We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed a couple of nights at this hotel in a room with a king bed and here are my thoughts:
The hotel is designed in a vintage classic European style, nice. Hotel is located on a marina so some rooms overlook the lake for a nice view out of the big sliding doors (No balcony, just a railing so make sure that the kids don't open that door).
- Staff: friendly and helpful.
- Rooms: clean linen and bathroom, carpets were Ok but need shampooing , mattress was firm but not hard, firm and soft pillows were available. There was a fridge and microwave in the room but I'm not sure if all rooms have those.
- Noise levels: mostly quiet except for a brief period when neighbors were talking loudly in the hallway. Couldn't hear noises from rooms next door which was a relief after some bad experiences I had recently at another hotel (Are you reading this The Henry hotel, Dearborn?). We were in an upper floor and I could hear the sound of must be the ventilation system on the roof but it was tolerable.
- Breakfast is standard continental fare with scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles etc.. Average, but the view of the marina livens things up.
Parking was plentiful and free.
This is a good hotel and it's a good value. I would go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor, with a view of the lake if possible.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeenToManyPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

BeenToManyPlaces, we appreciate your feedback in regards to your guest experience and taking the time to share it with us as well as other travelers. Thank you for your feedback to the many aspects of your stay with us and we will be sure to share them with our team members and departments. Again, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 540 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

My family has stayed at many of the better hotels in and around Muskegon and have not been impressed--especially for the price. (In one case, A Victory Inn & Suites--not "better" in any sense of the word--police and EMS responded both nights we were there and someone died or was killed!) We usually stay in Grand Rapids but it necessitates a 40-minute drive each way to go to Michigan's Adventure. With most of the hotels booked, we decided to try the Shoreline Inn and will return next time.

It's an odd place and my rating of "4" here is not equivalent to a "4" in a more developed market (e.g. the Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa was a MUCH nicer place that I also rated 4). But, compared to other hotels in Muskegon, it is great.

The staff was friendly and very responsive to a few problems we encountered (thermostat didn't work, e,g.). The executive club room was very hot (83 degrees, thermostat set to 60) so we didn't spend much time there, but paying a little more for a higher floor was worthwhile--great view.

The hotel restaurant was also very odd. My teen son and I had dinner on a Saturday night. One other table was occupied. When the host-server-(cook?) saw us, she asked if we would be dining with a tone that suggested real surprise that suggested that it may not be the busiest place. It took long time to get our food but it was pretty good and an excellent value--especially for a hotel restaurant. A $6 Caesar salad was huge--plenty for a meal (but served with Parmesan peppercorn instead of Caesar dressing). The chips came with homemade corn-chili-tomato salsa and guacomole (could have used more seasonings and lime juice, but not bad and very fresh). The "pizza" was disappointing and actually made on a 7-8" piece of flatbread or pita, though.

The one complaint everyone in my family had was that the shower was terrible, "It should be illegal" and "I'm exhausted after trying to rinse" were two comments. Very little water flow. Also, it would be hard for a tall person to fit. There was no tub and rinsing took forever.

Overall, a good experience and value and we will be back.

Tip: Don't open your windows! The bugs are outrageous, even on the 9th floor (but none in our room which was very clean and comfortable--once the A/C was fixed).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michigander94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Michigander94, thank you so much for sharing your guest experience with us as well as other travelers. It is very important that we get feedback from our guests and certainly appreciate the time you spent giving us your feedback. We will be sure to let our team members know that you enjoyed their service and attention. We will be sure to let the Bistro Manager know the comments in regards to our newly opened Bistro inside the hotel as well as our Maintenance Engineer in regards to the shower issue you experienced. We apologize that this was an issue for you and will be sure to fix the issue promptly. Thank you again for sharing your guest experience with us and we hope you enjoyed your time at Michigan's Adventure. We do hope to see you again soon this summer on your next stay in Muskegon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We had a room that looked out over the lake - and we would have had a wonderful sunset view, except for the crane in our way. The room was well accommodated. There were areas that could have used a little spiffing up however. There was a pull out table on our night stand that had crumbs - and other minor type things. We had a full sized refrigerator, microwave and wet bar. The breakfast I thought was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoRayeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

JoRayeA, we appreciate your feedback in regards to your guest experience with us. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your view even though there was some distraction. We appreciate the feedback on the crumbs you found in your room and will be sure to share with our Housekeeping Team to ensure that we are detail oriented. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Muskegon and wish you safe travels this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

There aren't many "nice" hotels in the area. This is very nice, clean & friendly! Same price as most of the 2 star hotels! I would rate this a 4 star. Located next to the Lakehouse restaurant! Great Sunday brunch!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carriemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Carriemitchell, we appreciate your feedback regarding your guest experience with us and we appreciate the compliments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay as well as t he guest amenities and service we provide such as The Lake House Waterfront Grille you were able to have Brunch at on Sunday! We look forward to seeing you again on your next travels to Muskegon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The inn location is great - within walking distance to downtown, on the water and a short drive to the beach. Everyone at the hotel was so nice and very helpful.
The lobby bar was the perfect place to relax after a day running about with family! The restaurant next door was fabulous!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

MarianneB, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your guest experience as well as other travelers. We appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know what a great experience they had. We will be sure to pass along to our team members how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to Muskegon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Shoreline exceeded our expectations. Room 803 came with a wonderful view of the lake, the sunset a superb scene. Other than an unobtrusive commercial harbor facility off to the side, the view of the yacht harbor was really scenic. The hotel itself was modern and clean. Beds were excellent. The staff was professional and helpful. The restaurant just off the premises was okay, the sort of place one would go for good appetizer out on a sunny deck overlooking the harbor full of pleasure boats. I really appreciated the emphasis on quiet, which the desk staff declared to be one of the hotel's attributes. The hotel itself is out of the way, not close to a pedestrian area. The surroundings are somewhat industrial but not painfully so. Overall, a good choice if you are spending the night in order to jump on the lake shuttle early in the morning. I have one negative. The breakfast was disappointing. The loud country music blaring from a small radio in the kitchen was a little too much at the early hours of the morning.

Room Tip: You want room 803. A view of the lake high enough to see the far horizon.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Hans50, thank you so much for taking the time to share your guest experience with us as well as other travelers. We appreciate the feedback and are very pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay with us as well as The Lake House Waterfront Grille located next door and the views from your room. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip with the Lake Express and wish you great travels this summer season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I booked this hotel a year ago, along with 170 other people, for a wedding being held in Muskegon. The hotel itself is beautiful. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. I had two rooms, on different floors, three nights each. They never cleaned the rooms. We had to swap our own towels off the cart in the hallway. At 5 pm one night they maid knocked on the door and asked if we needed anything. The maid on our floor said one maid was assigned for each floor and that she had 15 rooms to clean. Perhaps this is why they didn't get to all the rooms. The front desk was supposed to hand out gift bags and they got that all mixed up. The worst was the breakfast. It was good and varied, but very disorganized. The bread was in one room, the toaster in another and the butter in a cooler in the first room. Bisquits were offered, but the gravy was in another area. They did not have coffee any morning. Ok, they sort of did. Ice cold or full of coffee grounds, or decaf was available. The last morning they ran out of everything. When someone complained a manager scolded them and said, " Can't you see they are busy . It is not easy running a restaurant!" This is by no means a restaurant, it is a hotel breakfast open from 6 - 10 am! There were 4 people working to serve breakfast. Another employee went from table to table apologizing. I would stay here again, but with the understanding that it is a serve-yourself hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view. They cost more, but the view is spectacular!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islidem, General Manager at Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Suzanne, thank you for reaching out to us and sharing your guest experience with us. We always appreciate feedback, even in an area we can devote more time and organization to for our guests. Without feedback, we cannot improve on what we need to. We do apologize that you had to experience the delayed housekeeping service and will be sure to accommodate our guests moving forward. Also, thank you for your comments in regards to the breakfast area, we will be sure to better organize and serve our guests in this area since it is important aspect of a guests stay. We will certainly take your comments on breakfast and utilize the information you gave to improve upon on our service and breakfast area. Thank you again and we hope to see you next time you come into Muskegon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muskegon
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
363 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
13.5 mi away
Best Western Beacon Inn
Best Western Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
471 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#9 of 12 in Muskegon
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 750 Terrace Point Rd, Muskegon, MI 49440-1100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range: $92 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shoreline Inn, an Ascend Collection Hotel, is a full service, modern vintage themed, waterfront resort located on Muskegon Lake in Muskegon Michigan. Built new in 2002 and updated in 2013, the hotel features oversized rooms, floor to ceiling window walls, 1st class amenities, business level accommodations and spectacular views of Muskegon and Muskegon Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Inn At Terrace Point Hotel Muskegon
Shoreline Hotel Muskegon
Shoreline Hotel At Terrace Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing