We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will try another hotel next time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“will try another hotel next time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was our second stay at this Holiday Inn. It was average, at best, for the price. ($108) Check in was rushed. Didn't feel like a valued guest at all. The girl at the desk was polite but not really friendly. Our reservation was for a king, but we got two queens. Parking postivietly sucks. Had to park down a hill and walk up with all our luggage. No door person to help, or no cart available. I'd hate to have to walk up from the parking lot after dark. Took awhile to get seated for dinner, although they didn't seem that busy. Dirty tables surrounded the table we were finally seated at, and they stayed dirty for the duration of our dinner. The only good thing about the dinner was the waitress. Very friendly and efficient. If we go through Muskegon again, we'll try a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    91
    76
    44
    34
See reviews for
120
61
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

Even though the staff was overtaxed because of an influx of guests due to a power outage in Muskegon,we found them very helpful, friendly, and efficient. This well-located hotel is lovely and the beds are very comfortable. We had a great meal in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kay031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

We make this trip every year by the Ferry. Last year we stayed at a different hotel and had a bad experience. This year our trip was FANTASTIC. We are in our 70's and have special needs. They let us check in early and made sure we had a refrigator for medication. The manager the morning we checked in was outstanding. She made sure our stay was comfortable. We will stay there again next year if the Lord allows us to make the trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeniorTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We had to drive thru a bad part of town to get to the hotel. And the hotel is located in a deserted downtown where there aren't any other activities or restaurants close.

There weren't enough swimming towels available and after four calls and a trip to the front desk (dripping wet), we were still left stranded without towels for over an hour. Other guests also attempted to get them from the staff and couldn't. The front desk worker said that the manager doesn't listen to her when she says that they need to purchase more (housekeeping was washing and drying them as they were being requested by guests.)

Before taking a shower, you have to wait at least 5 minutes for the water to warm up. The toilet backed up (with normal operation-nothing excessive was put into the toilet) and we received a quick response from the housekeeping staff to clean it up.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HapaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Pros:
Nice lobby. Spacious rooms. Comfortable bed. Clean room and bath. Wi-fi.

Cons:
Jennifer at the front desk gave bad advice for a breakfast place. Made me walk 12 blocks instead of 4. Jennifer wouldn't allow a 11:30AM late checkout. One room could do it, but not the other??? Room furniture dated. TV old.

Additional: Go to Carmen's Diner at 1st & Clay for breakfast. Don't think that staying at this "downtown" hotel means you will be near restaurants. Not so... The downtown is under renovation, but not done yet. Got a long way to go. Go the "Dockers" restaurant for lunch or supper. About a 15 minute drive, but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawg0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWhitney, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
We clearly missed our mark having you walk so far for breakfast. We are replacing the TV's in all our guest rooms soon. We are pleased that you enjoyed our lobby, rooms and new beds. We did just renovate our hotel and the downtown is on it's way to being completed as well. Please feel free to contact us directly so we can try to make this up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

The staff was friendly. Overall appearance was attractive and clean.
I called ahead to request a non-smoking room.
Once we settled in for the night,it was clear we had a smokers room, and were next door to other smokers,because the smell seeped into our room through the AC and ventilation. There were also ashtrays placed through out the room.
All of our clothing and luggage wreaked of cigarette smoke and my asthma kicked up,which seldom happens anymore.
We arrived late the first night and were out most of the next day so we did not complain or request to be moved but we did'nt feel satisfied with the room.
The TV remote had inconsistent volume control. Too low on one channel and then blasting really loud when we changed channels.
HBO came in with static like a TV with bad antenna reception.
WIFI was difficult to connect despite having a high end Mac laptop.
When I was able to get connected,I kept getting dropped,so finally gave up.
The pool was also disappointing. Among our main reason criteria for selecting a hotel for this trip was to have a pool for my daughter. The water was cloudy enough that we could'nt see under water. The whirlpool water looked about the same and was unpleasant to soak in, because it seemed to be under-filled considerably,maybe by half.
I have stayed at economy motels that had far better amenities and quality.
Had I known this is what I would be paying for I would have chosen one of the economy options that were available.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumrocz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWhitney, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
We strive for guest satisfaction and would like the opportunity to speak with you directly. You can call the front desk and ask for the Front Desk Manager. We gladly welcome your feedback and comments. This helps us improve our guest/customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

the pool was closed during our stay. We only planned a one night stay there and we are so glad we did. Our kids would have been disappointed if we were there during all of our trip and the pool was closed. We stayed at Michigan adventure longer since we could not swim at the hotel.
The hotel itself was nice. Everything looked fairly new and our room was nice and clean. The only negative things I would have to say are that we had little spiders hanging on the curtains in our room and our bathroom sink was clogged. We are not super picky so both of those things did not matter too much to us.
The beds were comfy and we had more than enough pillows and towels.
We signed up for the rewards program and we got 2 free breakfast coupons which we did not get to use since we overslept.
Our one night stay was ok but could have been better if the pool had been open. I found it disappointing that we were not made aware of that ahead of time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilmushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWhitney, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, July 24, 2009
First, I would like to thank you for your feedback. Second, I would like to apologize for the pool being closed. It was an unexpected repair that needed to be made that day. You probably made your reservation before we posted it on our website and other booking channels as well as at check in. The hotel/ pool were just remodeled along with new beds, bedding and amenities. We hope you come back to Muskegon and get a chance to enjoy the pool next time. I did forward your review to the housekeeping & maintenance departments. Last, but definitely not least, CONGRATULATIONS on becoming a priority club member. You will enjoy the rewards especially the free breakfast! Please contact our Front Desk Manager so we can try to make this up to you by awarding you some priority club points. We value our guests and the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
0.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#8 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muskegon

Property: Holiday Inn Muskegon
Address: 939 3rd St, Muskegon, MI 49440-1136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Muskegon 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor!We are the only full service hotel in Muskegon, MI located within the revitalized downtown district the ideal location for both the business and leisure traveler.Perfect for the business traveler, we offer free wireless Internet throughout the hotel as well as in our guest rooms. Additional amenities include 24 hour business center, dry cleaning, free parking in our covered garage and a full fitness facility. We are conveniently located within a few miles of several area businesses. Priority Club Member? We offer PC point members complimentary breakfast Mon Fri.Looking for the perfect summer getaway? We are located within a few miles of the beautiful Lake Michigan beaches. Have some fun in the sun and return to the hotel for a relaxing experience in our indoor heated pool, saunas and whirlpool located within our state of the art Fitness Facility. Looking for additional entertainment? Located a few miles from the hotel is Michigan Adventure, Lake Express Ferry, Port City Princess, and several majestic Lake Michigan lighthouses. Walking distance you will find the Frauenthal Muskegon Theater, Christian Music Festival, Muskegon bike time, Muskegon Lumberjacks and Muskegon Summer Celebration .Join us Mon Fri at the Harbor Steakhouse from 4-7PM for our happy hour. Fri & Sat we offer live entertainment.An adventure awaits you at the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor, come visit us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing