somewhat hit and miss. We were not told of the dishes on the menu which were not available until we tried to order them, only to be met with a rather curt ‘Non’. Getting a fresh set of glasses for our second bottle of wine was also something of a challenge. The wines were good, as they really should be in this area, but overall I would look for a different restaurant next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charente
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shhhhhush...... get in before they find out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

A 'sail flag' naming the restaurant was it, discreet yes.. popular no.....,or was it just a quiet Saturday night? It has about 30 covers and with only 5 customers all night of which we were 3 of them. Having said that, fantastic food especially the duck starter and Steak!! Great service, then again it had to be with 2 staff for 5 peeps. Fancy you may only get in there with a booking when the word gets out! We hope that the patron gets the support they deserve!!!! Can't really comment on the atmosphere, sorry.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank its4justice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Le Gavroche - Excellent and very good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fabulous food - we had the price fixe menu - which was excellent. Service was fabulous, and the food delicious! Don't miss it! They open at 7:30pm for dinner service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NoBadDaysinBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Gavroche also viewed

 

Been to Le Gavroche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing