We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Certificate of Excellence
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We decided to stay outside of Grand Rapids for our annual trip to ArtPrize this year and certainly glad we did. This Fairfield Inn is keeping to the Marriott brand promise very well with a knowledgeable friendly staff and a very well kept property. The rooms as well as all the public areas were very clean even the often problematic breakfast area was orderly. I would say the only downside is the walls are very thin fortunately our room was on the upper floor at the end of the hallway so noise for us was at a minimum but I could see how rooms in the center part of the hotel would be noisier. I certainly would stay at this hotel again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAA_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review! Our entire staff works extremely hard to create a memorable experience for all of our guests. We appreciate the business and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    62
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
73
42
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stay at this hotel when we return to Muskegon each year. The management has done a good job of updating the facility. They also significantly improved their complementary breakfast offerings. The staff is very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for the nice review and the great comments! We did just finish up a renovation, updating items including the breakfast, guest room bathrooms, suites and some public areas. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay here and I welcome you back next time you are in Muskegon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I selected this hotel because all the hotels of beach area were sold out. During the summer vacation season, this is a so expensive hotel, considering its quality. However, it is located in a very convenient area, a kind of downtown. I think it is better than beach area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manhattanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am glad that you found our location to be very convenient, it is nice having all the restaurants, shops and beaches so close by! I hope you stop by again next time you are in Muskegon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and were very happy. Room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The Breakfast was included and had many choices - from cereal to scrambled eggs, sausage and waffles. Everything tasted great. The location was very close to a shopping mall, yet 1-2 miles from the beach. We even found the blueberry farm 2 miles away. What a find!

Room Tip: we stayed on the first floor end room and it was quiet and convenient to get to the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel. We hope that next time you are in the area you will remember our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
196 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Fairfield Inn
We stayed over last weekend for a vacation to the beaches of Lake Michigan.
Pros:
I was told it was recently refurbished and I must say it looks like a new hotel. It was spotlessly clean. The staff was very friendly. I’d rate the breakfast above average and there was plenty of seating even when it got busy. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. There are a number of dining options close to the hotel. The beach was only a short drive away.
Cons:
The room seemed smaller than any of the other Fairfield Inns we’ve ever stayed in. The bed was so hard I had trouble sleeping and although they called it a king it was smaller than any king I’ve ever seen. There is an inside pool and hot tub but they are also remarkably small (I’d say the room they were in is about one third the size of the one at the Fairfield Inn in Aurora, Colorado). Finding the hotel the first time was a little tricky. Two of the three ice makers weren't working. At $377 for the weekend I’d say it was a bit overpriced for what you get.

If It were not for the Marriott points we earned for staying there I’ve have went somewhere else simply because I felt it was a rather poor value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colormeelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write this review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, however, I do apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced at our hotel. Please know we strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and I am sorry that didn't happen during your stay. I invite you to return to our hotel next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. We were visiting Grand Haven State Park, Holland, and the Michigan's Adventure amusement park. The hotel was very convenient for accessing these three areas. In fact, the location was in between Grand Haven and Michigan's Adventure, so it is a good location to stay for people who will be visiting both areas.

First, the positives.

(1) As stated above, great location. The area was safe and had a suburban feel to it: a shopping mall was right there, lots of restaurant choices, and easy access to US-31.
(2) The property was relatively new (or recently remodeled?) The common areas, bedding, furnishings, etc., felt modern and clean.
(3) The staff was polite and accommodating.
(4) The complimentary breakfast was good. Same types of foods you would expect (waffle maker, scrambled eggs, yogurt, etc.), but also a few items we did not expect, like fresh oatmeal with walnuts, raisins, and brown sugar.
(5) Clean pool and hot tub area - pretty small, but nice nonetheless.

Only a couple negatives:
(1) Room size was small. We had two adults and three kids. We brought an inflatable air mattress for one of the kids and we were squeezed in pretty tight. Even without the air mattress, the room was on the smaller side. Shouldn't be a problem for just two or three people, but if you go beyond that, you'll feel a bit crowded.
(2) The price. We paid ~ $170 a night, and after taxes it was closer to almost $200/night. That's a lot of money for a chain property of this quality.

However, all things considered, given how nice we thought the property was and how much we liked the location, we would stay there again. We recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, only a few doors down from the breakfast area, but it was still quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kortma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We did indeed just go through a renovation, recently updating many items in our hotel in the guest rooms, public areas and breakfast. I am glad that you enjoyed the accommodations and the staff and I hope that if you return to the Muskegon area again you will stay at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to PJ Hoffmaster State Park. It's also right next to a mall which was convenient. The double beds were too small for our family of four. The air conditioning barely worked the whole time we were there. I don't think our room ever got cooler than 78 degrees. The pool is tiny. Pricey too. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOBrien1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced at our hotel. Please know we strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and I am sorry that didn't happen during your stay. I invite you to return so that you may see this is an isolated incident and hopefully, upon your return, you will regain confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muskegon
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
327 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
6.9 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#5 of 12 in Muskegon
334 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
392 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Address: 1520 E Mount Garfield Rd, Muskegon, MI 49444-7728
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores Hotel Muskegon
Fairfield Inn Muskegon Heights
Fairfield Muskegon Heights
Muskegon Heights Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing