We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most amazingly decorated B&B ever, wonderful breakfasts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC
Ranked #1 of 4 Muskegon B&B and Inns
Dearborn, Michigan, United States
1 review
“most amazingly decorated B&B ever, wonderful breakfasts”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

All the rooms were very well decorated & so was the whole B&B. Very good taste; you'll love it if you love all that's old. The hosts even went to painstaking efforts to play their player piano. First time I got to enjoy that in my life. The area of Muskegon is very quaint with a nice paved path going near the water near far away; wonderful view of the lake from the B&B. The owner is a tremendous cook & they know how to hold a great conversation. Yes, best thing in Muskegon, although the nature reserve & North muskegon's older homes are a well kept secret. Almost missed them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schossau, Owner at Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
All the years that it took to collect and display our antiques was worth it to hear great people like yourselves say that you had a wonderful time and experience while staying at our Inn. Although the player piano has only been here for a couple of years, many of our guest seem to enjoy hearing the old tunes and some even play their own music, too!

We look forward to having you folks here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
35
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was the best bed and breakfast we have stayed in. We were there in November for a wedding and Barb and Fred could not have been more gracious. The work they have done to restore the property is beautiful. We stayed in the Captain's Cabin and it was absolutely lovely. The food was delicious and there was stimulating breakfast conversation with other guests. I would highly recommend this destination. From what we could see, it is the best thing in Muskegon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schossau, Owner at Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
You have humbled us with your wonderful complements...we are truly grateful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a birthday celebration at the Inn with about 8 women and we all had a fabulous time! It is absolutely gorgeous, extremely comfortable, and the staff were so accommodating and friendly. We would recommend this to any group looking for a cozy, comfortable stay in Muskegon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schossau, Owner at Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It was so nice to have you and your guest stay with us, we, too, enjoyed your celebration with you.

Hope to have all of you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I ended up taking a week long business trip to Muskegon and thought I would try a B&B instead of a hotel. I am so glad I did. This property is amazing. My room was so comfortable and Barbra and Fred just made the place have a friendly vibe. The furnishing are period specific and top notch. The artwork was also quite nice. The property was also very clean. And another thing I found wonderful was the shower. No water saving shower heads that dribble water. Good old fashion, period specific, shower heads that actually get you wet!

Another component of a bed and breakfast is the breakfast. Barbra and Fred were very accommodating to my schedule and my diet. I loved breakfast. For lunch and dinner, Barbara and Fred were able to recomend some good places to try too.

When I return to Muskegon, I'll certainly stay at the Port City Victorian Inn.

Room Tip: Just tell the owner what you want, and I'm sure they will try to accommodate your requests if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriskoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schossau, Owner at Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Sometimes it is the small things that innkeepers do for their guest that creates lasting memories, this is what, we as innkeepers, appreciate most from the responses from our guest.

Hope that you stay with us again on your next business or just for pleasure trip to Muskegon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

If you are into Victorian this place is for you. A beautiful old house filled with beautiful old relics.

Location is good-- just across the street from Muskegon Lake in a quiet neighborhood, but not too far from what used to be old industrial Musekon..

Breakfasts were just fine. Owners devout Christians.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicMaticK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schossau, Owner at Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Ok, is OK with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please try us again if you ever need a quiet neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was the most beautiul place my husband and I have ever been. It was very peaceful. We had a beautiful room with a huge whirl pool tub that the both of us fit in. Barbra and Fred were very helpful to point out fun places to go and eat and to watch a movie. We were right by the water which was a huge plus. =) We woke up to a spread of delicious food made by Barb and great coffee. I felt like i was at home with family. Will recommend this place to everyone I know and will deffinetly be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam Nd Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spent the weekend of October 20 at PCV. Since I was planning on getting engaged that weekend I wanted to have everything perfect. Both Barb and Fred really delivered. Their place is simply beautiful, decorated in true victorian style.So many beautiful pieces and appointments throughout their very historical home. Had the Captains suite and it was everything the site stated, very comfortable and no detail overlooked. Barb was wonderful in making sure the rose petals, candles etc were all set when we arrived to our room. The room is spacious and loved the jacuzzi and fireplace in the room as well. Fred is very knowledgeable about the area and it was very interesting to hear about the town and about the inn. Had a wonderful breakfast and followed their recommendation to go to Point Marquette and then to take the Scenic drive to Whitehall. Both drivees were stunning with the fall colors and the lake views. We completely loved our stay and the warm hospitality from Barb and Fred.They made sure our special weekend was complete. We will sure to be back!!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are beautiful- Captains suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
1.3 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
344 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
6.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC

Property: Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC
Address: 1259 Lakeshore Dr, Muskegon, MI 49441-1659
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Port City Victorian Inn! Come and indulge your senses at our four-time Award Winning Bed & Breakfast Inn; located along the bluffs of Muskegon Lake. We have been honored and recognized for: "Most Historical Charm"; Best for "Honeymoon and Anniversary" and two-time winner for "Best in the Mid-West"! We hope you enjoy visiting our site and eventually visiting our Inn just as much as we enjoy having you as our guests! Our Inn is the 134 year old Queen Ann Victorian mansion, built by Alexander Rodgers, Sr. in 1877. This five bedroom, 5,500 square foot home sits on the bluffs of Muskegon Lake, just minutes from Lake Michigan sugar sand beaches and the downtown business district. Business and leisure travelers feel a real sense of home. Five bedrooms with private baths and views of the lake, three with double-whirlpool tubs. Enjoy the rooftop pergola and TV/VCR room with views of the lake. Two parlors filled with antiques and Victorian decor throughout the Inn. Remote control A/C, CATV, Fireplaces. Open year round. We are Barbara and Fred Schossau and after serving our guests for almost nineteen years, we not only believe that God brought us here to this beautiful home, but His provisions also included the gift of hospitality. Barbara and I thoroughly enjoy entertaining our guests and serving a wonderful hearty breakfast every morning. Our motto is, “Hospitality the Old Fashioned Way”, and our goal is, "Within reason, we will do whatever it takes to make our guests happy." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port City Victorian Inn, Bed and Breakfast, LLC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing