We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - Friendly welcome”
Review of Villa St. Simon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa St. Simon
Ranked #2 of 8 Blaye B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Friendly welcome”
Reviewed December 2, 2009

I'm a bit late writing this. What a lovely town and to top it off a lovely welcome. Les just welcomes you with open arms. He will crack open the wine for you and teach you about wine if you want to or not. I think the house keeper was Michelle was was also very welcome, funny and warm. All the rooms were big and the most nicest bed I've ever slept in France. The Villa was like a step back in time and was a lovely atmosphere. We were offered free food and to eat with the host and other guests. The breakfast was set up in a traditional and beautiful way - I would diffinatly recommend this hotel. We were also taken out to vineyards and it was great to see how it was made.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t00ls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    39
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
120
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level 6 Contributor
815 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

12 days of magic in my favourite wine region in this world. Les, our host arranged for us to visit some of the area's best and famous Chateaux. he was generous with his time and shared his expertise of the region. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. I enjoyed the complimentary Wireless broadband and cable TV. Breakfast was great: fresh croissants and finest tea/coffee... I am a wine tour guide and B + B operator from Hawkes Bay, New Zealand and can't express how much I enjoyed our stay at Villa St Simon. (I am a tough critic, as that's what I do, in opposite season downunder, of course). I will return as soon as I can, and hope to one day host him in NZ to return the compliments.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

House was restored sometime in fairly recent past. Host Julian is a truly delightful host and full of interesting stories and humor. Our confirmed reservation was unfortunately not honored for our room of preference and we had to accept a less desirable room but at the same rate so that was a blemish on our stay. Town of Blaye is small with a few distractions. Had dinner a few doors down at L'Auberge de Porche which was excellent.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmefoiegras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Stumbled across this B&B by chance, best piece of luck we have ever had. Les is a fantastic character with a personality that you immediately fall in love with and Julian , his right hand man is the same.This is not a hotel or B&B it is a home from home where you will feel part of the family and find it hard to leave.We had to stay one more night than we should have, would go back tomorrow.Alan and Donna

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alandon1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We booked to stay for three nights in Villa St Simon. On arrival we were welcomed by Julien who made us very welcome, explained some of the local sights and amenities and advised us that there would be a visit to a Vineyard that evening which we could attend.
All was going well until we saw our room. The room was one of the dirtiest hotel/ B&B rooms that I can ever remember seeing. There was a soiled duvet (without cover) folded on the end of the bed, a thick accumulation of dust on the mattress, a filthy rug in the corner of the room and a bar of soap in the shower covered in hairs. The bathroom light was not working and the bed sloped to such an extent that it was necessary to sleep with our heads at the foot end of it! There was also an overpowering smell of air freshener, the reason for which became apparent when we returned from the vineyard trip to find that the smell of frying food from the communal kitchen on the floor below had completely permeated the room. The website advertises cable TV in the rooms, however, our television only seemed to be showing the standard French terrestrial channels.
As it was too late to arrange alternative accomodation we agreed to stay the one night. After a terrible night's sleep, punctuated by the clearly audible noise of other guests using the toilets, we packed our bags and left before breakfast.
The owner was sympathetic to our complaint and expressed displeasure that the room should have been given to us in this condition. After we declined the offer of another room he did not charge us for the night's accomodation.
In summary: service was very welcoming, accomodation was appalling

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinetouristIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankdm, Proprietor at Villa St. Simon, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
It is hard to believe that this guest stayed at the same Villa St Simon that is adored by so many. But it is true and also true that a housekeeping blunder caused the guests to occupy an unserviced room.

For reasons unknown they only brought this to management attention the following morning - by which time their unhappiness had escalated beyond redemption.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico d.f.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Although we did not stay in the main building, but at a house just behind that villa simon arranged for us we did have the opportunity to have a look around and the place is truly amazing!

Thank you villa Simon for all your help during the days we kids stayed at Blaye with no car and no knowledge of what to do. I would never say that sleeping at the "Pigeon Castle" was especially comfortable, but it was the coolest, most affordable and adventurous place we found during our trip.

Good luck in the future with the renovations, we look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miniskida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Not knowing what to expect we arrived and were instantly impressed. A lovely, old, traditional French town house converted into a fabulous guest house. We booked early so had the choice of rooms (we chose Rouselle) and the images on the website are representative so we had a good idea of what they might look like in advance. Our room was much more impressive in real life however, original features such as the plaster coving, fireplace, high ceiling and lots of space.

Blaye is central to the region with easy access to the Medoc and St Emillion (worth a day trip). There's a port 2 minutes from the guest house from which you can take the ferry over to the Medoc side and back.

The owner of the guest house is Les and we're yet to meet a better host. Les provided advice on the wine, the local Chateaux, vineyards etc and spent the entire week bending over backwards to help his guests. He is generous, well traveled, educated and good fun as well as having other strings to his bow that you will have to visit to find out about.

We will return next year for a few days to stock up on some terrific Bordeaux and see Les again, meantime we would recommend this as a place to stay in the region where the very best of wines can be sampled whilst enjoying the very best, laid-back hospitality. An absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaye
0.3 mi away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
0.1 mi away
Villa Premayac
Villa Premayac
#4 of 4 in Blaye
42 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
632 reviews
19.9 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clos Reaud de la Citadelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa St. Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St. Simon

Property: Villa St. Simon
Address: 8 cours du General de Gaulle, 33390, Blaye, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Blaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa St Simon - Your home from home in Bordeaux. Villa St Simon in Bordeaux offers charming period furnished rooms and modern equipped self-catering apartments. The 1860 villa is an ideal base for your guided or self-explored wine tours in the Bordeaux region and a great place for a relaxing holiday. Blaye is in the heart of the Côtes de Blaye and Côtes de Bourg winelands and only a 20min ferry trip away from the Medoc with its famous first growths and a 40min drive away from the City of Bordeaux and St Emilion. The Citadel, UNESCO World Heritage site, traditional French cuisine, and great wines of the region will make your stay with us a unique and memorable experience - that should not be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa St. Simon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing