We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Wonderful!!!!”
Review of Villa St. Simon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa St. Simon
Ranked #1 of 8 Blaye B&B and Inns
Kent
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“It's Wonderful!!!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Everything about our stay at this Villa was absolutely wonderful, and we are already trying to work out when we can go back. The hotel is offering a winter special at the moment and we can't recommend it enough. If you can, also take in one of Les' wine tours - This hotel and the wine trip that we took was the highlight of our 10 day trip to France.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    39
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
120
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We found Villa St Simon to be far more than your average bed and breakfast establishment. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms enchanting, and the Villa is ideally located whether you want simply to explore the Gironde/Medoc area (the Cardouan lighthouse well worth a visit) or to focus on learning about (and tasting!) the local wines. Above all, it is a fun place to stay - a particular highlight for us having been an international boules evening with our fellow guests. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balchnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Fantastic experience - the Villa is very clean and comfortable - even has shared cooking facilities. Not that you would need it - many resturants and bars within minutes on foot. The rooms are presented in a beautiful old french style. I would recommend this place to anyone. We loved it and will one day come back to Blaye (Center of Bordeaux wine country) especially to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroandTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Everything my wife and I were hoping for to cap off our honeymoon. We spent two of our final 5 days in Europe with Les and his partner in Blaye. The room was magnificent, the wine was exquisite and only surpassed by the hospitality. Les guided us around the beautiful vineyards of Blaye and gave insight to every vintage and label. We ended our six week tour of Europe happily in Blaye. Grateful that we didn't start our trip there due to concerns we wouldn't have left.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Directhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The Julien "suite" has 2 rooms, and ensuite facilities. But the bath room is only accessible through the second bedroom. (there is a door from the bathroom to the landing but you would have to leave this unlocked). The rooms are sparsely furnished with not even room for a bedside table in one of them. The curtains were half hanging off the pole. Some tiles in the loo were cracked and the handle of the loo was faulty. There aren't televisions in all the rooms as described.

Despite saying it is a bed and breakfast establishment, breakfast is extra with no mention of price on the website.

Security is deplorable. You have to leave your room key in the dining room at all times that you leave the place. This room which opens on to the street, is often unlocked. We returned one evening about 8:00 - we were able to enter and, the keys to other rooms were present but we had to ring by telephone to get ours. I don't think that anyone lives on the premises.

Despite having rooms on 3 floors, there no visible fire extinguishers, fire detectors, fire directions or signs.

Good points - plenty of towels, nice bed linen. Good, well-equipped kitchen if you want to self-cater. Bowl of fruit for residents. Hosts are very friendly. But remember they are selling wine tours up to E165 for a day's tour. Nightly house tastings of at least 3 wines is E25.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VJSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankdm, Owner at Villa St. Simon, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
These guests confirm how discreet our security is so they can enjoy the ambience to the full, and obviously did not notice the CCTV cameras covering the building. The owners live in the adjacent apartment. In eight years there has never been a single item of any guest missing in the Villa,and Blaye is one of the safest and most tranquil places in an increasingly frenetic world, hence the popularity of the Villa. Most of our guests don’t lock their room doors.

A comparison of wine tour prices will show ours as being the most reasonable of any in the area by a huge margin, ours start at E48, and a cursory glance at our visitors book would assure anyone of the appreciation of the value of our wine experience.

There are televisions in every room, but Julian is a suite of two rooms and only has a television in one of them.

We plead guilty to the curtains sometimes hooks come off when guests close these, but we normally replace immediately.

Many guests have enjoyed the Julian suite with their family and the door can be accessed with a key from the outside, which has never been a problem.

This guest’s description of the room is at odds with all other guests who have found the room charming but beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

We appreciate this guest taking the time to write in any event, and for the positive comments too.
Les Kellen - Proprietor Villa St Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

When Googling "Bordeaux B & B's", Villa St. Simon was among the first to pop up. I'd never been or heard of it but their reviews were glowing so I booked a couple of nights for mine and my husband's honeymoon in June of 2010. We arrived extremely late to check-in at the villa. As a native Southern Californian, I assumed there would be someone at reception 24/7. That was dumb. Thankfully, the owner's daughter was visiting at the time and let us in. She called her father, Les, the proprietor, came from next door to let us into our room. Immediately, he made us feel right at home and even said we were welcome to help ourselves to juice or a snack in the fridge if we liked.

The room was nothing less than exquisite and just what our hungry eyes wanted to feast on - cream and golden tipped crown moldings, lush, hardwood flooring, regally curtained French doors and beautiful golden European mirrors and marble topped night stands. And the bed...an idyllic burgundy headboard/foot board masterpiece with crisp, fluffy pillows and a comfy blanket nestled in between. Oh, almost forgot about the armoire, a huge mirrored thing that my husband called the 'Narnia closet', totally whimsical and awesome (sorry, the California girl in me's coming out)!

Ok, on to the rest of the trip. We went for wine, of course, and wine we got! Our stay in Blaye was only two days but we were able to try some of the best wines in the region. Julien, a witty, British chap helping Les at the B & B, recommended two wines from the villa's cellars; a Chateaux Cantinot Bordeaux and a Henry Natter Sancere white wine. I'm not a big fan of white wines, which is why I asked for a good white. It was perfect; buttery, soft and smooth. I can be converted yet!

On our second day in Blaye, Les took myself, my husband and a few other villa guests to two winery/vineyards, or chateaus. First stop was Chateau Rouselle, a charming stone-bricked winery, there Les educated us on French grape growing and wine barrels. We sampled some of the wine there too, as a casual wine drinker, it was wonderful to be in the company of a knowledgeable wine connoisseur and actually learn a bit about wine, rather than just drink it. Next stop was Chateau Cantinot, our favorite. The owner was this wiry, old French guy with dogs running amok on the chateau, and lovely flower gardens all over, awesome! I highly recommend the 2009 Bordeaux if you can get your hands on it. In the States, the bottles are too overpriced to get them shipped there, but they ran at about 15 euros each when we purchased through the villa.

Meeting Les and Julien was a delight, and we're so glad we booked our stay at the villa...we visited three other countries and cities after this, but this was by far our favorite place! We'll be back...I just need to coax my hubby into a stay here for an upcoming anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay El C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This B&B is characterful and nicely decorated if a little bit fraying at the edges. There are nice touches like a kitchen which guests can use. Our room was spacious and the beds comfy but the shower room was tiny. (We saw another room which had a bigger bathroom.) the location is great - just along from the citadel. We didn't make use of the wine expertise / wine tours which I suspect is its real strength and what draws other English-speaking guests and that's probably why I don't feel as enthusiastic about it as other reviewers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSarah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaye
0.3 mi away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
0.1 mi away
Villa Premayac
Villa Premayac
#4 of 4 in Blaye
41 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
624 reviews
19.9 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
858 reviews
14.8 mi away
Chateau Grattequina
Chateau Grattequina
#1 of 2 in Blanquefort
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa St. Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St. Simon

Property: Villa St. Simon
Address: 8 cours du General de Gaulle, 33390, Blaye, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Blaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa St Simon - Your home from home in Bordeaux. Villa St Simon in Bordeaux offers charming period furnished rooms and modern equipped self-catering apartments. The 1860 villa is an ideal base for your guided or self-explored wine tours in the Bordeaux region and a great place for a relaxing holiday. Blaye is in the heart of the Côtes de Blaye and Côtes de Bourg winelands and only a 20min ferry trip away from the Medoc with its famous first growths and a 40min drive away from the City of Bordeaux and St Emilion. The Citadel, UNESCO World Heritage site, traditional French cuisine, and great wines of the region will make your stay with us a unique and memorable experience - that should not be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Villa St. Simon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing