We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobo's Tavern

Hobo's Tavern
Ranked #9 of 214 Restaurants in Muskegon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
macomb
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Early dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had exceptional service and the food was very good, especially the soups. Kind of expensive, but worth it for special occasions. We will definitely come back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrsblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    79
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yum from beginning to end”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Birthday dinner out after a long day of play. My wife and I decided to find a place where we could enjoy a "good steak" dinner and have a couple drinks. I remembered going to Hobo's Tavern a couple years ago with friends so we headed that way.
A friend suggested getting the lake perch. We started with a house salad. I'm a Bleu Cheese guy and my salad was awesome. The dressing was very tasty.
I ordered a Ribs and Perch combo plate with a baked potato. Every bite was dynamite! Great flavor, texture and portion. My wife had the sirloin with red skin potatoes. She kept making "mmmm" sounds throughout her meal. We shared with each other and I'm telling you that both meals were very flavorful.
We decided to share a dessert and opted for the Strawberry Shortcake w/ ice cream.
From the first bite of salad to the last bite of dessert, we were very pleased with our meal.
OH, and because it was my birthday... $13 off the tab.
For those who are budget conscious, the Hobo is a bit pricey but if you are looking for a great meal for a special occasion or if price is not a factor, this is the place to go.
We will definitely return, and soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Absolutely delicious! Ask for Kelly! The menu is extensive but the perch is what we came for and was delighted! Thx for the recommendation TripAdvisor!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Muskegon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bar Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hobo's has a very vibrant environment. The Bar Steak (tenderloin) is an exceptional value. The bartenders make awesome martinis and the wait staff is excellent! Great appetizers too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get the Steak at the Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

There is a special that is served at the bar only. Steak and one side. The steak is awesome. Large screen TV's for sports viewing while you eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobo's Tavern also viewed

 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Hobo's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing