We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "security" gave an un-comfortable prison yard feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
grant
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The "security" gave an un-comfortable prison yard feel”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent many NYE at this Comfort Inn tried somewhere new last year but couldnt wait to return for 2012 NYE. We reserved one year in advance for 4 poolside rooms. We called 2 weeks in advance to confirm and went early to guarantee the poolside rooms. When we arrived we were asked to pay more for the poolside rooms plus an additional $25 per person in the room to use the poolside room that included ..extra pool hours and the champagne dj party...no thankyou for our group of families with small children that wouldnt be enjoying champagne nor a party with strangers drinking...so we settled for a second floor room...also we were told "the day of" rules had changed no food in pool area as we had had it many years in the past. At this point we were getting more dissapointed and wanting to go to another hotel but were told we needed 24hr notice to cancel so we stayed. Within 20 min the harrassing of the "security" began they were at our door accusing us of children jumping on the beds.. there was a 1 1/2 year old and 3yr old in the room sitting eating their meal...and in another room older children zombied out to the cable lying on the bed quietly...again they came with the same accusation 5 min later...so we brought our card game to the pool area..main floor...we were surrounded by "security" and if we sneezed they were there to tell us how it wasnt allowed at the pool... we had an infraction about every 10 min... the glaring of the guards at my small children swimming gave me the creeps...at 7:30 we asked for our money and we would leave they asked us to stay and said the security would lay off... upon constant badgering by them we ended up leaving the hotel by 9:30pm told we were reimbursed only to find our credit card double charged!!!! The night was horrible we will never return! So that night they lost 4 rooms ..and place was dead! maybe 6 other families that we saw...overall we felt violated..harrased..wrongfully accused continually other than that the room was clean. Thankyou Sam Dallo for ruining our families New Years Eve 2012!

Room Tip: keep driving when you see this one!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    53
    36
    26
    36
See reviews for
100
38
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have never wrote a review before, but this hotel was so terrible I have to let others know. I'm not going to tell the hole nights story, but will list the top big complaints.
Having five different security guards tell my children they are watching TV to loud at 7:30 pm was not even the big problem. The bigger problems were things like, the security team telling us we could not eat at the tables as they were walking around slopping popcorn out the sides of there power hungry mouths.
After we had been visually strip searched and had our children bar coded with identifying bracelets. We thought this is what maximum security prison is like.
The last straw was when the male security guards stared at my and other young girls swimming in the pool for over an hour with out blinking. I felt violated and they were only watching me from the prison watch tower.
Any way every one said it was the owners fault such heavy rules were in place, so thanks SAM DALLO for running our night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watchewlookinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have never wrote such a poor review for any hotel before but felt the need to help some unsuspecting sole from have the same poor experience. We arrived at this hotel expecting a clean quite room after driving all day. Room was very musty, and wasn't very clean. Beds were very uncomfortable and showering was an adventure trying to dodge the water because the temperture fluctuated so badly. we were just too tired to complain. The only good thing about this place was the location, close to stores and restaurants. I have certainly changed my opinion of the Comfort Inn based on my experience at this hotel,and not for the better, it is unlikely I will stay with them in the future. Certainly a place I wish I had avoided..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Comfortable and clean room. Close to Michigan's Adventure Park. The Comfort Inn is very easy to find off of the expressway. Close to shopping and restaurants. The staff at the Comfort Inn was very nice and helpful. The service was great and the breakfast was very good. We plan to go to Michigan's Adventure Park yearly and we also plan to stay at the Comfort Inn in Muskegon.

Room Tip: Research on "Tripadvisor" before choosing a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJGClarkston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We traveled to Muskegon for a wedding and stayed at the Comfort Inn. The service was great, and it was minutes away from the airport. The had a pool,microwaves in each room, a nice large eating area for the free continental breakfast, and the front desk helped to plan trips and reservations at other Comfort Inns in different cities. Very nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south branch michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

it was a very nice place to stay had two pools which you do not see often in a hotel. it was located in a a good area. nice size room and to me very clean. nice breakfast area. and i could not believe that they had a bar which even though i do not drink i thought that it was cool they offered that to the people who stay there. i would stay there again. and i would recommend this hotel to people. thanks for a great stay. staff was helpful and very friendly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babbycakes2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We usually stay at a Comfort Inn. This particular one was ok, but not for $160 a night. The RED room was clean and did have a whirlpool tub. The staff was very friendly and had good customer service, when we asked for extra pillows and a blanket they brought it to us, where as before we had to go to the desk and wait for the items. The bed wasn't very comfortable. I was disappointed with the FREE Breakfast, when we arrived around 10:20 for there was nothing left and they didn't replenish the breakfast bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
341 reviews
3.7 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
341 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
46 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Muskegon

Property: Comfort Inn Muskegon
Address: 1675 E Sherman Blvd, Muskegon, MI 49444-1817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Muskegon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing