We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For what you pay (50 bucks), not too bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Victory Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Reviewed March 18, 2007

After I booked the reservations from hotels.com, I read some reviews and was a little nervous about what I had gotten myself into. However, it really wasn't too bad of a stay, considering it was only $50. The lobby looked very nice. It looked like the "nightclub/bar" was closed and had been for some time. Although we requested a smoking room, we were given a non-smoking room; when I brought this to their attention, they said, "Oh, it doesn't matter; you can still smoke, and here are some ashtrays." Makes me feel bad for people who want a truly non-smoking room. The elevator was dingy and the fourth floor smelled a little funky. The room was clean. There was a hair dryer and an iron and ironing board. The fridge was clean and the heater worked wonderfully. The cable cord going into the back of the tv was loose, which made the picture fuzzy every couple minutes, so we had to rig it up with a folded up envelope. We didn't look at the pool and we didn't eat the continental breakfast, so I can't make a note on either of those things. Overall, though, it wasn't a bad stay...I think I was expecting a lot worse from the other reviews I read on this site. If you don't want anything special and aren't too picky or anal, I would recommend staying here. It's clean and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jeanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 102 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2007

Thought I booked two rooms at a Best Western. Walked through the door and should of walked back out. What a mess.. Broken elevators.. Broken ice machines.. Broken sauna... Horrible smell on the third floor.. No heat in our room.. Highly not recommended!

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank pratt17450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

Booked our stay via the Best Western website.
I forgot to check tripadvisor for this location, and paid dearly for it.
We are on the return leg of a 3 week holiday, and have used Best Western Hotels for each stay in different locations. Furthermore, we travel regularly and are goldcrownclub members of Best Western.
We selected this hotel as a last resort, since we needed a place to stay overnite prior to boarding the Lake Express ferry from Muskegon to Milwaukee.
The Park Plaza Best Western hotel in Muskegon, Michigan is one of the worst hotels we have stayed in over the last 5 years. The place is extremely run down and dingy. The carpets throughout the hotel halls are dirty and in many paces torn. The carpet in the room was dirty, not vacumed and torn in two places. The corners of the room were dust collectors. The bathroom was extremely tiny and had a broken showerhead.
The pool is a joke, and looked dirty as well. I walked out as I did not want to take a chance with the water.
We did not try the continental breakfast, as we were afraid to touch anything prepared by the people who run this hotel.
Do not gauge this hotel by the photos on their website, as these photos have been doctored and do not represent the reality of this place.
I will lodge a complaint with the corporate Best Western Hotels, as this place does not deserve to carry the Best Western logo.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jomoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2006

Don’t bother! The hotel is very run down and the images on the internet are very misleading. The room was clean, but obviously the whole place is in need of a renovation. The elevator was like a mine shaft, the carpet throughout the hotel was trashed, the soft goods in the room need to be replaced, breakfast was an absolute joke, and the pool was not impressive. We paid $89 a night and could have spent less and gotten the same thing from a cheap motel. First and last time we’ll ever stay in a Best Western.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cara704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Grand Rapids, MI
19
Reviewed March 31, 2006

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past because of an arrangement made by my employer. This was the first time I have completely enjoyed my stay.

In the past, I could see that the housekeeping staff were trying to keep up with things, but seemed to be fighting a losing battle. The maintainance crew must not have been on full hours or else needed to go back to school and the front desk employees ... well there was a great deal lacking.

This trip, however, was a complete change. Although carpeting needs replacing in places, and there are items that need to be repaired or tossed... there is a great improvement in all areas.

Everywhere I looked, I could see that there is a different attitude in the hotel staff. The rooms, although clean in the past, are much nicer now. Everything worked and my wakeup was done by a human. The front desk staff were very friendly and went above the call of duty with helping me to find a place to eat in the area since the attached restaurant is currently out of business.

Talking with the Front Desk Manager when I checked out, after I commented on how nice everything was this trip, he told me that there was a change in the hotel' manager and that she was doing a great job in trying to get the hotel back up to the standards it should have been in the last few years.

I agree with him. She has made a tremendous stride in bringing this hotel up from the lower level. Still has a long way to go, but if this trip is any indication, I have no doubt she will take this hotel there.

And my daughter wants me to say that the pool is absolutely wonderful and the people so nice. She is a pretty tough critic... so 2 thumbs up to this hotel in Muskegon Michigan. I will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2005

We stayed overnight on August 10th and I will never return.The front desk staff was rude.The girl that checked us in made fun of an illiterate friend of ours,not aware that he was with us. The bathroom was really small and the pool was not heated. The air conditioner in our room was broke and when I asked for someone to look at it I was told that maintainace was gone for the night.Then upon checking out, they tried to charge us again for the room,( we paid cash when we checked in and were told that we didn't get a reciept till we checked out) The hotel property is really run down and its not worth the money. I would strongly suggest staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank angel_kissed_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2005

We booked to stay at the Best Western Park Plaza the night of the 6th of August and were DISGUSTED on more than one level. No where near the standard of Best Western hotels....

Our non smoking room STANK like a mixture of smoke and air freshner which was sickening. The bathroom was FILTHY and the ground was DIRTY.
The swimming pool was the most horrid thing i have ever seen!!! It was murky and filthy and had odd looking objects at the base of the pool! (if u get my drift)

We did not stay the night and opted to drive back to Grand Rapids to stay at a hotel there.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME NOR MONEY!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aazadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
307 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
54 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Muskegon
221 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Victory Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Victory Inn & Suites

Address: 2967 Henry St, Muskegon, MI 49441-4013
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range: $59 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — A Victory Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-remodeled spacious guest rooms are well-appointed with all the conveniences you depend on away from home. We hope you enjoy being out guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your A Victory Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victory Hotel Muskegon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing