We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hotel Performance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Reviewed March 25, 2014

You get a solid Holiday Inn. Stayed in the winter so it was quiet The staff was helpful and courteous. Not a great deal to say. The restaurant had a nice menu with a good variety. Underground parking is helpful in cold weather.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burgess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Burgess H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. It's great to hear your positive feedback regarding our hotel staff, restaurant menu and parking facility. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Muskegon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 363 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Response from Karen C when a reviewer stated lack of hot water for a shower: "we apologize for your disappointment with your room accommodation and the hot water." Really? They will not get my business.

Room Tip: If management chooses to respond to complaints do so in a tailored response, and for goodness sake t...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
3  Thank REW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear REW75,

Thank you for your feedback. We take comments such as these very seriously and your comments will help us target opportunity areas. We have sent you a private message addressing your concerns.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Let me first say our daughters wedding was beautiful and our 2 night stay at the Holiday Inn was fine too. It was the months in advance of dealing with this hotel that was the problem. We reserved a block of rooms 9 months in advance to avoid any problems. Who would have thought it could have been so difficult to reserve rooms. Part of the problem was the hotel was sold half way into the 9 months. The first per room rate we were offered was $20 off the regular room rate. I was happy with that but after the hotel changed hands the discounted room rate became the regular room rate. I thought they would adjust our price but they said we had a contract and that is the price. I was a bit embarrassed since we printed hotel info in the invitation and now the price was cheaper than quoted. We told our wedding guest to forgo the block of rooms and just book directly with the hotel and it would be cheaper. I made several trips to the hotel checking on things to make sure all was moving along ok. The Director of Sales/ Guest Manager was so rude to us and to our future in laws. I stopped once 2 weeks before the wedding and she wouldn't even come out of her office and speak to me. She sent someone else out to talk to me, I found her to be totally unprofessional. We had 400 out of town guest invited and you would have thought she would be able to give us the time of day. I would have suggested for all our guest to book rooms at the nearby Shoreline Inn (now owned by the same people) had it not already been printed in our invites. Upon arrival we were greeted by the sweetest manager who did everything she could to make our stay comfortable. So our stay was fine it was just all the stuff before that made it so bad.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marla2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear marla2911,

Thank you for your review about your stay. It is truly unfortunate to see that you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take comments such as these very seriously and your feedback will help us target opportunity areas. We have sent you a private message addressing your concerns. We hope that you will give us a chance and allow us to redeem your faith in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I booked a room at the Holiday Inn Muskegon through the Holiday Inn 1-800 number. We requested a King, only two queens rooms were left.
The room itself was very nice, nice view over the water, well furnished, everything in order and clean.
However, the hotel knew they had a Bowling tournament booked, hockey fans booked, a family reunion, and many families from skiing and others enjoying the frozen Lake Michigan scenery.
They were UNDERSTAFFED, and the front desk services were over worked and seemed in miserable moods. The wait staff in the bar could NOT handle the crowds, and wait time for a simple beer and burger was about an hour. The beer alone took almost 20 minutes! We we were served WITHOUT silverware. When we asked if we could be given silver ware the waiter seemed puzzled why no one else had given us any. We questioned WHO else would have? We had only seen him! He did attempt to correct the problem, however it was a little too late, to correct the real issue!
NOW, for the biggest problem! The elevators (there are two) however only ONE works.. Supposedly they were waiting for parts to be shipped. We were not informed of this when we checked in and were given a top floor. We spent many miserable minutes waiting for the elevator, and then HAVING to WAIT in line on the 8th floor to get on the elevator. The massive amount of people arriving and leaving at the same time made for an elevator jam. This was addressed and desk services said "Well, we have been waiting for parts". No amount of money was refunded or adjusted for everyone's time and misery.
Breakfast buffet was lacking, much of the food was cold, potatoes, eggs, french toast were empty, and took a long while to be replaced. Actually we waited another 22-25 minutes or so to be able to eat potatoes and french toast! The waitresses mad excuses , "The kitchen staff knows and it will be here shortly". 20-25 Minutes? That's not shortly!
The family reunion was a group of ill mannered individuals that felt passing gas in the ONLY elevator was not only appropriate but very humorous. So the educated guests had yet another problem on that elevator. By the way, sickness can be passed in this way,
The hotel manager, desk clerks, did not make any efforts to correct that problem either. Overall, the hotel furnishings and location was good. Before you book, make sure it's not a booked weekend, or you will be upset...

Room Tip: Higher floors seemed to have less children, but be careful of the elevator situation.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyliss B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Phyliss B,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the elevators. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel is very pretty and the staff is attentive, friendly, and helpful..the food was tasty and the wait staff attentive..right across street from the theatre..the bar area roomy...beautiful fireplace...rooms clean,,,beds very comfy...pool was fun.....

Room Tip: pool is on the second floor
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millerlittlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed with this hotel multiple time for my work, I had few issue with breakfast and front desk services. However, the Manager, Nicki, solved each of my problem by having meeting with her staff, and from next my experience was much better w/t any issues. Breakfast is excellent and rooms are super cleaned.

Plus, I love the location of this hotel, great places to eat around and the cute downtown for shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpatel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Staff at this hotel was friendly and attentive. I just ended up with not-so-great, noisy next door neighbors which is not the hotel's fault. Since I was only staying for 3 nights, I didn't see the point to complain and be moved to a different room. Pretty basic yet clean rooms. Check-in and out was easy and uneventful which is a plus.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank YKL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
0.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
5.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
52 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#9 of 12 in Muskegon
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muskegon

Address: 939 3rd St, Muskegon, MI 49440-1136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range: $99 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Muskegon 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor!We are the only full service hotel in Muskegon, MI located within the revitalized downtown district the ideal location for both the business and leisure traveler.Perfect for the business traveler, we offer free wireless Internet throughout the hotel as well as in our guest rooms. Additional amenities include 24 hour business center, dry cleaning, free parking in our covered garage and a full fitness facility. We are conveniently located within a few miles of several area businesses. Priority Club Member? We offer PC point members complimentary breakfast Mon Fri.Looking for the perfect summer getaway? We are located within a few miles of the beautiful Lake Michigan beaches. Have some fun in the sun and return to the hotel for a relaxing experience in our indoor heated pool, saunas and whirlpool located within our state of the art Fitness Facility. Looking for additional entertainment? Located a few miles from the hotel is Michigan Adventure, Lake Express Ferry, Port City Princess, and several majestic Lake Michigan lighthouses. Walking distance you will find the Frauenthal Muskegon Theater, Christian Music Festival, Muskegon bike time, Muskegon Lumberjacks and Muskegon Summer Celebration .Join us Mon Fri at the Harbor Steakhouse from 4-7PM for our happy hour. Fri & Sat we offer live entertainment.An adventure awaits you at the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor, come visit us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing