We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Booked it on a special through Priceline for $55.00 on a Saturday night. Nice location downtown near things to do and see. The hotel is a bit dated as others have said. The room came with an old air conditioner that had two settings,,, high and off. The drapes block the vent so you have to move the drapes to get the air to flow.

There is a pool, whirlpool, steam room and exercise room on the 2nd floor. All seemed to be in well kept condition but the pool is a little small and was packed.

Didn't get a chance to try out the restaurant but heard good things from others who stayed and ate there.

Room Tip: Move the drapes to allow the air to flow otherwise it will go straight up to the ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwudgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Jwudgy,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the swimming pool, whirlpool and the steam room.

However, We’re sorry about the air conditioning. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 366 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a King Suite for two nights with our infant sons. The lobby was much fancier than most Holiday Inn hotels because this was originally a Hilton. The bar and restaurant and very good and the hot breakfast included with the room is served in the restaurant - great service.

The room is dated, but clean and comfortable. The air conditioner is old and was a bit noisy, but nothing we couldn't sleep through.

There are several restaurants, a theater, and shops within walking distance in a cute, updated part of downtown. Just a few blocks away is the lake and a marina.

We were at the hotel as a group for a funeral and the hotel gave us a special bereavement rate and extended it through our entire stay. They were very helpful and easy going.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for a conference that was hosted at the hotel. Room was ok, but was a little dated on the inside. It did have a nice TV, but the bed was a little firmer than I would have liked. After we were there for a night, BOTH of our keycards were suddenly deactivated with no reason. Had to go down to the desk and deal with a very crabby employee to get them reactivated. She went as far as threatening to kick us off the property because I said that I was unhappy about having to waste my time running back to the desk to get them fixed. Very unprofessional. This issue combined with the experiences that others in our group had with their rooms would not make me want to come back here again. If I had to pay the whole price for the room without the discount for the conference, my rating would have been lower.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Justin R,

We greatly appreciate your feedback of our property. I deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the key cards and level of service received from our staff during your stay. Please be assured that we treat this matter seriously and actions will be taken by the team accordingly. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I spent 2 nights in the Holiday Inn in Muskegon and had a very nice stay. We were welcomed by very friendly staff. Our room was big and very nice although the bathroom is a bit small. Everything was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The highlight of the stay was our server in the restaurant/bar. His name was Travis and he was very personable and attentive. He went the extra mile to make our visit very enjoyable. If you stay here be sure to go see Travis.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank DAA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a long time - 3 months!
They have a very pleasant staff which made my stay very comfortable
Otherwise it's a comfortable hotel with big rooms, nice restaurant, good location (next to the hockey stadium, theatre and some good downtown restaurants and pubs
Their rooms are a bit let down, they are old with old CRT tv's and lamps (where you have to press three times to light the two bulbs :)
Good place if you are with a family Or you are topping by for a day - Infact a good place to stay considering there is no better alternative in Muskegon

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear tsmathur,

Thank you for your stay with us and leaving us feedback. I am happy that we have hosted you at our property for a long time and our staff's service was at par with your standards. Your comments about the rooms needing of an upgrade will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done in the future.

Again, thanks for the candid feedback and we hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here 1 night on recent business trip. Was pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews. It's a very old building but everything from the lobby to rooms were newly decorated. Room was clean and spacious and had a flat screen t.v. with direct tv so had alot of stations to choose from. Had a decent bar with reasonably priced drinks and breakfast buffet was ok. Priority club members get 2 vouchers at check-in and can use for a free drink at bar, complimentary breakfast or 15% off entree at restaurant. Excellent staff and good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simbadusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I would rate this hotel a 10 i have stayed at several hotels in in several states and have never been treated so good. The staff at this holiday in works very hard to make sure you are pleased with your stay. They are extreme overachievers. Very nice and very clean rooms. The location was very nice, My grandfather was in the mercy hospital and I liked that it was only a 5 minute drive away. Thank you, Jason luttrell

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonl231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
0.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
383 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Muskegon
221 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muskegon

Address: 939 3rd St, Muskegon, MI 49440-1136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range: $99 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Muskegon 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor!We are the only full service hotel in Muskegon, MI located within the revitalized downtown district the ideal location for both the business and leisure traveler.Perfect for the business traveler, we offer free wireless Internet throughout the hotel as well as in our guest rooms. Additional amenities include 24 hour business center, dry cleaning, free parking in our covered garage and a full fitness facility. We are conveniently located within a few miles of several area businesses. Priority Club Member? We offer PC point members complimentary breakfast Mon Fri.Looking for the perfect summer getaway? We are located within a few miles of the beautiful Lake Michigan beaches. Have some fun in the sun and return to the hotel for a relaxing experience in our indoor heated pool, saunas and whirlpool located within our state of the art Fitness Facility. Looking for additional entertainment? Located a few miles from the hotel is Michigan Adventure, Lake Express Ferry, Port City Princess, and several majestic Lake Michigan lighthouses. Walking distance you will find the Frauenthal Muskegon Theater, Christian Music Festival, Muskegon bike time, Muskegon Lumberjacks and Muskegon Summer Celebration .Join us Mon Fri at the Harbor Steakhouse from 4-7PM for our happy hour. Fri & Sat we offer live entertainment.An adventure awaits you at the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor, come visit us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing