We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a dissapointment for a Comfort Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A bit of a dissapointment for a Comfort Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived in the Muskegon area on July 6th. (holiday weekend) Everything was booked but we ended up finding a room here. Of course they gouged us on the price! ($200.00). Room was fairly clean except for a very old Jacuzzi tub that was caulked very poorly. Why is this always the case???? Wallpaper in bathroom was poorly repaired. Countertop was also old and needed replaced.
This is one of the reasons I prefer privately owned hotels. Usually the owners will negotiate a better rate if they feel sorry for you! Corporate ones jack it up on you and say "good luck finding another place to stay!"
Outdoor pool was broken the entire weekend!

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    51
    36
    26
    34
See reviews for
98
34
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a wonderful time and the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! We would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel is in a great location. Very nice indoor pool and game area. We are going to bring our children back here soon so that they can enjoy the pool. The hot continental breakfast was very nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Whenever I go out of town I always look for a Choice Hotel. I always have been very pleased with their cleanliness, front desk service, and the free breakfast in the morning is always fresh with a variety of food to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Outdoor pool had no water. Bar was not open. No "free" popcorn. Cereal at breakfast was stale and other items was not stocked promptly, you had to constantly ask for things. Charged us for some elses room and never gave us a receipt the next morning, we found out when we were asking for the manager. Someone puked in the pool and peed in the jacuzzi so they had to close it. They did not tell the guests, they just locked the area. They claimed to have shocked the pool and it would be ready in 2 hours...an hour later they were shocking the pool so it was closed for the night. The kids couldn't swim that night. They said a manager was coming in the next morning to give us a $40 credit voucher and she never showed. There is no privacy from the bathroom to the rest of the room in a jacuzzi suite. The jacuzzi/shower is between the bathroom and the beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have been hosting events at this Comfort Inn for the last 4 years and things are looking up! The new management is top notch and willing to go the extra mile to make sure each guest is comfortable and that their stay is memorable. The staff is polite and is always willing go help! Keep up the great work! I look forward to my future events!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

When I checked in and asked the lady at the desk if I could request a late check out the next lady because we where going to be in town for a while. She said that she latest I could get was noon. I told her that I was a Choice Privileges Member. She said unless I was a Diamond, Platinum or a Gold member I could get a 1pm check out. I'm sorry but any CP Member gets as late as 2pm. Another thing was I was asked to go put my shoes on when I went to get breakfast. I was taken back because who wears shoes to go get breakfast anymore plus the lady that told me to put them on was rather rude about it. So I take my son and we but shoes on. When I was finally able to go to breakfast there was kids running around with no shoes and other adults that had no shoes on also. The bathroom fixtures need replacing also, they didn't shine anymore. The pool area was so hot that the pool was like bath water and what hotel doesn't open their pool until 10am on a Sunday. Needless to say I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

First off we made a reservation online for a first floor room, they wanted us to have a second floor one. The tv in our room was stuck in letterbox on every channel, and worst of is the wireless internet didn't work! The staff was only willing to give us another room two days into our three day stay! Breakfast was good, and overall the staff was nice! Get your wireless working better and have more responsive staff when an problem is brought up!!

Room Tip: Be very clear what you want when you reserve a room. If you assume you will probably not like what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
3.7 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#5 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#8 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Muskegon

Property: Comfort Inn Muskegon
Address: 1675 E Sherman Blvd, Muskegon, MI 49444-1817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Muskegon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing