We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

The Lake House Waterfront Grille
Ranked #4 of 214 Restaurants in Muskegon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Walked in here very hungry on a Sunday afternoon. Restaurant somewhat full but about at 2/3 capacity.

Ordered a cup of clam chowder as soon as the waitress arrived. It didn't arrive until our entrees were served a half an hour later because the server "never made it back to the kitchen."

Entrees were a lobster roll for me and a veggie burger for my wife.

The lobster roll was very, very bland and I am guessing it was made with canned lobster meat. The sweet potato "frites" were a greasy mess as well as luke warm.

My wife's veggie burger was also a disappointment although the home made ruffled chips were very good.

Dessert was cherry "gelatto" that was bland and seemed more like sorbetto than gelatto. Also the cherries were freezer burned and it was also disappointing.

We thought we'd give the Lake House another try on a sunny Sunday. I doubt we'll be back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyfishingattorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    123
    38
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delightful view of the marina and waterfront.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Visiting Muskegon for TEDx-Muskegon and joined the TEDx group after the program for drinks and dinner at the Lake House. All seats have fine views of the waterfront and marina. The menu offered good variety and our choices were delicious. Service was friendly and attentive. We'd go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tayana42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food with a nice view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

Ate dinner here after a long day traveling from Traverse City to Muskegon to catch the ferry. We walked from the Holiday Inn which is only a half mile away. The food was good, we had veggie ravioli and seafood soup appetizer. We got a nice booth next to the window overlooking the harbor, very scenic. You could also sit outside, but it was rather cool that night so indoors was better. Its not a very big place and I think they fill up fast but we had made reservations an hour before and had no problem getting in. Very nice place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFromGTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evening Shade, Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Great setting and food. Service was a little slow but we were not in a hurry.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank appys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding menu and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

The Lake House has been a hit since day 1. It has an outstanding menu, with great food done with a flair by the chef, such as Kobe beef sliders with grilled onions and gorgonzola cheese. Plus, it sits on the shores of Muskegon Lake with the marina in between - great view at any time. Stopped there for drinks the other day in the middle of our bike ride on the bike trail around Muskegon Lake. Delightful.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank westmichigan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lake House Waterfront Grille also viewed

Muskegon, Muskegon County
 
Muskegon, Muskegon County
 

Been to The Lake House Waterfront Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing