We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Nearby Hotels
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores(Muskegon)(Great Value!)
$114
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belaire Motel(Muskegon)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaway Motel(Muskegon)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
101
106
79
48
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
106
79
48
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomstreet grillrestaurant staffkids eat freewould stay here againclean roomsnice restaurantlake michiganfamily vacationgrand rapidsthermostatbreweryarena
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 369 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Pros:
Nice lobby. Spacious rooms. Comfortable bed. Clean room and bath. Wi-fi.

Cons:
Jennifer at the front desk gave bad advice for a breakfast place. Made me walk 12 blocks instead of 4. Jennifer wouldn't allow a 11:30AM late checkout. One room could do it, but not the other??? Room furniture dated. TV old.

Additional: Go to Carmen's Diner at 1st & Clay for breakfast. Don't think that staying at this "downtown" hotel means you will be near restaurants. Not so... The downtown is under renovation, but not done yet. Got a long way to go. Go the "Dockers" restaurant for lunch or supper. About a 15 minute drive, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawg0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWhitney, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2009

We clearly missed our mark having you walk so far for breakfast. We are replacing the TV's in all our guest rooms soon. We are pleased that you enjoyed our lobby, rooms and new beds. We did just renovate our hotel and the downtown is on it's way to being completed as well. Please feel free to contact us directly so we can try to make this up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

The staff was friendly. Overall appearance was attractive and clean.
I called ahead to request a non-smoking room.
Once we settled in for the night,it was clear we had a smokers room, and were next door to other smokers,because the smell seeped into our room through the AC and ventilation. There were also ashtrays placed through out the room.
All of our clothing and luggage wreaked of cigarette smoke and my asthma kicked up,which seldom happens anymore.
We arrived late the first night and were out most of the next day so we did not complain or request to be moved but we did'nt feel satisfied with the room.
The TV remote had inconsistent volume control. Too low on one channel and then blasting really loud when we changed channels.
HBO came in with static like a TV with bad antenna reception.
WIFI was difficult to connect despite having a high end Mac laptop.
When I was able to get connected,I kept getting dropped,so finally gave up.
The pool was also disappointing. Among our main reason criteria for selecting a hotel for this trip was to have a pool for my daughter. The water was cloudy enough that we could'nt see under water. The whirlpool water looked about the same and was unpleasant to soak in, because it seemed to be under-filled considerably,maybe by half.
I have stayed at economy motels that had far better amenities and quality.
Had I known this is what I would be paying for I would have chosen one of the economy options that were available.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumrocz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWhitney, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2009

We strive for guest satisfaction and would like the opportunity to speak with you directly. You can call the front desk and ask for the Front Desk Manager. We gladly welcome your feedback and comments. This helps us improve our guest/customer satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

the pool was closed during our stay. We only planned a one night stay there and we are so glad we did. Our kids would have been disappointed if we were there during all of our trip and the pool was closed. We stayed at Michigan adventure longer since we could not swim at the hotel.
The hotel itself was nice. Everything looked fairly new and our room was nice and clean. The only negative things I would have to say are that we had little spiders hanging on the curtains in our room and our bathroom sink was clogged. We are not super picky so both of those things did not matter too much to us.
The beds were comfy and we had more than enough pillows and towels.
We signed up for the rewards program and we got 2 free breakfast coupons which we did not get to use since we overslept.
Our one night stay was ok but could have been better if the pool had been open. I found it disappointing that we were not made aware of that ahead of time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilmushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWhitney, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2009

First, I would like to thank you for your feedback. Second, I would like to apologize for the pool being closed. It was an unexpected repair that needed to be made that day. You probably made your reservation before we posted it on our website and other booking channels as well as at check in. The hotel/ pool were just remodeled along with new beds, bedding and amenities. We hope you come back to Muskegon and get a chance to enjoy the pool next time. I did forward your review to the housekeeping & maintenance departments. Last, but definitely not least, CONGRATULATIONS on becoming a priority club member. You will enjoy the rewards especially the free breakfast! Please contact our Front Desk Manager so we can try to make this up to you by awarding you some priority club points. We value our guests and the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed 2 nights here for Bike Time 2009. The hotel is fabulous....clean, great beds, good food, over all everything was great. However during this huge convention of Bikers, the bar really went cheap on Saturday night by having the live entertainment as kareokee. The large group we came with, were really looking forward to kicking our heels up on the dance floor. Hopefully next year you hire a band or we will be going else where.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackhawkMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWhitney, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2009

Thanks for saying our hotel is a "fabulous place to stay". It is an especially great place during Bike Time. We are the HOST hotel and hiring a band instead of Karaoke is a great idea. Do you have any suggestions on what bands would be good to hire during Bike Time? Please contact the hotel directly with any suggestions. See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed here in 3 rooms for the Summer Festival concerts (Joan Jett was great) and thought the hotel was great. Beds were wonderful, very clean, nice staff, good restaurant, nice location to walk around.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
Thank shepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWhitney, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2009

THANKS for visiting us here at the Holiday Inn-Muskegon Harbor. The downtown location is an amazing place for the summer festivals. They are always a crowd pleaser. I was also pleased to have someone comment on our new pillow top mattresses and bedding. We are a recently remodeled hotel and appreciate you taking the time to comment about how nice our staff is and how they are keeping it so clean. We hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews