We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We booked this room as a last minute getaway. My daughters ages 6 and 8 were so excited about the pool. When I checked in there was a sign that said "pool under construction of next 2 weeks" UGH! I thought we'd check out our room and see if it was worth staying even without a pool. The answer was a for sure "NO". Very standard. We called the Hampton Inn from the Holiday Inn room and made a reservation, gathered our things and left. If you are trying to decide between Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn, go with Hampton, It was fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojomagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2009

I sincerely apologize that the pool was closed for repairs during your attempt to stay with us. We strive to ensure each guest’s stay is memorable in quality and service but during your time with us, we clearly missed our mark. We appreciate your feedback and if time allows, I would like to extend an invitation for you to contact me directly to further discuss your experience.

B. Whitney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 368 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2009

Jim the Gas Man.
I have spent many nights at this Holiday Inn Muskegon. I have never been disappointed! the staff is first class and they know your name and what it is what you like! I walk in, they know my name, what I like to eat and drink. That means a lot to a person who has to spend time away from his family. Buffy, Nikkita, Jessica, and Nicole make me feel as if I were home with my family. to sum it all up... First class!!! I love it coming here and spending time with the staff.... Jim The Gas Man!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigjaemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

From the moment I checked in, I felt that the employees were happy to have me there. I was told that there were some renovations going on, but that it would not affect my stay with them, and it sure didn't. The room that I stayed in was newly renovated, it felt like I was the first person to stay in that room. What a great feeling. The location was fantastic. It was very close to resturants, and the company that I was in town to work with. The lounge and restaurant had very friendly staff and the food was delicious as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and will definetly be staying here again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JewelsChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2009

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review describing your stay with us. We realize that you have many hotel options in the Muskegon area and we truly appreciate your patronage. Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
B. Whitney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

This hotel is the worst. They do not care about their guests. The front desk people were very rude from the time I checked in and beyond. There was a band in the bar which was quite loud and the bar happened to be directly below our room. You would have thought that the band was in the room with us. I called the front desk and the person told me "Oh well" when I said the music was keeping my kids awake. I called the front desk at 1:30 in the morning when the music was still going strong and was told it was the restaurants responsibility. It finished around 2:00 am. Lets just say a night with no sleep does not make a happy family the next day. I spoke to the manager later she told me she would look into the matter and get back to me but she never did. I have stayed in Muskegon before but this was the first time at this hotel. It will definitely be the last. Find another place to stay, You will be glad you did..

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Muskegon Michigan. The hotel was clean and the front desk clerk was pleasant and efficient. However, the hotel did not have a welcoming and caring atmosphere. I would look elsewhere if I needed to come back to Muskegon. We were not made aware that the pool and "spa" area were closed. Another guest told us it was also closed the last time they were there. The workout room felt creepy and unsafe for a women to use alone. The guest room had few guest amenities, one complementary water bottle, when the sign clearly said, "enjoy two complementary water bottles", only generic shampoo and lotion and bar soap in the bathroom, no tissue in the dispenser, no cream and sugar for the coffee and only one tea bag. The room displayed a complete lack of caring about the comforts of the guest.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Maryg117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Decent place to stay if you are headed to one of the many festivals at Heritage Landing that Muskegon has to offer during the year.

The good: Staff was great, very pleasant. Hotel itself was very clean - no complaints. Our room was on the 7th floor (had a nice view), very spacious, comfortable, and clean. Bathroom shower had good water pressure (plus in my book). Location great for us - went to the Irish Music Festival - about a 5 block walk to Heritage Landing. Hotel also had a pub with live Irish music later in the evening (which was great) and the bar staff had great service, very friendly even though the place was packed!

Neutral: The tv only had several stations coming in - think this was due to all of the bad weather and their satellite dishes not working (or they just need updating). Pillows could have used a wee-bit more fluff.

Negative: Only bad thing our bathroom sink need some Drain-O! Very slow draining - if you are the maid how could you miss this?

Overall: Had a very nice experience here, great staff - especially considering the place was sold out, and all of the rainy weather. Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starchild101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

This hotel is overpriced compared to what is available in this price range and it does not include breakfast.

The receptionist was unfriendly to the point of being rude. She made us feel rather unwelcome and as if she was doing us a tremendously big favour taking our money.

The bedroom was untidy. The beds were made, but it looked as if someone had sat on them. The towels in the bathroom had falled off the rack some were lying in the bath, some on the floor. The ceiling above the bath is rotting and the metal strutts are covered with red rust. The wallpaper is peeling.

The swimmingpool and hot tub are very old, the hot tub was broken. The pool has painted boards on the edge, these boards are peeling paint.

I will not stay here again and would not recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Safrikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
0.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
392 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Muskegon
221 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muskegon

Address: 939 3rd St, Muskegon, MI 49440-1136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range: $99 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Muskegon 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor!We are the only full service hotel in Muskegon, MI located within the revitalized downtown district the ideal location for both the business and leisure traveler.Perfect for the business traveler, we offer free wireless Internet throughout the hotel as well as in our guest rooms. Additional amenities include 24 hour business center, dry cleaning, free parking in our covered garage and a full fitness facility. We are conveniently located within a few miles of several area businesses. Priority Club Member? We offer PC point members complimentary breakfast Mon Fri.Looking for the perfect summer getaway? We are located within a few miles of the beautiful Lake Michigan beaches. Have some fun in the sun and return to the hotel for a relaxing experience in our indoor heated pool, saunas and whirlpool located within our state of the art Fitness Facility. Looking for additional entertainment? Located a few miles from the hotel is Michigan Adventure, Lake Express Ferry, Port City Princess, and several majestic Lake Michigan lighthouses. Walking distance you will find the Frauenthal Muskegon Theater, Christian Music Festival, Muskegon bike time, Muskegon Lumberjacks and Muskegon Summer Celebration .Join us Mon Fri at the Harbor Steakhouse from 4-7PM for our happy hour. Fri & Sat we offer live entertainment.An adventure awaits you at the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor, come visit us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing