We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MI Misadventure at KOA Muskegon”
Review of Muskegon, KOA

Muskegon, KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muskegon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muskegon, KOA
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at KOA Muskegon for 2 nights. It was an AWFUL experience. We've stayed in different KOA Campground, but Muskegon.....is the worst. The owner is rude, unethical, unapproachable not to mention needs to learn the essence of hygiene. He doesn't know the importance of customer service. No activities for kids, bathroom near the office is very dirty, the faucet water is yellow.That's our first and last stay there. We'll never go back . It's close to Michigan Adventure but staying at KOA Muskegon is a misadventure. Not recommended for family with children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank brendan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our kids had a great time on the jumping pillow & waterslide! Friendly staff, clean beach, campsites, & facilities. Reasonable rates & close to Michigan's Adventure. We spent 5 nights here & plan to go back in future summers!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R3JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

the nice thing about KOA campground is you can't get in unless you have a right to be there. Strict security, patrols, and ran very well. Sites by the water are beautiful! Lots of things to do at the campground for adults & kids alike!

Had a great time, friendly staff, great relaxing time!

Room Tip: if you can get a camp site by the water, do it! Beware, kiddos wake up early & will be loud by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very nice. the bathrooms have been remodeled! they are much cleaner now. The lakeside sites are very nice. The cabins (lakeside) have new, large, decks. There is a jumping pillow, and water slides; also a large lake, with catch and release fishing. Boat rentals, banana bike rentals too. The store is loaded with lots of items, ice cream, and drinks. The prices are decent and affordable. the campground is about three miles away from Michigan Adventure, (an amusement park, and water park); with discount tickets from the campground. The water slides are for kids only, and adults are not allowed on them. Shopping is within ten miles or so. This is a great place for a vacation.

Room Tip: There are different size cabins, of which you are best off to call and fit one to your family size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RussellGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The lakeside setting for this KOA site is really beautiful and the cabins well maintained. There is lots to do for the children too, including a jumping pillow for the kids as well as catch and release lake. The downside to this site is that the washroom facilities are below par and not cleaned very well. Some of the doors to the stalls don't lock either. There are not enough bathrooms for the number of campers either.

Room Tip: as far away from the highway as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
5.8 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
366 reviews
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Muskegon
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Travelodge Muskegon
Travelodge Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
307 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
383 reviews
10.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muskegon, KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muskegon, KOA

Address: 3500 Strand Rd, Muskegon, MI 49445-9559
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Muskegon
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing