We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Impressive”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Muskegon over Labor Day weekend. We checked in around 10pm Friday night and had no problems. We requested a refridgerator and a microwave, and both were provided immediately. The room was ok. Way too much space... Seemed like something was missing. The sheets were dirty and and bathroom had hair all over it. We ate at the restaurant a few times for dinner and breakfast... Both were average. I wouldn't stay here again if we come back to Muskegon. The pictures on the website do not even come close to the actual look of the rooms!! The service was great though!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkade1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear bkade1987,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you have received great service from our staff. However, I am sorry that we fell below your expectations. Rest assured that your comments about the sheets and the bathroom have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    93
    76
    44
    34
See reviews for
123
61
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

First off, let me say I was pleasantly surprised by how well maintained the Holiday Inn is in Muskegon. It's in a very nice area next to the theatre and within walking distance of the arena and some nice restaurants. The rooms were okay, decent wi-fi for free, clean, and serviceable. Nice lobby, bar, restaurant and good initial service.

There are a couple of "howevers" - a) The room, because it was a labor day weekend was horribly overpriced at double the usual rate and because the hotel was totally full - they apparently made a killing so it justified the increase I suppose. b) They need a new satellite service or wiring. While I don't go to hotels to watch TV, it was a college football kickoff weekend and the cable/satellite was snowy and popped in and out in the entire building including the bar. Needs to be fixed.

One other note: On our second night an entire family, parents and kids from teen to 3 were running the halls until 1:30 a.m, screaming and yelling for what seems like two hours plus. Why they weren't in their room was beyond me. Two calls downstairs to the desk and a personal reminder to the group of what time it was didn't seem to matter. It was pretty obvious the front desk person didn't really care. Ruined a night we needed to get some sleep because we had to be up at 5:30 a.m. for a fishing trip that morning.

Room Tip: Tell them you don't want to be stuck in front of the elevators like we were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcusg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here for business this past August and thought this was a pleasant stay. I didn't venture out by foot, but the surrounding area didn't appear to have much to head towards. My window view showed the water very very far away, so I wouldn't choose this location if you want to have a shore-view! There's nothing special about the outside but I found the inside of the hotel to be nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet was pretty good, all the basic hot items as well as fresh cut fruit salad and cereals. The waitstaff were excellent both days, encouraging me to order a second beverage because 'all beverages are included'. Coffee was excellent service was great. If you are a Priority Club member the breakfast buffet is free-certainly can't complain about that! I think the regular price for the buffet was only $5.95 or something so very reasonable. (join PC-it's free to join and the Buffet will be free!) Parking was free-the main lot filled up rather quickly, but I believe there was an additional lot available below. I thought it was odd that an Express didn't have a mini-Frige or a microwave but when I had asked about this they had these available upon request. When I checked in, they immediately brought these up to my room. Room is really big; it almost seemed like more furniture would have fit-but this meant there was no problem fitting the Frige and microwave. I didn't pay for the room but it was a very reasonable rate. I used the fitness room one time-elliptical and treadmill as well as a decent sized indoor pool. Overall I thought this place was nice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfLayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here in August for a business trip. The location (at least in my opinion) was horrible. Nothing is close by especially if you are travelling with a family and want to go shopping in a mall. It was a 30 minute roundtrip commute to get to the mall. It is close to Lake Michigan though.

Customer service was atrocious. I often heard other guests complaining to the same front desk personell. Upon my arrival I went into my room and noticed my TV only had 8 channels with horrible picture quality. I went to use my desk phone and it did not work. So I had to call the front desk from my cell phone. She had the nerve to tell me my phone must be working because I am calling her from in. In any event she dispatched maintenance who took 50 minutes to arrive. By the time he did I had fixed the TV myself and he attempted to fix my hotel phone - FAIL. It magically started working the day I left.

Bed was comfortable, sheets and blanket were not. Air conditioning was extremely loud and rattled through the night often waking me up.

Be warned - breakfast is NOT included in most rates and the bar/restaurant is overpriced and delivers even worse customer service.

For the rate I paid this place is overpriced and definitely not worth the stress. I will not be staying at this hotel anymore. They need a visit from Gordon Ramsey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabears-mv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear dabears-mv81,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experience during your stay and I regret you received unacceptable service from our front desk staff. I will follow up with the front office to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

room a little dated, but pool was nice. Not a lot of options in downtown Muskegon. this was about $100/nt less expensive than the shoreline, so all in all, worth it. Restaurant was ok. Can't beat the free breakfast and kids eat free.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank damcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Delilah? At the front desk and the female lounge bartender were so helpful with information, service, and understanding that we are traveling long distances with our five year old. He even got a "kiddie cocktail!" at our early dinner in the lounge before the restaurant opened, and she switched the TV to the Olympics for us. A great place for traveling families.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleanRoomAndPool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Walking into the hotel you can tell they take pride in their facility. Rooms were great and comfortable beds! Breakfast was great and open late so we could sleep in! Pool was heated and big enough so you never felt overcrowded, also perfect hours 5am - midnight!

Definitely would go again, ten minutes from Michigan adventure!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
0.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#8 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Muskegon

Property: Holiday Inn Muskegon
Address: 939 3rd St, Muskegon, MI 49440-1136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Muskegon 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor!We are the only full service hotel in Muskegon, MI located within the revitalized downtown district the ideal location for both the business and leisure traveler.Perfect for the business traveler, we offer free wireless Internet throughout the hotel as well as in our guest rooms. Additional amenities include 24 hour business center, dry cleaning, free parking in our covered garage and a full fitness facility. We are conveniently located within a few miles of several area businesses. Priority Club Member? We offer PC point members complimentary breakfast Mon Fri.Looking for the perfect summer getaway? We are located within a few miles of the beautiful Lake Michigan beaches. Have some fun in the sun and return to the hotel for a relaxing experience in our indoor heated pool, saunas and whirlpool located within our state of the art Fitness Facility. Looking for additional entertainment? Located a few miles from the hotel is Michigan Adventure, Lake Express Ferry, Port City Princess, and several majestic Lake Michigan lighthouses. Walking distance you will find the Frauenthal Muskegon Theater, Christian Music Festival, Muskegon bike time, Muskegon Lumberjacks and Muskegon Summer Celebration .Join us Mon Fri at the Harbor Steakhouse from 4-7PM for our happy hour. Fri & Sat we offer live entertainment.An adventure awaits you at the Holiday Inn Muskegon Harbor, come visit us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing