We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Views - Bad Food”
Review of Port City Princess

Port City Princess
Ranked #7 of 7 Tours in Muskegon
Type: City Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Howard City Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Views - Bad Food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We set out for an evening dinner cruise with another couple to celebrate my Birthday. The weather and cruise were great; but the food lacked everything. Portions were extremely small consisting of chicken with a glazed pecan sauce - no pecans on my piece and only one small chip of a pecan. Slices of fruit were so thin you could see through them. For dessert we had ice cream sundaes - which consisted of maybe a tablespoon of ice cream. So if you plan to go on this cruise - go for the views, but eat before.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulacee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildcanary1, Owner at Port City Princess, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the Port City Princess. We have spoken with our chef on board who has created an improved menu. We hope you will take the time to try us out again. Sylvia Precious, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    0
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our group ranged in age from 3 to 64 and we all enjoyed the scenic afternoon cruise. The narrator told us about the history of the area and showed us points of interest. It was a pleasant way to spend the afternoon. Drinks were available. Some cruises include meals, but this one did not.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Cruise”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We did the 3 hour dinner and sunset cruise. It was a really warm evening but still very windy so the boat didn't go out on Lake MI but the Captain was still able to give us a very enjoyable cruise on the small lake and through the channel a couple times. The view was beautiful, and the sunset was a great orange and red and perfect for picture taking. Dinner was great, better than what we had anticipated. It included Chicken cordon bleu, rice, a small fresh salad, fruit, bread, ice cream dessert, and a cash bar. Everything was fresh and appropriately warm or cold. The crew was very attentive and informative. The music on the night we were there was just CD's and I am sure they would have played anything that would have been suggested, on this night the passengers were light and no one really seemed to care about the music. No dancing was done as it didn't seem to be this type of a crowd, but they did try and encourage it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithsadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A "To Do" if you're in Muskegon, MI”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We enjoyed a two hour dinner cruise aboard the Port City Princess. The dinner cruise was $25.00 per person and was basic, average comfort food - a chicken breast, canned - but nicely seasoned - green beans, rice, a few slices of watermelon, pineapple and cantaloupe, beverage and ice cream for dessert. Since a 1-1/2 hour afternoon cruise is $20.00, this cruise provided dinner and that extra 1/2 hour. But it's definitely not about the food. It's about the wonderful and enjoyable narrated 2 hour cruise. The scenery is beautiful and the narrative provides some history and background about what you're seeing, making it that much more entertaining. We felt this was a wonderful, relaxing way to spend a couple hours.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank FurtherOnDownTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port City Princess also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to Port City Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing