We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet food at a casual dining price”
Review of Courses

Courses
Ranked #33 of 214 Restaurants in Muskegon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gourmet food at a casual dining price”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We enjoyed an excellent lunch at this restaurant/classroom at the Culinary Institute in downtown Muskegon. While we ate a fine meal of lamb shank and boneless beef short ribs, we watched the staff/students learn to fold napkins and watched the kitchen staff prepare our meal on the big TV in the dining room.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JDN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful find! We are former Muskegonites who came back for a visit and decided to give Courses a try. It was an excellent meal! Probably the best either of us ever had in Muskegon. The culinary school's students do a great job, whether in the kitchen, serving your table, or greeting you at the door. The skirt steak was outstanding as were the curry and the salmon. Excellent food with a wonderful presentation. The ambience is very good as well and the live TV of the kitchen staff and the rolling video of the menu items were interesting and integrated subtly into the decor. Prices are very reasonable. Well worth trying!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank casagtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Courses, What a fantastic deal!! You must try it!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Yes, it is part of Baker College and the Culinary Institute of Muskegon.
Absolutely FANTASTIC. A true Gourmet meal prepared excellently. Prices for main courses range currently from $8 to $13.
Four of us visited and were seated at a booth. The booth was large and very roomy and could easily accommodate 6 or more. We ordered a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon from Chile and it was delicious. $20.00 The waitress recommend a list of 6 or so mixed cocktails which we declined but all seemed interesting and sounded great. We agreed that we must try them next time.
Three had the Cimply Michigan salad. Greens with bacon, cherries, and blueberry vinaigrette. $3.
One had the Bittersweet salad. $4 Also delicious, yes I tried a bite. Arugula, nectarines, goat cheese, blueberries.
Mains: Three went with the "special of the night". Outstanding filet, served on top of mashed potatoes and wilted mustard greens with a sauce of wine reduction and stilton cheese. Oh my goodness. The filet was better than Hearthstone and CF Prime two great local establishments and it was only $10.
One went with the Salmon on a Cedar plank. Great, Great, Great. $9.
Are you kidding??
Yes, we all then had desserts. The Banana Fosters prepared tableside, then 2 chocolate yummy things, and berries with ice Cream. I think that they were $3 each. I can't find the receipt right now.
I think we were one of 5 tables served last night. It was very quiet. The students are not on campus and we heard that it is quite different during the school year. I am sure that at times there are mishaps with timing and food prep or when the kitchen is slammed. But last night was just outstanding. I understand that they are closed in September as the new class starts up. Call, make a reservation and Go. This is outstanding value with creative and interesting meals. They have a great patio for outdoor dining and the restaurant faces the park and is very picturesque. There is a bar but we didn't try it. The restaurant serves dinner Thursday through Saturday only. Lunch is available all days but closed on Sunday.
Our gourmet meal was under $20 a person, including wine and 3 full courses of food. We might be back there tomorrow night to explore more on the menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, fabulous value”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food is prepared and served by students at CIM, so the offerings are imaginative. I had a fruit/nut date appetizer plate that was as pretty as it was delicious. My salmon entree was unique and delicious, too. My dining companion was happy with her green salad and spaghetti squash plate, too. Since the prep and service are by students, the prices are so very reasonable. Tipping isn't mandatory, but you'll be so impressed by these talented young people you'll want to add a gratuity.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, mi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Culinary Students”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a classroom of students from the Culinary school. It is wonderful! Food is delicious and there is a bar too. Great prices, limited menu...but what is there is truly an experience. You have to visit and appreciate the hard work these students are putting in.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courses also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Courses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing