We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasant surprise. Convenient, Clean, Friendly.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Muskegon
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise. Convenient, Clean, Friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I am from the Muskegon area and stayed here out of necessity when back to see the family. This was such a pleasant surprise. Rather than a long review, I will just say that the staff is absolutely exceptional and friendly. They have their hearts into it and favorably compare with any Marriott property anywhere. The property is clean and affordable. It also has excellent access down to Grand Haven and up to Muskegon. There is not much of a negative.

When my wife and daughter and I travel back, we often stay over at the JW in Grand Rapids. But especially for a short stay - 2-3 days, this property is tough to beat. I am sure that we will redirect some of our future stays here, and save the extra hour a day that we often spend traveling back and forth to GRR. If you are a Marriott Rewards member this is a great choice.

Very pleasant surprise. And kudos to the staff.

Room Tip: I haven't had enough experience to answer this well, but the room that I did have on the 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments! We work very hard at making each guests' stay special and so I am happy to hear that you enjoy staying here at our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and to the Marriott brand and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    61
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
68
41
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napervi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

An excellent experience all the way around. My family and I were in town for a funeral and stayed two nights. The rooms were extremely clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast had a good selection. We were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etivane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments. I am glad that we were able to host your family despite the unfortunate circumstances of your trip. We hope to see you again if you're ever in the Muskegon area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very typical hotel. What stands apart from other hotels in this class of hotels is the staff. Everyone I dealt with was friendly and went above and beyond what I expected. Simply awesome. This is where I will stay when I return to Muskegon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekinwilliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the thoughtful comment about the staff! They are truely a pleasure to work with each day. We hope to see you again soon for your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at, the service is by far the best, each person who is helping you is nicer than the last person who helped us. The rooms are clean, fresh, new a safe. There was a party on one of the nights we stayed and we did mention it to the staff the next day, we were told we should have called and let them know. There is no reason for children running the halls and loud parties when others are trying to sleep. This was out 2nd stay and we are scheduled to stay again in June. The food breakfast bar is well stocked with many choices for anyone. The pool very clean and inviting. coffee, tea and hot chocolate are available 24/7, nice for those who wake up in the middle of night and need a cup of tea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PubCrawler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the kind remarks about our staff! They all work very hard at making each guests stay memorable. We appreciate your businesss and we look forward to your arrival again in June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me, my mom and sister usually stay twice a year (spring and fall) for a girls weekend shopping, relaxing and eating out. This is a great location, but even better is the staff and cleaning personnel. They are helpful, friendly and go out of their way for you. We look forward to staying again this coming June.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K Z C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such great things about the hotel. The people that work here are dedicated to making our guests stay enjoyable time and time again. Thanks for always choosing Fairfield Inn and Suites Muskegon. See you in June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great hotel with friendly staff. The front desk ladies were very helpful. Housekeeping did a great job and were friendly as well. Rooms were extremely clean. Great location near good dining areas as well as shopping centers and a nice mall. Very pleased with the stay. Without a doubt, would definitely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I was so happy to hear about your great stay and that you enjoyed our front desk staff. They are also a pleasure to work with. Thanks again for choosing our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

A nice place to stay that is centrally located around restaurants and shopping. It was clean and well kept. The staff was excellent. Personally, I could have done without the Fox News glaring in the public areas. I understand this is a hotel where many business people stay but how about something more neutral and less political.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GDC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldMKGNS, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I am so sorry that you did not like Fox News being on the televisions at the hotel. We can happily change the channel for you next visit! I did love hearing that you enjoyed the staff, they are a true pleasure to work with. Please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muskegon
6.9 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 13 in Muskegon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 13 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#7 of 13 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Address: 1520 E Mount Garfield Rd, Muskegon, MI 49444-7728
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores Hotel Muskegon
Fairfield Muskegon Heights
Fairfield Inn Muskegon Heights
Muskegon Heights Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing