We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection from the Aussies!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa St. Simon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa St. Simon
Ranked #1 of 8 Blaye B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection from the Aussies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

It's pretty simple......book here! 3 of us Aussie females stayed in the 3 bdr apt next door to the villa house which was spacious, comfortable and completely self contained. We also had a sneak peak at every room in the B&B next door and every single room is divine. You cannot make a wrong choice. The B&B villa has it's own dining room, laundry, kitchen with basic food essentials, games room & dvds and the best part, wine de-bunking and tasting below! You can even select wine from their collection 24hrs. Heaven. Besides the fabulous accommodation, it's extremely close to Bordeaux and the quaint town of St. Emillion- a must see in which you can receive a private tour from one of Villa St. Simon's hosts. Speaking of the hosts Les, Clarissa and Jules, they are wonderful and warm, so generous in offering their assistance, time, wine, hospitality and laughs.
Don't look any further than here!
Enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms in the B&B are divine. I stayed in the 3 bdr apt next door which is also owned by Vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    39
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
120
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

What a wonderfully quirky place! Travelled here with friends for a surprise 50th birthday treat in early June. Despite a few hiccups, due to the owners being away that weekend, it was wonderful. Julian did a stirling job considering he wasn't aware he was meant to be picking us up or taking us on a wine tour!!! That said, he is definitely a man who knows his wine and he put on an excellent wine tasting evening, and then a tour of the vineyards, without making you feel like you should only like the £60 bottle! If it costs £2 and you like it then that's the wine for you! We stayed in the attached apartment, which was ideal for six although double beds would have been nicer! Loved the trusting nature of the owners who allow you to help yourself to wine and pay up at the end. Without transport of our own a weekend in Blaye was enough as not a lot to see there, but would highly recommend Villa St Simon as a base to explore further.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at Villa St.Simon for one night at the end of June. We were driving home from Spain.
The welcome we received from Clarissa after such a long drive was lovely. We immediately felt at home and relaxed. She gave us a quick overview of the town and booked a table at a local restaurant for us. We enjoyed our stay very much in Blaye, but just wished we could have stayed longer. Thanks Clarissa our stay was perfect!!!

Room Tip: Any room would be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmy53London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
296 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at the villa a couple of weeks ago for four nights. The staff was very helpful, Clarisse, Les and Jules. The two tours that we participated in to St Emillion and to Sauterne were worth every penny and gave us access to areas where the tourists do not go. Jules was knowledgeable and funny, Les was informative and attentive as well as Clarisse, who took care of our laundry and needs as well. The Cone room is very good, with air conditioning, where we stayed the first two nights, and then moved to another room on the first floor next to a kitchen area. This room did not have air conditioning but had a good fan that helped. The bed was very comfortable in both rooms. The villa has no elevator, so if you have big and heavy luggage like we did, it was an effort, especially to the Cone room on the top floor. The town is nice and quiet.

Room Tip: If you travel in the summer, choose the Cone room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HectorFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The plan was to use Villa St Simon as a base to discover the Bordeaux wine festival. But we arrived and the welcome was so great and felt totally at home at Les and Clarissa's fantastic property. the decor is lovely and the comfort of the rooms is excellent, the breakfast is first class but the welcome and friendliness of the hosts is what makes this place stand out alone. In the end we stayed in and around Blaye and the little wine festival in the town, drank some superb wines, used the lovely local restaurants recommended by L & C and never made it to Bordeaux! A brilliant weekend. We will be back.

Room Tip: All are individual, had a peek in most and would have stayed happily in all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MG_Eclipse_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

A nice B&B in good location. We arrived early but were accommodated by the maid, who called Clarrissa for us on the phone, & we got settled in OK.

The Rouselle room was nice on the 1st floor having the entire balcony. The toilet unfortunately broke whilst we were there, but I managed to fix it.

Clarrissa was helpful in directing us to the only restaraunt open in town that night, and we even took some wine from her cellar to the restaraunt!

Overall it makes for a nice overnight in the Bordeaux region.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulrampling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Thanks once again for a wonderful stay at Villa St Simon, your B&B was relaxing and very comfortable. It was my first B&B stay but I will definitely do it again! You were the perfect hosts. The caves at Bourg were a special treat. The walk around the citadel and dinner at Petit Pont was a great way to finish a day. Spending the day at St Emilion seeing the under ground church. I was a real treat eating macarons and drinking cremont at Les cordeliers. We’ve told many people about our time in Blaye and Villa St Simon, perhaps we can return one day for a longer stay. We realised there was a lot more to see and do, but we didn’t have the time.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters what room you have we had the Rouselle suite it was absolutely lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaye
0.3 mi away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
0.1 mi away
Villa Premayac
Villa Premayac
#4 of 4 in Blaye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Closerie des Vignes
La Closerie des Vignes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Ciers-De-Canesse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Maison De Jean
La Maison De Jean
#1 of 1 in Saint-Androny
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa St. Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St. Simon

Property: Villa St. Simon
Address: 8 cours du General de Gaulle, 33390, Blaye, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Blaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa St Simon - Your home from home in Bordeaux. Villa St Simon in Bordeaux offers charming period furnished rooms and modern equipped self-catering apartments. The 1860 villa is an ideal base for your guided or self-explored wine tours in the Bordeaux region and a great place for a relaxing holiday. Blaye is in the heart of the Côtes de Blaye and Côtes de Bourg winelands and only a 20min ferry trip away from the Medoc with its famous first growths and a 40min drive away from the City of Bordeaux and St Emilion. The Citadel, UNESCO World Heritage site, traditional French cuisine, and great wines of the region will make your stay with us a unique and memorable experience - that should not be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Villa St. Simon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing