We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hennessy's Pub is NOT to be Missed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hennessy's Pub

Hennessy's Pub
Ranked #39 of 214 Restaurants in Muskegon
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In tradition of the Irish "Public Houses", Muskegon can proudly say that it has its own "Wee bit of Ireland" to come to and have a cold pint and great Irish fare. Hennessy's Irish Pub & Restaurant has a lively atmosphere with traditional Irish dishes along with other worldly cuisine. With 24 beers on tap and 20 Irish whiskeys, Hennessy's is the place to enjoy the perfect pint or any of a wide variety of cocktails. The food is always made from fresh ingredients and local ingredients whenever possible. This is all made better with warm fireplaces and dark woods that accent a festive location for merriment. Our ambition is to be the chosen place to gather with family and friends to share great food, drinks, conversations, and lively music in a cheery and pleasant environment.
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hennessy's Pub is NOT to be Missed.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our party featured four adults and two children and right from the time we walked in the front door we were treated EXTREMELY well. We had an outstanding and very friendly server named Kym who took great care of us. The menu was varied as was the assortment of beers and other drinks. The food was outstanding and the price was very reasonable. This will be on our lists of favorite stops anytime we are in Michigan.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDR102EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    34
    13
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we visited on our Michigan Trip”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

After several dismal dining experiences, we noticed Hennessy's. Loving everything Irish we thought to stop in. My wife had the Irish Stew and just loved it. (And she is not a fan of things sheepish... e.g. lamb or mutton.) She had the Irish Dip and really enjoyed it. The home made chips rocked. I had the perch dinner which was on special. Probably the best perch fillets I have ever eaten! We finished off with bread pudding for me (to die for!) and Cream Brullet for my wife (with a fresh berry compote). The service was exceptional, on-tap beer selection is great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JosephJFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fair Experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very Clean. Fine selection of beers and well stocked bar. Food leaves something to be desired (Not Bad, just Average) considering the overall higher prices. Service is hit and miss when busy. You really can't beat their burger and beer special! The Irish lamb stew is very good, however, again it is pricey. Very disappointing they no longer have the great musical bands, they once did, on Saturdays.This information comes to you from a "local" and one frequent customer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you like Irish food, if not go elsewhere.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Went in after seeing a billboard for all day happy hour specials and were not offered any when we came in. My husband, two boys and I went in on a Thursday for lunch. Atmosphere is really nice, but waitress/ hostess was a bit wishy washy. Food wasn't anything to really rave about except the chocolate cake :) the bill shocked us a bit being over $40 with two 'kids' meals and I got the $6.99 lunch special. We got a better dinner later that night somewhere else for about $30 with drinks! So, if you are with your family and are new to Irish food I'd skip it. Unless you just want chocolate cake :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moorea1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 strikes and you're out”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Worse excuse for an Irish pub. Shepards pie on menu horrible. Service below poor. When here opening weekend a couple of years ago, decided to give them a second try lasy year - not much better. Tried 3rd time - even worse.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hennessy's Pub also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Hennessy's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing