We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service”
Review of Muskegon, KOA

Muskegon, KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muskegon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muskegon, KOA
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible Customer Service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I did not stay but had family in several different campsites. As a visitor I can tell you that I will NEVER camp there nor recommend anyone camp there. I was at the campground a total of 1 hour - enough time for a short visit, pick up family and head to Michigan's Adventure. 10 minutes after my arrival, the owner approached my vehicle that held my teenage son and his friend to start complaining that they did not check in at the front desk and pay the $3 per person visitor fee. I was in the restroom (which was disgusting and certainly not big enough for the amount of campers) at the time and walked up on the situation. I explained I was not aware of the need to stop at the front desk or that there was designated parking across the road. I also explained that I was there to pick up some family to head to the park and would only be there for a short time and wasn't returning after. He was less than pleasant to everyone around. I am surprised this campground is still in business and it is a shame that he carries the KOA brand. I have stayed at several KOA's in my life and have never been treated as poorly as this one. I do NOT recommend ANYONE stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank paxlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    6
    9
    10
See reviews for
31
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We just got back from staying at this campground over the weekend, and well, we hadn't even MADE it to the campsite before we were regretting choosing this location for a family gathering. We had rented a campsite and two cabins, and had carpooled together. The owner himself "greeted" us, and he wouldn't even let us explain that we had multiple sites before he started yelling at us that we had too many people. We didn't have too many people though! It seemed to beyond his comprehension that people may carpool and have multiple reservations in the same vehicle. From there, he started yelling at my brother who was walking over to help my dad pull the RV into our campsite. If the owner cannot show more respect for his guests, he is in the wrong industry! The problem is that the KOA name saves him; people book relying on the name alone and are unaware of what the experience will actually be like. Should have read the reviews beforehand that said to beware of the owner, because our experience was 100% in line with those reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've been to several campsites but this is the worst place ever! There was no activities for kids except the slides near- the lake.The sites are so small compared to other campsites and the location are by far nowhere.The girl at the front desk was nice but the other staff outside are so rude.The manager Steve, staff Chris needs to undergo anger management & in service about customer service!!! The Restroom at the office are horrible.It needs complete remodelling.For 3 days we stayed there did not see anyone clean the restroom.The floor was so filthy, smelly, bugs & spider web!!!The only nice about this place is it's near Michigan Adventure!Otherwise if you want to have some fun especially for your kids go somewhere else! We have 9 families who stayed here but unsatisfied and not happy about the place and the management!! We could have left the first day but there was no refund so decided to stay!!!This was the first and last that we'll come to this place!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tripreviews13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmington hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at KOA Muskegon for 2 nights. It was an AWFUL experience. We've stayed in different KOA Campground, but Muskegon.....is the worst. The owner is rude, unethical, unapproachable not to mention needs to learn the essence of hygiene. He doesn't know the importance of customer service. No activities for kids, bathroom near the office is very dirty, the faucet water is yellow.That's our first and last stay there. We'll never go back . It's close to Michigan Adventure but staying at KOA Muskegon is a misadventure. Not recommended for family with children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank brendan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our kids had a great time on the jumping pillow & waterslide! Friendly staff, clean beach, campsites, & facilities. Reasonable rates & close to Michigan's Adventure. We spent 5 nights here & plan to go back in future summers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R3JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

the nice thing about KOA campground is you can't get in unless you have a right to be there. Strict security, patrols, and ran very well. Sites by the water are beautiful! Lots of things to do at the campground for adults & kids alike!

Had a great time, friendly staff, great relaxing time!

Room Tip: if you can get a camp site by the water, do it! Beware, kiddos wake up early & will be loud by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very nice. the bathrooms have been remodeled! they are much cleaner now. The lakeside sites are very nice. The cabins (lakeside) have new, large, decks. There is a jumping pillow, and water slides; also a large lake, with catch and release fishing. Boat rentals, banana bike rentals too. The store is loaded with lots of items, ice cream, and drinks. The prices are decent and affordable. the campground is about three miles away from Michigan Adventure, (an amusement park, and water park); with discount tickets from the campground. The water slides are for kids only, and adults are not allowed on them. Shopping is within ten miles or so. This is a great place for a vacation.

Room Tip: There are different size cabins, of which you are best off to call and fit one to your family size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RussellGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muskegon
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
5.6 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
10.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Whitehall
Comfort Inn Whitehall
#1 of 5 in Whitehall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muskegon, KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muskegon, KOA

Property: Muskegon, KOA
Address: 3500 Strand Rd, Muskegon, MI 49445-9559
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Muskegon
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing