We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food! Fair service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hennessy's Pub

Hennessy's Pub
Ranked #41 of 214 Restaurants in Muskegon
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In tradition of the Irish "Public Houses", Muskegon can proudly say that it has its own "Wee bit of Ireland" to come to and have a cold pint and great Irish fare. Hennessy's Irish Pub & Restaurant has a lively atmosphere with traditional Irish dishes along with other worldly cuisine. With 24 beers on tap and 20 Irish whiskeys, Hennessy's is the place to enjoy the perfect pint or any of a wide variety of cocktails. The food is always made from fresh ingredients and local ingredients whenever possible. This is all made better with warm fireplaces and dark woods that accent a festive location for merriment. Our ambition is to be the chosen place to gather with family and friends to share great food, drinks, conversations, and lively music in a cheery and pleasant environment.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food! Fair service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We ate dinner with a group at the restaurant on August 3, 2012. Everyone in our group thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The special that I had was tasty and unique. The only dim spot was the service. The restaurant was not very busy but the server was inattentive. She did more standing at the bar than checking on our table. I will go back and I will recommend the restaurant to others, hopefully this was just a bad night for the server.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    13
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Usually you don't have to wait for a table as the bar and restaurant areas provide a lot of room. Wait staff is very friendly and the food is excellent! It's one of our go-to places .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Lots of great beer, lot's of good food. Fun atmosphere. Great staff. Make sure you sit in that back, it's much less stuffy and warmer. TV's if you are into watching sports but it is a bit louder so if you are into a quiet dinner atmosphere sit in the front part of the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithsadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seffner, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Irish pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Good beer, nice crowd not so great music. Good atmosphere for a party with your friends. Food was ok not great but tasty. Nothing fancy but you can cut loose a bit if you want.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GATOR96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sure, and it's a lovely dinner you'll be having.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Went for the first time at dinner on a Saturday, and completely enjoyed it. There's a "pub" section with fireplace and bar that's noisier than the "restaurant" section with fireplace and bar. Restaurant takes reservations, good to know. The shepherd's pie was rich with ground lamb, delicious (they make a chicken version, too); fish & chips was crisp and light; BBQ shrimp (a Mardi Gras special) came with heads and legs, the sauce was deep and spicy. Our friends also recommend the Bagun something pounded pork loin and the Irish stew. They also serve meatloaf, a bunch of sandwiches and burgers. Most meals are $9.99 to $11.99, a bargain! Nice but not amazing brew list. We will be returning.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Careygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hennessy's Pub also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Hennessy's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing