We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth it”
Review of Red Rooster Tavern

Red Rooster Tavern
Ranked #41 of 214 Restaurants in Muskegon
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Muskegon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well worth it”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Getting to the Red Rooster via beautiful Scenic Drive is half the fun! Once there, the Rooster's atmosphere is cozy and welcoming, the wait staff is efficient and friendly and the food is fresh and wonderful! There are options for everyone from burgers and paninis to salads and fresh fish. I have yet to try the desserts but they look scrumptious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Muskegon, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a pleasure to visit a tavern in Michigan and be able to eat something other than the usual fried fare. The offerings are delicious, imaginatively prepared, and reasonably priced. Such a welcome change. Great selection of foreign and domestic beers on tap. I love the semi-spicey Asian egg rolls. They afford a good excuse for ordering another beer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best perch ever!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Best perch dinner in Muskegon since the Doo Drop Inn closed. The Asian meat meat balls are fantastic! Love the new bar. We recommend the Red Rooster to family and friends and are looking forward to enjoying new dishes (along with the perch, of course!) Wait staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Red Rooster Resurrection”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Red Rooster Tavern is finally getting the attention it deserves. Prior to the new owners I refused to order food. Everything was deep-fried golden, which I find quite distasteful. Chef Laura and the crew at the Rooster should be commended for their clever and appetizing dishes. The atmosphere is inviting and still has the ambience I remember from days of old, with some fantastic improvements. The decorative dining room, the new bar, and the menu have brought a once mediocre establishment to an exceptional dining experience. The Rooster will never founder if your looking for superb suds, music, and fantastic fare.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zacarune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You need to be here!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The red rooster is definitley a place to seek out! It offers a unique and tasty menu, a full bar, and live entertainment. The rooster is a great place to grab a beer and hang out for the evening! So go out and support your local tavern-- I know I am.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slykatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rooster Tavern also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Red Rooster Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing