We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Tavern with great history struggles.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Rooster Tavern

Red Rooster Tavern
Ranked #39 of 215 Restaurants in Muskegon
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Old Tavern with great history struggles.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I remember the Rooster from 60 years ago when it was a great gathering place for locals for beer and redhots. The attempts at food service has been spotty in the past but most recently seems to have slipped into heavy psuedo Tex-Mex without much to offer in the lighter meal category. The wet burrito was good some years ago but seems heavy and greasy of late. Hope they can pull it back, many summer visitors yearn for good food in this part of the county.

Helpful?
2 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Went at suggestion of a friend. The food was okay - just what you'd expect at a tavern. The owner came up - after 20 mins of waiting & asked if we had drinks and we said no. She said she would get someone and then wiped down a table. She then apologized and said they had a wedding party that came in but we were later told 2 people called in. The food finally came and the owner came around and asked if we needed anything. A member of our group asked for the ketchup and mustard that was missing from his burger and she said she would get it. At the end of the meal, when she was clearing plates she asked him if he ever got his ketchup and mustard. Unbelievable. We had to go to the bar to get our refills too. I don't fault the servers - they were busy and worked their tails off. I do fault the owner/manager. It was obvious she was more interested in her friends and socializing than helping out and making sure customers were happy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TammiRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So so Bar food but great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

They have Bands in the summer on weekends and sometimes in the winter

Helpful?
1 Thank Aquapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is our neighborhood bar.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

There is always a friendly face and a cold drink. They book some awesome groups/bands on the weekends!

Helpful?
2 Thank CeCe1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome ! Great Food, Fun, & live Music @ ur Table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

This place is a gem in the rough, out- far, far away, a great place to eat / drink & be merry, with friends Er spouse,.. Wednesday nites are in-prove for Musicians with guitars,violins, harmonicas, Bass violin, Cello's, U name it ! always a variety

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rocstdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rooster Tavern also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Red Rooster Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing