We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant in Muskegon”

The Hearthstone Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 216 Restaurants in Muskegon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Muskegon”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been frequenting this restaurant since 1976, which is when I believe it first opened. Although the portions are smaller than back then, they continue to be a great place to eat, which is unusual for Muskegon. Everything from the atmosphere to the cocktails, make it the only place in Muskegon, where I will take a guest.
I enjoy dining here and although, I no longer live in West Michigan, I always make a reservation when I know I will be in town.
I generally, skip the soups and sandwiches, for which they are so popular and choose from the specials for that evening. The pasta Tagliatelle, is a fave of mine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sambo2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    108
    22
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, MI
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Deserving of #1 in Muskegon rating”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My sister and I took my mom out to celebrate her birthday. I hadn't been to the Hearthstone in over a year and was not disappointed.

I'd called ahead to make reservations for three and let the hostess know that we had a birthday girl in the party, plus that she required a gluten-free menu. They were happy to oblige, making note of it and following through in style, complete with a complimentary Flourless Chocolate Torte for Mom at the end of our meal.

Our server was really sweet and after greeting us and telling us about the specials, she let us know that it was her last night to work there as she was getting married and moving away. She took our drink orders and my mom picked out a couple crayons (located next to the sugar, salt, and pepper) and started writing "Happy life [waitress's name]!" on the paper table cover. I helped her decorate it with flowers and balloons. When our server came back she was tickled and ended up taking a picture of our table top card.

My mom ordered a gluten-free beer, my sister had her favorite drink and I selected a sweet Italian Moscato. The parmesan rolls were tasty, especially dipped in olive oil from the Cheese Lady, one of my favorite local shops. Mom appreciated real butter for her gluten-free roll. Sis and I both ordered cups of soup; hers the soup of the day, "Feather Fowlie," with chunks of white meat chicken and ham, and mine, my favorite, French Onion Gratinee. (She let me have a taste of hers. It was creamy and delicious!)

For mains, Mom chose the Roast Beef, Goat Cheese & Grilled Asparagus Tartine on gluten-free bread. It came with a salad on the side. My sister had her favorite French Dip sandwich and I picked the Bistro Steak special with panko encrusted asparagus tips and yummy potatoes on the side.

My sister and I shared a wonderful bread pudding made with croissants, blueberries, almond slices and a rum sauce, served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I had a cup of coffee with my dessert -- slightly better than your average restaurant coffee. Mom decided to take her dessert home as she'd had all she could eat for the evening!

Atmosphere this Sunday evening was okay, but service and food were great! Extra credit goes to our friendly waitress and to the manager for stopping by our table to make sure everything was to our liking. Also, it's often the small things, but . . . Sugar in the Raw as one of the sweetener choices (for coffee or tea) is appreciated, and keeping crayons on the table for the young ones (and the young at heart) is still a neat idea!

Keep up the good work, Hearthstone! :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logansport, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We ate at the Hearthstone Grill twice this summer because it was so wonderful! Truly one of the best places we've ever eaten. The service was fantastic and the food was wonderful and memorable. The pasta dishes are wonderful. The appetizers are tasty and unique. My only regret is that we live so far away and cannot go there on a regular basis! We were on vacation celebrating our 30th anniversary in Michigan and this place was a winner for us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very good, as usual”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Consistent service and quality of food. Excellent homemade soups and pastas. Be prepared for a bit of a wait on weekends, however. The seating is somewhatr limited.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank topfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort wayne, in
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I went to Hearthstone for our one year anniversary and we were completely blown away. We enjoy some nice restaurants in our hometown, including of similar quality, but both of us agree that this is the best restaurant we've ever been too. We LOVED everything, especially the soup. You will not regret going!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank leah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hearthstone Restaurant also viewed

 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to The Hearthstone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing